Today could be the day that you start a whole year of unlimited reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
White - A Novel - cover

White - A Novel

Deni Ellis Béchard

Publisher: Milkweed Editions

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Author has been widely published, including in the LA Times, Salon, Reuters, the Paris Review, the Guardian, Pacific Standard, the Huffington Post, and Foreign Policy
A Commonwealth Prize Winner, the author has been lauded by major literary figures—called “the rare writer who knows the secret to telling the true story” by Marlon James and “reminiscent of Proulx and Doctorow” by Dagoberto Gilb
We expect strong blurbs, reviews, and ordering from the fiction and journalist communities as a result of the author’s network of supporters
Book’s focus on white supremacy, humanitarianism, and white privilege provides opportunities for wider coverage, crossover into larger markets, and inclusion in national conversations surrounding race and privilege

Other books that might interest you

  • Malice and Madness - cover

    Malice and Madness

    J.T. Lozano

    • 3
    • 7
    • 0
    Malice and Madness is a collection of nine short and delectable tales from the twisted mind of J.T. Lozano. Kick off your shoes, grab your blanket, turn off the lights, and curl up in bed as you prepare to meet a centuries old ghoul that feeds on the dead. A doll that is searching for a family of her own, a pair of teenagers that are tasked with ensuring the survival of their people and other things that go bump in the night. Enjoy the tales J.T. weaves and remember that the monsters are not real….or are they?
    Show book
  • Strange Affair - cover

    Strange Affair

    Peter Robinson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    LOUISE PENNY calls Peter Robinson's new novel In the Dark Places a "thrilling, brilliantly plotted, beautifully paced" read. Available August 11, 2015—preorder your copy today!
    Show book
  • Louisiana Fever - cover

    Louisiana Fever

    D.J. Donaldson

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    Two New Orleans investigators are up against an inhuman killer in this “sleek, fast-moving” mystery (Kirkus Reviews).   When criminal psychologist Kit Franklyn goes to meet an anonymous admirer, the date ends before it begins—as the man drops dead at her feet. Now, yet again, her evening’s companion is her bulky boss, chief medical examiner Andy Broussard.   Broussard deduces that the man died carrying a lethal pathogen comparable to the Ebola virus. And when another body is found with the same infection, the threat of a pandemic becomes all too real. But while the danger to the public must be contained, the threat is far more personal than Broussard or Franklyn realize. Because the carrier’s still out there—and he’s looking for Broussard.   “Entertains even as the gruesome death count mounts. . . . Against the humid, wild and funky Crescent City setting, Donaldson delivers some genuinely heart-stopping suspense.” —Publishers Weekly
    Show book
  • Cold Wrath - cover

    Cold Wrath

    Peter Turnbull

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Who was Anthony Garrett? The murder of a reclusive local man draws DCI Hennessey and DS Yellich into a baffling new case.
    
    On a hot summer morning, Miles Law cycles into the village of Millington in the Vale of York, on his way to a few hours’ work as an under gardener at The Grange. But when he arrives, he finds his employer slumped in an armchair in the drawing room, a bullet wound on his forehead.
     
    Miles’ employer was a secretive and reclusive man who kept his employees and neighbours at a distance. Who was Anthony Garrett, and who are the three young, identical-looking blonde women who called at the house a few days before his body was discovered? 
     
    Detective Chief Inspector George Hennessey and Detective Superintendent Somerled Yellich are soon on the hunt for a ruthless and efficient killer…
    Show book
  • The Club - cover

    The Club

    Takis Würger

    • 1
    • 7
    • 1
    For fans of Herman Koch’s The Dinner and Leïla Slimani’s The Perfect Nanny, The Club is a smoldering story of class, privilege, and matters of the heart 
    The Club is a blistering, timely, and gripping novel set at Cambridge University, centering around an all-male dining club for the most privileged and wealthy young men at Cambridge and following an outsider who exposes the dark secrets of this group, the Pitt Club.  
     As a boy, Hans Stichler enjoys a fable-like childhood among the rolling hills and forests of North Germany, living an idyll that seems uninterruptable. A visit from Hans’s ailing English aunt Alex, who comes to stay for an entire summer, has a profound effect on the young Hans, all the more so when she invites him to come to university at Cambridge, where she teaches art history. Alex will ensure his application to St. John’s College is accepted, but in return he must help her investigate an elite university club of young aristocrats and wealthy social climbers, the Pitt Club. The club has existed at Cambridge for centuries, its long legacy of tradition and privilege largely unquestioned. As Hans makes his best efforts to prove club material and infiltrate its ranks, including testing his mettle in the boxing ring, he is drawn into a world of extravagance, debauchery, and macho solidarity. And when he falls in love with fellow student Charlotte, he sees a potential new life of upper-class sophistication opening up to him. But there are secrets in the club’s history, as well as in its present—and Hans soon finds himself in the inner sanctum of what proves to be an increasingly dangerous institution, forced to grapple with the notion that sometimes one must do wrong to do right.
    Show book
  • Improbable Cause - A JP Beaumont Novel - cover

    Improbable Cause - A JP Beaumont...

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Perhaps it was fitting justice: a dentist who enjoyed inflicting pain was murdered in his own chair. The question is not who wanted Dr. Frederick Nielsen dead, but rather who of the many finally reached the breaking point. The sordid details of this case, with its shocking revelations of violence, cruelty, and horrific sexual abuse, would be tough for any investigator to stomach. But for Seattle Homicide Detective J.P. Beaumont, the most damning piece of the murderous puzzle will shake him to his very core -- because what will be revealed to him is nothing less than the true meaning of unrepentant evil.
    Show book