Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
The Given Day - A Novel - cover

The Given Day - A Novel

Dennis Lehane

Publisher: William Morrow

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

"Gut-wrenching force...A majestic, fiery epic. The Given Day is a huge, impassioned, intensively researched book that brings history alive." - The New York Times  
Dennis Lehane, the New York Times bestselling author of Live by Night—now a Warner Bros. movie starring Ben Affleck—offers an unflinching family epic that captures the political unrest of a nation caught between a well-patterned past and an unpredictable future. This beautifully written novel of American history tells the story of two families—one black, one white—swept up in a maelstrom of revolutionaries and anarchists, immigrants and ward bosses, Brahmins and ordinary citizens, all engaged in a battle for survival and power at the end of World War I.

Other books that might interest you

  • Shadows - cover

    Shadows

    Thorne Moore

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A compelling blend of mystery and family drama with a gothic twist, by the Top Ten bestselling author of A Time for Silence 
     
    Kate Lawrence can sense the shadow of violent death, past and present.  
     
    In her struggle to cope with her unwelcome gift, she has frozen people out of her life.  
     
    Her marriage is on the rocks, her career is in chaos and she urgently needs to get a grip.  
     
    So she decides to start again, by joining her effervescent cousin Sylvia and partner Michael in their mission to restore and revitalise Llys y Garn, an old mansion in the wilds of North Pembrokeshire. 
     
    It is certainly a new start, as she takes on Sylvia's grandiose schemes, but it brings Kate to a place that is thick with the shadows of past deaths.  
     
    The house and grounds are full of mysteries that only she can sense, but she is determined to face them down – so determined that she fails to notice that ancient energies are not the only shadows threatening the seemingly idyllic world of Llys y Garn.  
     
    The happy equilibrium is disrupted by the arrival of Sylvia's sadistic and manipulative son, Christian - but just how dangerous is he?  
     
    Then, once more, Kate senses that a violent death has occurred…  
     
    Set in the majestic and magical Welsh countryside, Shadows is a haunting exploration of the dark side of people and landscape. 
      
    Praise for Thorne Moore​ 
     
    'Thorne Moore is a huge talent. Her writing is intensely unsettling and memorable.' - Sally Spedding 
     
    Thorne Moore was born in Luton and graduated from Aberystwyth University and the Open University. She set up a restaurant with her sister but now spends her time writing and making miniature furniture for collectors. She lives in Pembrokeshire, which forms a background for much of her writing, as does Luton. She writes psychological mysteries, or "domestic noir," including A Time For Silence, Motherlove and The Unravelling.
    Show book
  • Viral - cover

    Viral

    Piers Platt

    • 0
    • 1
    • 1
    "In my first battle, I made fourteen thousand dollars in five minutes." 
    On a remote planet, human explorers make first contact with extraterrestrial life. Without warning, the aliens attack, ripping the exploratory team to shreds. Humanity is at war.  
    Back on Earth, Sam is just another jobless graduate, drifting aimlessly while she lives off of the government's monthly stipend. When war breaks out with the aliens, she sees a way out of her life of boredom: she signs up to be a "deathstreamer," a new breed of mercenary chasing fame and fortune by streaming combat footage from the front lines. If she can go viral, wealth and celebrity are within Sam's grasp. But she'll need to survive long enough to enjoy it.
    Show book
  • Murder with Majesty - Auguste Didier Mystery #10 - cover

    Murder with Majesty - Auguste...

    Amy Myers

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Spring of 1905. Getrude Pennyfather, American heiress and folklore enthusiast, is set to enjoy the perfect English village wedding. Even King Edward VII is due to attend. What more could a society bride dream of? For as she arrives in Frimhurst, Gertrude believes that her fiancé, Arthur Montfoy, is the lord of the manor and the joyful celebrations of the local folk seem to confirm this. Indeed, everything about Frimurst seems picture-perfect. Perhaps a bit too perfect… 
    As time goes by and her wedding approaches, Gertrude realises that not everything in Frimhurst is as it seems. Does that include her husband-to-be, and the wonderful future she has planned for them? 
    Meanwhile a renowned French chef, and distant relative of the King by marriage, is working hard to produce the perfect wedding banquet, at the King's command. August Didier is a master of his craft, and his focus is such that little distracts him from his enormous task. Until, that is, he spots a familiar face among the wedding guests. The face of a man who has sworn to murder him. Very shortly afterwards, the body of a murder victim is discovered, but it is not Auguste – for now, at least. 
    The death brings Scotland Yard to the scene, and Auguste is reunited with his friend, Inspector Rose. As the men investigate, the bucolic façade that Frimhurst has produced for the wedding is stripped away to reveal lies, frustrated loves, tales of financial ruin and rampant dishonesty. 
    Auguste Didier and Inspector Rose have just a short time to find out the truth. For death is closing in on Auguste — will the murders be solved in time for him to outwit it? Only time will tell…  
    Murder with Majesty is a delightful mystery, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie. 
    Praise for Amy Myers 
    'Reading like a cross between Hercule Poirot and Mrs Beeton…this feast of entertainment is packed with splendid late-Victorian detail' - Library Journal Amy Myers was born in Kent, where she still lives, although she has now ventured to the far side of the Medway. For many years a director of a London publishing company, she is now a full-time writer. Married to an American, she lived for some years in Paris, where, surrounded by food, she first dreamed up her Victorian chef detective Auguste Didier. Currently she is writing her contemporary crime series starring Jack Colby, car detective, and in between his adventures continuing her Marsh & Daughter series and her Victorian chimney sweep Tom Wasp novels .
    Show book
  • The Innocent - A Ryan Lock Crime Thriller - cover

    The Innocent - A Ryan Lock Crime...

    Sean Black

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The series that's perfect for fans of Robert Crais, Harlan Coben, Gregg Hurwitz, Lee Child and James Patterson's Private series."It's not the crime that kills you – it's the cover-up."When college basketball coach Malik Shaw goes missing after a family tragedy, it looks like just another retired athlete gone off the rails. But Malik's childhood friend, private security specialist Ty Johnson, quickly begins to suspect that there is more to it.Chasing the truth, Ty, along with his business partner, Ryan Lock, begin to uncover a sinister conspiracy of silence in a sleepy Minnesota college town."Sean Black writes like a punch to the gut." – Jesse Kellerman"The heir apparent to Lee Child." – Ken Bruen
    Show book
  • None So Blind - An Inspector Green Mystery - cover

    None So Blind - An Inspector...

    Barbara Fradkin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Did Inspector Green put the wrong man behind bars?  
     
     
    Twenty years ago, a raw and impressionable Detective Michael Green helped convict a young professor for the murder of an attractive co-ed. From behind bars, the man continued to hound Green with letters protesting his innocence. Shortly after being paroled, he is found dead. Is it suicide? Revenge? Or had Green made the biggest mistake of his career — a mistake which cost an innocent man his liberty and ultimately his life? To determine the truth, Green is forced to re-examine old evidence and open up old wounds to stare down a far greater evil hiding in plain sight. 
    Nominated for the 2015 Arthur Ellis Award for Best Novel
    Show book
  • Sins of the Fathers - A family mystery set in Scotland and England - cover

    Sins of the Fathers - A family...

    Anthea Fraser

    • 2
    • 2
    • 0
    Three families, separate yet joined by the sins of the fathers; sins that will ultimately lead to tragedy.Mark Richmond’s trip to York takes a surprise detour when he runs into Helena Crawford and ends up accompanying her to her parents’ ruby wedding anniversary in Drumlee, Scotland.Six months earlier, Mark attended Peter Kingsley’s sixtieth birthday party – the father of his now-estranged wife, Sophie – where Peter was unexpectedly taken ill. Mark’s father, Charles, has been friends with Peter for forty years, but how well does he really know him?As Peter’s health continues to deteriorate, it seems the Richmonds and the Kingsleys are inextricably entwined by devastating secrets, resentment, betrayal and deceit. And who is Ellie, the girl in the hooded anorak, who appears on the cliff path in Drumlee, pale and shivering from the cold?
    Show book