Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Assertiveness: How to Stand-Up for Yourself - cover

Assertiveness: How to Stand-Up for Yourself

Desmond Gahan

Publisher: Desmond Gahan

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Assertiveness is a skill regularly referred to in social and communication skills training. 
Being assertive means being able to stand up for your own or other people’s rights in a calm and positive way, without being either aggressive, or passively accepting ‘wrong’. 
Assertive individuals are able to get their point across without upsetting others, or becoming upset themselves. 
Although everyone acts in passive and aggressive ways from time to time, such ways of responding often result from a lack of self-confidence and are, therefore, inappropriate ways of interacting with others. 
What is Assertiveness? 
The Concise Oxford Dictionary defines assertiveness as: 
“Forthright, positive, insistence on the recognition of one's rights” 
In other words: 
Assertiveness means standing up for your personal rights - expressing thoughts, feelings and beliefs in direct, honest and appropriate ways. 
It is important to note also that: 
By being assertive we should always respect the thoughts, feelings and beliefs of other people. 
Those who behave assertively always respect the thoughts, feelings and beliefs of other people as well as their own. 
Assertiveness concerns being able to express feelings, wishes, wants and desires appropriately and is an important personal and interpersonal skill.  In all your interactions with other people, whether at home or at work, with employers, customers or colleagues, assertiveness can help you to express yourself in a clear, open and reasonable way, without undermining your own or others’ rights. 
Assertiveness enables individuals to act in their own best interests, to stand up for themselves without undue anxiety, to express honest feelings comfortably and to express personal rights without denying the rights of others. 
 
  
 
 

Who read this book also read:

  • Discovering Your Center - your natural essence versus your false personality - cover

    Discovering Your Center - your...

    Osho

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The longing to be who we really are…. Osho explains how we became alienated from our own essence, what it means to live in that disconnect, and how to rediscover our authenticity. Osho delivers a lot in one small talk!
    Show book
  • NeuroWisdom - The New Brain Science of Money Happiness and Success - cover

    NeuroWisdom - The New Brain...

    Mark Robert Waldman, PhD Manning

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Perfect for readers of How God Changes Your Brain, two researchers present over thirty brain exercises to help readers generate happiness and success, in business and in life.
    
    
    ”This remarkable book translates state-of-the art neuroscience into practical techniques that rapidly promote personal transformation. If you want to double your happiness and your income, start using these powerful brain-changing exercises today!” ―John Assaraf, New York Times bestselling author and CEO of NeuroGym
    
    Adapted from a business school course they created for professionals, bestselling author Mark Waldman and Chris Manning present simple brain exercises, based on the latest neuroscience research, to guide readers to improvement in all parts of life, from work to home, from how we think to how we feel. 
    
    Their promise is to help people create more "wealth" in their lives, defined as the combination of money, happiness, and success. Using the latest research studied by two experts in their field, the book presents both the scientific background and sets of “NeuroWisdom” exercises that will help people reduce neurological stress and increase happiness, motivation, and productivity. The “worry” centers of the brain are turned off and the optimism circuits are turned on. Work becomes more pleasurable and creativity is increased, enabling the brain to anticipate and solve problems more efficiently.
    
    From the cutting edge of brain science to real-world solutions, these exercises help readers gain the wisdom that leads to greater fulfillment.
    Show book
  • Gay Erotica the Reunion - cover

    Gay Erotica the Reunion

    Mark Stevenson

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Gay Erotica The reunion: 20 years after graduating, college pals reunite for pleasure.
    Show book
  • HBR Guide to Being More Productive (HBR Guide Series) - cover

    HBR Guide to Being More...

    Harvard Business Review

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Every day begins with the same challenge: too many tasks on your to-do list and not enough time to accomplish them. Perhaps you tell yourself to just buckle down and get it all done—skip lunch, work a longer day. Maybe you throw your hands up, recognize you can't do it all, and just begin fighting the biggest fire or greasing the squeakiest wheel. 
    And yet you know how good it feels on those days when you're working at peak productivity, taking care of difficult and meaty projects while also knocking off the smaller tasks that have been hanging over your head forever. Those are the times when your day didn't run you—you ran your day. To have more of those days more often, you need to discover what works for you given your strengths, your preferences, and the things you must accomplish. 
    Whether you're an assistant or the CEO, whether you've been in the workforce for 40 years or are just starting out, this guide will help you be more productive. You'll discover different ways to:Motivate yourself to work when you really don't want toTake on less, but get more donePreserve time for your most important workImprove your focusMake the most of small pockets of time between meetingsSet boundaries with colleagues—without alienating themTake time off without tearing your hair out 
    Arm yourself with the advice you need to succeed on the job, with the most trusted brand in business. Packed with how-to essentials from leading experts, the HBR Guides provide smart answers to your most pressing work challenges.
    Show book
  • Treatment and Cure of Premature Ejaculation: Cure for Premature Ejaculation Without Help of Woman Based on Four Decades of Therapists’ Experiences - cover

    Treatment and Cure of Premature...

    Dr. Subhash Thaker

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    This is a unique and easy model for treatment of premature ejaculation. In this model, help of the woman/partner is not required.
    
    Success rate with methods described in this book is very high.  Dr. Thaker uses auto penile stimulative task to get permanent result. He asks patients to accomplish the task by oil massage. The use of massage is therapeutic.
    
    In this treatment intensity of sexual excitement is being gradually, stage wise increased, so it becomes easy for patients to get ejaculatory control without diminishing or losing sexual excitement. Moreover, like other treatment program chances of precipitating erectile dysfunction (impotency) become nil. The entire program is written keeping male-female sex act in picture, but same model applies to male-male sex act as well.
    
    Dr. Subhash Thaker is practicing as a sexologist since forty years in India. He has treated more than twenty five thousand patients of premature ejaculation.
    Show book
  • The Field - cover

    The Field

    Lynne McTaggart

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this groundbreaking classic, investigative journalist Lynne McTaggart reveals a radical new paradigm—that the human mind and body are not separate from their environment but a packet of pulsating power constantly interacting with this vast energy sea, and that consciousness may be central in shaping our world. The Field is a highly readable scientific detective story presenting a stunning picture of an interconnected universe and a new scientific theory that makes sense of supernatural phenomena. Documented by distinguished sources, The Field is a book of hope and inspiration for today's world.
    Show book