Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Charmed Life - cover

Charmed Life

Diana Wynne Jones

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

  • 1
  • 6
  • 0

Summary

A bewitching comic fantasy by a master of the supernatural 
Cat doesn't mind living in the shadow of his sister, Gwendolen, the most promising young witch ever seen on Coven Street. But trouble starts brewing the moment the two orphans are summoned to live in Chrestomanci Castle. Frustrated that the witches of the castle refuse to acknowledge her talents, Gwendolen conjures up a scheme that could throw whole worlds out of whack.

Who read this book also read:

  • Wishing Day - cover

    Wishing Day

    Lauren Myracle

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From beloved and bestselling author Lauren Myracle comes the first book in an enchanting trilogy about three sisters, the magic of traditions, and the extraordinary power of hope. This heartwarming, timeless story is perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead and Ingrid Law. 
    On the third night of the third month after a girl’s thirteenth birthday, every girl in the town of Willow Hill makes three wishes. 
    The first wish is an impossible wish. 
    The second is a wish she can make come true herself. 
    And the third is the deepest wish of her secret heart. 
    Natasha is the oldest child in a family steeped in magic, though she’s not sure she believes in it. She’s full to bursting with wishes, however. She misses her mother, who disappeared nearly eight long years ago. She has a crush on one of the cutest boys in her class, and she thinks maybe it would be nice if her very first kiss came from him. And amid the chaos of a house full of sisters, aunts, and a father lost in grief, she aches to simply be . . . noticed. 
    So Natasha goes to the willow tree at the top of the hill on her Wishing Day, and she makes three wishes. What unfolds is beyond anything she could have imagined. 
    Show book
  • Anything But Hank - cover

    Anything But Hank

    Rachel Lebowitz, Zachariah Wells

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In Anything But Hank! Rachel Lebowitz and Zachariah Wells combine the whimsical humour of Lewis Carroll with the adventure-narrative balladeering of Robert Service to spin an unforgettable tale of a baby -- and a pig! -- in search of a name. Their quest takes them from the city to the mountains, as they seek an audience with the Wizard and his baby-naming Mexican beaded lizard. The story, accompanied by the gorgeously lush paintings of Eric Orchard, is a delight for readers of all ages.
    Show book
  • Airplanes - A LOOK BOOK Easy Reader - cover

    Airplanes - A LOOK BOOK Easy Reader

    P.J. Harding

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Written and published by P.J. Harding. Another in the 'LOOK BOOK' series - Your child will love this easy reader and brilliant color picture book of airplanes. Each page has a photographic image of all kinds of airplanes from all over the world. The simple text is easily understood by young pre-readers and easy to learn for emerging readers.
    Show book
  • Sky Rider - cover

    Sky Rider

    Nancy Springer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Everything changes when a handsome stranger rides off into the night on Dusty’s horse There’s no way around it: Dusty’s horse Tazz needs to be put down. Once a champion jumper, Tazz can barely walk now due to hoof pain. And that’s not the only thing that’s wrong in Dusty’s life. Since her mother’s death, Dusty’s dad hasn’t stopped drinking—even after his drunk driving put Dusty in the hospital with a now-chronic back injury. Why don’t they just put me down too? she wonders. While Dusty is giving Tazz one last grooming, his ears suddenly prick up as a stranger approaches: a young boy with an otherworldly beauty. He offers to take Tazz with him, and the two race off into the distance as though Tazz were in perfect health, with the boy perched on his back. Who could this person be? And what is he doing here? It’s only when Dusty returns to school the next day that she hears about the boy who was killed. When she sees his photo in the newspaper, she knows that he’s the mysterious guy who rode off on Tazz. What she doesn’t know is that he will soon return.
    Show book
  • THE THREE GOLDEN APPLES - A Legend of Hercules - Baba Indaba’s Children's Stories - Issue 347 - cover

    THE THREE GOLDEN APPLES - A...

    Anon E. Mouse

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    ISSN: 2397-9607 Issue 347
    In this 347th issue of the Baba Indaba’s Children's Stories series, Baba Indaba narrates the Greek Fairy Tale "THE THREE GOLDEN APPLES”.
    
    Have you ever hear of the golden apples, that grew in the garden of the Hesperides? Ah, those were such apples as would bring a great price, by the bushel, if any of them could be found growing in the orchards of nowadays! But there is not, I suppose, a graft of that wonderful fruit on a single tree in the wide world. Not so much as a seed of those apples exists any longer.
    And, even in the old, old, half-forgotten times, before the garden of the Hesperides was overrun with weeds, a great many people doubted whether there could be real trees that bore apples of solid gold upon their branches. All had heard of them, but nobody remembered to have seen any. Children, nevertheless, used to listen, open-mouthed, to stories of the golden apple-tree, and resolved to discover it, when they should be big enough. Adventurous young men, who desired to do a braver thing than any of their fellows, set out in quest of this fruit. Many of them returned no more; none of them brought back the apples. No wonder that they found it impossible to gather them! It is said that there was a dragon beneath the tree, with a hundred terrible heads, fifty of which were always on the watch, while the other fifty slept.
    But then the adventure was undertaken by a hero who had enjoyed very little peace or rest since he came into the world. At the time he was wandering through the land with a mighty club in his hand, and a bow and quiver slung across his shoulders. He was dressed in the skin of the biggest and fiercest lion that had ever been seen, and which he himself had killed; although, on the whole, he was kind, generous and noble. Even so, there was a good deal of the lion's fierceness in his heart for his name was Hercules (also known as Heracles).
    Everywhere he went he asked if anyone had news of the garden or if they could give directions to it.
    Did Hercules ever get directions to the garden of the Hesperides? Did he ever find his way there, when so many before him had failed? If he did get to the garden was he able to gain entry and did he get to pick a golden apple? So many questions……..
    To find the answers to these questions, and others you may have, you will have to download and read this story to find out!
    
    Baba Indaba is a fictitious Zulu storyteller who narrates children's stories from around the world. Baba Indaba translates as "Father of Stories".
    
    Each issue also has a "WHERE IN THE WORLD - LOOK IT UP" section, where young readers are challenged to look up a place on a map somewhere in the world. The place, town or city is relevant to the story. HINT - use Google maps.
    
    33% of the profit from the sale of this book will be donated to charities.
    INCLUDES LINKS TO DOWNLOAD 8 FREE STORIES
     
    Show book
  • Mouse Guard: Legends of the Guard Vol 3 - cover

    Mouse Guard: Legends of the...

    David Petersen, Mark Buckingham,...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The third volume in the New York Times bestselling and Eisner Award-winning series, Mouse Guard: Legends of the Guard Volume Three features tales written and illustrated by a collection of award-winning and critically acclaimed storytellers personally selected by series creator David Petersen. Once again, patrons at the June Alley Inn are challenged to tell the best Mouse Guard tale, with the winner getting their tab cleared!"...a fun ride." - Comic Book Resources
    Show book