Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Boston Noir 2 - The Classics - cover

Boston Noir 2 - The Classics

Dennis Lehane, Jaime Clarke, Mary Cotton

Publisher: Akashic Books

  • 1
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

The original Boston Noir is the best-selling title in the Akashic Noir Series, which has over 50 volumes in print. This volume comprises classic reprints from: Linda Barnes, Jason Brown, Andre Dubus, Mitch Evich, George Harrar, George V. Higgins, Daphne Kalotay, Dennis Lehane, Joyce Carol Oates, Robert B. Parker, Hank Phillippi Ryan, Michael Thomas, Hannah Tinti, John Updike, Abraham Verghese, David Foster Wallace. Major media coverage expected -- print, broadcast, online.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Illustrated Man - cover

    The Illustrated Man

    Ray Bradbury

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    You could hear the voices murmuring, small and muted, from the crowds that inhabited his body. 
    A peerless American storyteller, Ray Bradbury brings wonders alive. The Illustrated Man is classic Bradbury— eighteen startling visions of humankind’s destiny, unfolding across a canvas of decorated skin. In this phantasmagoric sideshow, living cities take their vengeance, technology awakens the most primal natural instincts, Martian invasions are foiled by the good life and the glad hand, and dreams are carried aloft in junkyard rockets. Provocative and powerful, Ray Bradbury’s The Illustrated Man is a kaleidoscopic blending of magic, imagination, and truth—as exhilarating as interplanetary travel, as maddening as a walk in a million-year rain, and as comforting as simple, familiar rituals on the last night of the world.
    Show book
  • Terrorific Tales - cover

    Terrorific Tales

    Hadena James

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Once I dreamed about a spider that kept opening and closing a waffle iron.  I didn’t know whether to laugh or be afraid.  When I told my friend, she referred to it as a terrorific dream.  The stories inside this collection are much the same.  Tales where the unexpected become mundane or where the mundane takes an expected turn to become horrific.  To laugh or be afraid, that is the question.   
    Show book
  • Pure Hollywood - And Other Stories - cover

    Pure Hollywood - And Other Stories

    Christine Schutt

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    “With terse sentences that read like poetry, Schutt strips each scene of excess context and cuts to the heart of the moment….Schutt's haunting yet lyrical words linger long after the final page.”—Los Angeles Times
    
    
    
    Hailed by George Saunders as “a truly gifted writer,” with Pure Hollywood & Other Stories, Pulitzer Prize finalist and O Henry Prize winner Christine Schutt returns to the short story form that launched her acclaimed career and her inimitable style that John Ashbery once described as “pared down but rich, dense, fevered, exactly right and even eerily beautiful.” 
    
    
    
    In 11 captivating tales, Pure Hollywood brings us into private worlds of corrupt familial love, intimacy, longing, and danger. From an alcoholic widowed actress living in desert seclusion, to a young mother whose rejection of her child has terrible consequences, a newlywed couple who ignore the violent warnings of a painter burned by love, to an eerie portrait of erotic obsession, each story in Pure Hollywood is an imagistic snapshot of what it means to live and learn love and hurt.  
    
    
    
    In league with JD Salinger, Katherine Mansfield and Guy De Maupassant, in Pure Hollywood Schutt gives us sharply suspenseful and masterfully dark interior portraits of ordinary lives, infused with her signature observation and surprise. Timeless, incisive, and precise, these tales are a rush of blood to the head, portals through which we open our eyes and see the world anew.
    Show book
  • Mark Twain's Medieval Romance - And Other Classic Mystery Stories - cover

    Mark Twain's Medieval Romance -...

    Otto Penzler

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A premier anthology of some of the finest mystery stories in literary history, including tales from Ray Bradbury, Roald Dahl, Aldous Huxley, O. Henry, and Mark Twain.Tantalizing, as ingenious as they are devious, the classic stories in this continually arresting collection come with an irresistible challenge: At their end they leave it to you, the reader, to determine how they end.For ultimately it’s the reader who authors the fate of the brave youth as he contemplates which of the two doors in the king’s arena he will choose in Frank Stockton’s famous and unforgettable “The Lady, or the Tiger?” And which of the two brothers in three-time Edgar-winner Stanley Ellin’s “Unreasonable Doubt” shoots a bullet square in the middle of their rich uncle’s forehead? And just what not-so-sweet secret is the prim Miss Spence hiding behind her smile in Aldous Huxley’s deliciously enigmatic tale? You decide.In all, as in “The Moment of Decision”—a chilling tale that seals an escape artist inside an airless stone cell with a heavy wooden door, which may or may not open—the moment of decision is yours.
    Show book
  • First Love and Other Sorrows - Stories - cover

    First Love and Other Sorrows -...

    Harold Brodkey

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    In the vein of John Cheever and J. D. Salinger, this powerful collection of short stories chronicles the loss of innocence, the harsh cruelty of social distinctions, and the anguish of young loveFirst Love and Other Sorrows is the hauntingly beautiful debut collection of short stories from American master Harold Brodkey. Written when the author was in his twenties, these strong, affecting tales recall the intoxicating joy of young, springtime love, while lamenting the betrayal of dreams and false ideals in the glaring light of reality. Set in the Midwest during the 1950s, First Love and Other Sorrows centers around a Jewish family that has recently lost its patriarch—and with him the world of privilege.  Through the eyes of a son, a sister, and a mother—each one struggling to find a foothold in both family and society—these stories explore class prejudice, obsessive love, and the tragic foibles and emotional truths of being human. First Love and Other Sorrows is masterful fiction from an extraordinary literary artist.
    Show book
  • A Goblin Peace - cover

    A Goblin Peace

    Stefon Mears

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Clans killing clans. The bane of goblinkind. Elves, dwarves, humans, orcs — they all laugh at goblins. Slaughter goblins. Enslave goblins. 
    Grik imagines a different future. A future where even elves fear goblins. 
    But first Grik must stop the killing. 
    "A Goblin Peace" — a tense high fantasy short story full of fighting and betrayal. From Stefon Mears, author of Half a Wizard and With a Broken Sword.
    Show book