Enjoy 2020 without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Trackers - cover

Trackers

Deon Meyer

Publisher: Atlantic Monthly Press

  • 0
  • 5
  • 0

Summary

Lemmer’s first rule is: “Don’t get involved.” A highly skilled bodyguard with a violent, criminal past, he has settled into a quiet life in Loxton, South Africa, where the rural tranquility has helped to calm his explosive temper. But when a wealthy farmer asks for his help in smuggling a pair of rare black rhinos out of Zimbabwe (where they are murdered for their horns), he has a hard time saying no. Before he knows it, Lemmer is on a small airplane, zipping across the border, an airsickness bag in his hand and a military-grade shotgun at his feet. Soon, he will regret the trip very much.In Trackers, internationally-acclaimed thriller writer Deon Meyer expertly weaves together Lemmer’s story with a missing person investigation and the machinations of a top intelligence agency. Wielding a phenomenal cast of characters, Meyer delves deep into the people, the breathtaking landscapes, and the politics and problems of this fascinating country. A #1 best-seller in South Africa, Trackers is an insightful novel that will take your breath away.

Other books that might interest you

  • Everywhere That Mary Went - cover

    Everywhere That Mary Went

    Lisa Scottoline

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Mary DiNunzio is trying to make partner in her cutthroat Philadelphia law firm. She's too busy to worry about the crank phone calls that she's been getting—until they fall into a sinister pattern. Mary can't shake the sensation that someone is watching her. Following her every move. Then the shadowboxing turns deadly, and she has to fight for something a lot more important than a partnership—her life.
    Show book
  • Dead Air - A Cullen and Cobb Mystery - cover

    Dead Air - A Cullen and Cobb...

    David A. Poulsen

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Sequel to Serpents Rising (2014) in the Cullen and Cobb series of western crime novels that teams up a former cop with an investigative journalist
    A crime series set in Calgary, a booming city often overlooked in genre fiction
    Author has written 20+ books and has a high profile, particularly in western Canada
    As an actor and award-winning novelist, author is a savvy marketer, speaker, and interviewee
    Author has won the Sakura Medal in Japan, been shortlisted for the Forest of Reading White Pine Award, and is currently a writer in residence at the Saskatoon Public Library
    Show book
  • The Magic Chair Murder - A 1920s English mystery - cover

    The Magic Chair Murder - A 1920s...

    Diane Janes

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Introducing amateur sleuths Frances Black and Tom Dod in the first of an intriguing new historical mystery series set in the north of England. 1929.The night before she’s due to make a speech to the Robert Barnaby Society on the subject of the famous writer’s ‘magic chair’, committee member Linda Dexter disappears. When her body is discovered two days later, fellow members Frances Black and Tom Dod determine to find out the truth about her death.Could Linda have discovered something about Robert Barnaby that got her killed? Or does the answer lie in the dead woman’s past?  As they pursue their investigations, Fran and Tom find the Barnaby Society to be a hotbed of clashing egos, seething resentments and ill-advised love affairs – but does a killer lurk among them?
    Show book
  • Undertow - A BC Blues Crime Novel - cover

    Undertow - A BC Blues Crime Novel

    R.M. Greenaway

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Second in the B.C. Blues Crime Novel series, beginning with Cold Girl, characterized by entertaining cases, strong characters, and taut backstories
    First long-running police procedural set in North Vancouver
    Brings out the humanity of RCMP officers in its depiction of them, without idealizing or polishing off the rough edges
    Author is familiar with the setting, as she was brought up on B.C.’s Lower Mainland, and has done extensive research about the area
    Author is a court reporter/court transcriber and has plenty of insight into the system and how trials are conducted, as well as a feel for dialogue and how experts speak about crime
    Show book
  • Hiding in Plain Sight - cover

    Hiding in Plain Sight

    Mary Ellis

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Introducing private investigator Kate Weller in the first of the brand-new Marked for Retribution mystery series.On the run from a troubled past, Kate Weller, the newest member of Price Investigations, covers her tracks, changes her name and takes a case in Charleston, South Carolina, where she can hide in plain sight.Renting a charming room with a waterfront view, Kate sets about trying to locate her adopted client’s natural siblings, only to find more questions than answers when she eventually tracks down a long-lost sister. Meanwhile, her new landlord won’t stop sticking his nose into her case. As far as Kate’s concerned, Eric Manfredi should focus on whatever competitor is bent on ruining his family business. But when petty vandalism turns lethal, and Eric’s father is arrested for murder, Kate determines to prove his innocence. Can she find the real culprit before a killer from her own past tracks her down?
    Show book
  • Dead Flowers - cover

    Dead Flowers

    Nicola Monaghan

    • 5
    • 81
    • 0
    She doesn’t trust the police. She used to be one of them.
     
    Hardened by ten years on the murder squad, DNA analyst Doctor Sian Love has seen it all. So when she finds human remains in the basement of her new home, she knows the drill.
     
    Except this time it’s different. This time, it’s personal...
     
    A page-turning cold case investigation, Dead Flowers is an intriguing, multi-layered story perfect for fans of Kate Atkinson’s Case Histories and British crime dramas like Line of Duty and Unforgotten.
     
    Shortlisted for the UEA Crime Fiction Award 2019
     
    --------------------
     
    Praise for Nicola Monaghan's previous works
     
    'A gripping, mile-a-minute British debut. Enthralling' - Kirkus Reviews
     
    'Monaghan's convincing characters swing unpredictably between terrifying and tender, and the often violent encounters usually have a bleakly funny edge' - Independent
    Show book