Don't put off till tomorrow the book you can read today!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Woman in the Blue Cloak - cover

The Woman in the Blue Cloak

Deon Meyer

Publisher: Atlantic Monthly Press

  • 0
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

The Woman in the Blue Cloak is a brilliant novella which will thrill and entertain fans of Deon Meyer's much-loved detective Benny Griessel.

Benny Griessel is a cop on a mission: he plans to ask Alexa Bernard to marry him. That means he needs to buy an engagement ring - and that means he needs a loan.

So Benny has a lot on his mind when he is called to a top-priority murder case. A woman's body is discovered, naked and washed in bleach, draped on a wall beside a picturesque road above Cape Town. The identity of the victim is a mystery, as is the reason for her killing.

Gradually, Benny and his colleague Vaughn Cupido begin to work out the roots of the story, which reach as far away as England and Holland... and as far back as the seventeenth century.

Other books that might interest you

  • Desert Heat - cover

    Desert Heat

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    A cop lies dying beneath the blistering Arizona sun—a local lawman who may well have become the next sheriff of Cochise County. The police brass claim that Andy Brady was dirty, and that his shooting was a suicide attempt. Joanna Brady, his devoted wife and mother of their nine-year-old daughter, knows a cover-up when she hears one . . . and murder when she sees it. But her determined efforts to hunt down an assassin and clear her husband's name are placing Joanna and her surviving family in harm's way—because in the desert, the one thing more lethal than a rattler's bite . . . is the truth.
    Show book
  • Season of Darkness - cover

    Season of Darkness

    Cora Harrison

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When Inspector Field shows his friend Charles Dickens the body of a young woman dragged from the River Thames, he cannot have foreseen that the famous author would immediately recognize the victim as Isabella Gordon, a housemaid he had tried to help through his charity. Nor that Dickens and his fellow writer Wilkie Collins would determine to find out who killed her. 
    Who was Isabella blackmailing, and why? Led on by fragments of a journal discovered by Isabella’s friend Sesina, the two men track the murdered girl’s journeys from Greenwich to Snow Hill, from Smithfield Market to St Bartholomews, and put their wits to work on uncovering her past.
    Show book
  • Blood on the Bayou - cover

    Blood on the Bayou

    D.J. Donaldson

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    In this New Orleans–set mystery, the author of Cajun Nights “combines an insider’s knowledge with a real flair for making the reader’s skin crawl” (Booklist).   There’s a killer stalking the New Orleans French Quarter. Each victim is found in the same gruesome condition: the body bloodied by a gardening fork, and the throat torn out by . . . what exactly?   That’s the question on the minds of medical examiner Andy Broussard and his young partner, criminal psychologist Kit Franklyn. Broussard suspects the perpetrator isn’t human at all, but a monster of terrifying legend. Only when their investigation draws them deep into Bayou country do Broussard and Franklyn discover just how monstrous some humans can be . . .   With this second sharp-witted mystery in the series featuring Broussard and Franklyn, “it’s hard to beat [Donaldson’s] combination of cool science and explosive passion in the heart of humid Louisiana” (The Commercial Appeal, Memphis).
    Show book
  • Louise's Crossing - cover

    Louise's Crossing

    Sarah R. Shaber

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Government girl Louise Pearlie is thrilled to be posted to London, but her journey across the Atlantic proves to be anything but plain sailing…
    
    February, 1944. Washington D.C. With the war entering its most dangerous phase, Louise Pearlie is thrilled to be reassigned to the London office of the OSS. But in order to take up her new post, she must make a perilous crossing of the Atlantic Ocean in the SS Amelia Earhart.
    
    Accompanying her on the voyage to Liverpool are an eclectic group of passengers, including  the aloof Blanche Bryant, whose husband, Eddie, died in mysterious circumstances on the ship’s voyage out to New York three months before. Most of the same crew and passengers are on the return voyage, and one question remains: was it really suicide? 
    
    When the body of one of the passengers is found on deck, it’s clear that German bombs and raging storms aren’t the only threats to Louise’s safety. Can she expose a brutal killer before the ship docks in England?
    Show book
  • The Art Teacher: Shocking Page-Turning Crime Thriller - cover

    The Art Teacher: Shocking...

    Paul Read

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    'A fast-paced and gritty read.' --The Daily Mail 
    'An impressive feat' --Publishers Weekly 
    'This is a superb debut... gritty, disturbing and pacy. It opens with thrilling intensity and never lets up.' --Alex Lake, author of After Anna 
    Patrick Owen managed seven years at Highfields Secondary School without punching a pupil in the face. 
    Unknowingly drawn into a war against his own pupils, Patrick's patience finally snaps as he finds himself the number one target with the boy the school just can't seem to expel. 
    When one of his Art students needs his help, she unwittingly pulls Patrick further into the line of fire, altering their lives forever. 
    With the media circling and rumours of his involvement reaching new highs, Patrick must escape the world he lives in, or face the consequences. 
    A gritty, harrowing page-turner. Perfect for fans of Linwood Barclay and Peter James
    Show book
  • Finding Jake - A Novel - cover

    Finding Jake - A Novel

    Bryan Reardon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “I devoured Finding Jake. The tension is almost unbearable in this thriller-cum-character study as layer after layer of a father’s soul are revealed as reflected in the character of his missing son. Utterly engrossing.”—Alice LaPlante, New York Times bestselling author of Circle of Wives and Turn of Mind 
    Simon Connolly’s successful wife has gone to her law office each day, while he has stayed home to raise their children—Jake and Laney. He has tried to do the best for the kids. For sunny, outgoing Laney, it’s been easy. But Jake is different. He has always been on the quiet side, preferring the company of his small group of friends to popularity and organized sports. Now that his children are in high school, Simon should be able to relax, to worry less. He’s never given that chance. 
    On a warm November day, he receives a text: There has been a shooting at the high school. 
    Racing to the rendezvous point, Simon is forced to wait with scores of other anxious parents as one by one, they are reunited with their children. Their numbers dwindle, eventually leaving Simon alone. That is when he learns that Jake is the only child missing. 
    As his worst nightmare unfolds, Simon’s thoughts race. Where is Jake? What happened in those final moments? Jake could not have done this—or could he? Did Simon miss the signs? As rumors begin to ricochet, amplified by an invasive media and the fear swallowing their community, Simon must find answers. 
    But there is only one way to understand what has happened . . . he must find Jake. 
    “Harrowing.” —New York Times Book Review
    Show book