"There is more treasure in books than in all the pirates' loot on Treasure Island." - Walt Disney
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Forbidden Territory - cover

The Forbidden Territory

Dennis Wheatley

Publisher: Bloomsbury Reader

  • 3
  • 6
  • 0

Summary

Dennis Wheatley's first published novel, introducing his modern trinity of musketeers in the epicurean Duke de Richleau, financier Simon Aron, and the wealthy young American, Rex Van Ryn. 
 
The Duke receives a coded message from his missing friend, Van Ryn who, while hunting for treasure lost during the Soviet takeover of Russia, is now in prison somewhere in that vast country. 
 
Along with the Duke, good friends Simon Aron and Richard Eaton set off on a secret mission to secure his escape. Without official papers they lead a thrilling caper, hunted by the Secret Police, through Siberia and across the plains of Soviet Russia.

Other books that might interest you

  • Face of Evil - cover

    Face of Evil

    George Morris De'Ath

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    If you play games with a killer... you can't afford to lose. 
     
    Looking for a subject for her book about evil, Lydia Tune travels to the infamous Mortem Asylum in seedy Decanten City. Her target is Jason Devere, a death row serial killer notorious for his precise and grotesque murders.
     
    Lydia is beautiful, ruthless and manipulative – she always gets what she wants. She knows the only way to get Jason to speak is to engage him in a dangerous battle of wits. Local detective and old friend Alex Gilbey warns her off the case, but he has no idea just how far Lydia will go to court darkness.
     
    The more Lydia digs into Jason's story, the clearer it becomes that there is a bigger story to uncover. But the problem with playing with killers is that they never play nice...
     
    A glittering and suspenseful debut psychological thriller, Face of Evil is impossible to put down. 
     
    What readers are saying about Face of Evil:
     
    'Dark and mysterious ... The stuff nightmares are made of. The atmosphere of the book set me on edge before the story actually began ... This is a spine-tingling and pacey read with twists and turns I didn't see coming. The ending is excellent and a rollercoaster ride of revelations. Very enjoyable' 4* reader review
     
    'There were creepy, tense, and twisty moments that I really enjoyed. If you like thrillers that involve asylums, serial killers and stories that grab you right away, you need to read this book' 3* reader review
     
    'I really enjoyed this thriller ... I could not put it down' 4* reader review
     
    'Fantastic read. I have been completely unable to put this one down. I cannot wait to read more by this author' 5* reader review
     
    'The author outdid himself on this one. The gore. The way it's written. It's just great! One of my favourites' 4* reader review
     
    'Not suitable for the faint of heart. Face of Evil is one of the most intense books I have read in a long time – but I love a book that can consume me so completely ... I loved every wakeful moment I spent with this book. This book is gory and intense and perfect for anyone who enjoys a bone-chilling horror mystery. Do I recommend this book – only if you are open to a brilliantly evil tale with a twist that will leave you unable to sleep for days on end' 4* reader review
    Show book
  • Fate - cover

    Fate

    Zhou Haohui

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The second book in China's bestselling crime series to date. 
     
    THE LAW IS WEAK 
     
    Last week, the vigilante killer who terrified and thrilled the city of Chengdu with his 'death notices' performed his own execution to escape capture by the police.
     
    I OFFER REAL JUSTICE 
     
    But when two students are violently murdered, the only clue left by the killer is a death notice. The executioner? Eumenides. Now Captain Pei Tao and his task force face a terrifying prospect: that Eumenides left a protégé to carry on his work.
     
    NOW MEET YOUR FATE 
     
    Once again, Eumenides is one step ahead of their investigation – but this time, it's worse. Because this time, someone on the inside is helping him. Can Pei and his team root out the mole, and hunt down their new opponent? Or are they doomed to watch history repeat itself?
     
    Gripping, explosive and fiendishly inventive, Fate is the second instalment in the Death Notice trilogy: the Chinese crime-writing phenomenon and a Sunday Times thriller of the year.
     
    Reviews for Death Notice: 
     
    'Fiendishly inventive' Wall Street Journal
     
    'Extraordinary' Sunday Times
     
    'A perfect cat-and-mouse killer' Book Riot
    Show book
  • The Warrior's Call - Dragon Riders of Osnen Book 3 - cover

    The Warrior's Call - Dragon...

    Richard Fierce

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    Darkness threatens the land.With an evil creature killing dragons and riders alike, the False King’s reign of terror spills across the border. While the king of Osnen and the Citadel’s riders struggle to stem the assault, Eldwin flies to the Conclave to plead for help from the other schools.
     
    Unless the schools unite and arrive in time, the world is doomed.
     
    Fans of Sarah K.L. Wilson’s Dragon School, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon and Anne McCaffrey’s Dragon Riders of Pern will feel right at home.
     
    The Warrior's Call is the third episode of the series Dragon Riders of Osnen.
     
    Dragon Riders of Osnen series:
     
    Book 1: Trial by Sorcery
     
    Book 2: A Bond of Flame
     
    Book 3: The Warrior's Call
     
    Book 4: The Coin of Souls
     
    Book 5: Wings of Terror
     
    Book 6: Eyes of Stone
     
    Book 7: Tooth and Claw
     
    Book 8: A Servant of Souls
     
    Book 9: Smoke and Shadow
     
    Book 10: The Dark Rider
    Show book
  • The Malady of Death - cover

    The Malady of Death

    Marguerite Duras

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “[An] erotic, existential mystery . . . part philosophical meditation, part fantasy” from the Prix Goncourt-winning author of The Lover (The Guardian). 
     
    A man hires a woman to spend several weeks with him by the sea. The woman is no one in particular, a “she,” a warm, moist body with a beating heart—the enigma of Other. Skilled in the mechanics of sex, he desires through her to penetrate a different mystery: he wants to learn to love. It isn’t a matter of will, she tells him. Still, he wants to try . . . 
     
    This beautifully wrought erotic novel is an extended haiku on the meaning of love, “perhaps a sudden lapse in the logic of the universe,” and its absence, “the malady of death.” 
     
    “The whole tragedy of the inability to love is in this work, thanks to Duras’ unparalleled art of reinventing the most familiar words, of weighing their meaning.”—Le Monde 
     
    “Deceptively simple and Racinian in its purity, condensed to the essential.”—Translation Review 
     
    Praise for Marguerite Duras’s international bestseller, The Lover 
     
    “Powerful, authentic, completely successful . . . perfect.”—The New York Times Book Review 
     
    “An exquisite jewel of a novel, as multifaceted as a diamond, as seamless and polished as a pearl.”—Boston Herald 
       
    “A vivid, lingering novel . . . a brilliant work of art.”—Cleveland Plain Dealer
    Show book
  • Door of Bruises - cover

    Door of Bruises

    Sierra Simone

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Twelve years ago, our fates were sealed with a kiss.We are all, for better or worse, doomed to love each other until death do us part. My heart belongs to Proserpina and St. Sebastian--even if he no longer wants it. Even if she has left it behind to follow him.Delphine's fled back home, and Becket's holy calling is in peril.And now only Rebecca and I remain at Thornchapel to face the unknown.The door is open. The door that shouldn't exist; the door that people have died to close. I don't feel like the lord of the manor. I don't feel like a king or a wild god. I am a friend and a boyfriend and a brother--and a failure at being all of these things. But the door doesn't care about my guilt. It only cares about the sacrifice I'll make to close it.As the bruising dark of Samhain approaches, so does the fate of our circle, of Thornchapel and the village and the valley beyond it. And I must don the crown, because one thing is still true, even if I must face it alone.Here at Thornchapel, the kings must go to the door.Here at Thornchapel, all kings must die.*Door of Bruises is the fourth and final book in the Thornchapel Quartet*
    Show book
  • The Tale of Ginger and Pickles - cover

    The Tale of Ginger and Pickles

    Beatrix Potter

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Beatrix Potter\'s Best Storybook Ever!!
    The Tale of Ginger and Pickles (first published as Ginger and Pickles) is a children\'s fantasy story by the British author and illustrator Beatrix Potter. It was originally written as a Christmas present for Louie Warne, the daughter of Potter\'s publisher Harold Warne.
    Show book