Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Three in a Bed - The Benefits of Sleeping with Your Baby - cover

Three in a Bed - The Benefits of Sleeping with Your Baby

Deborah Jackson

Publisher: Bloomsbury Paperbacks

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Only since Victorian times has it been standard practice for mothers and  fathers to send their babies to sleep alone, away from the parental bed  - often in another room. This book reveals how babies who sleep with  their parents benefit by getting virtually a full night's sleep.;The  author explains the advantages of this radical form of baby care,  including its benefits for breastfeeding mothers, reviews the history of  babies in the bed and, through interviews with parents, explores  attitudes to the idea. The book also contains a fresh perspective on the  tragedy of cot death, as well as practical advice on how to sustain  your sex life, hints on safety in the bed and answers to all the common  objections. Finally, the author deals with the moment when the baby  leaves its parents' bed.

Other books that might interest you

  • Needlework of Mary Queen of Scots - cover

    Needlework of Mary Queen of Scots

    Margaret Swain

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Although a large body of needlework has always been attributed to Mary Queen of Scots, little attempt was made to authenticate these pieces or to explain how so energetic and impetuous a woman could have found pleasure in the meticulous craft of embroidery. This is the first comprehensive study of the Queen as a needlewoman describing all the works associated with her. For the first time every piece marked by her cipher or monogram is illustrated in full. A biographical outline provides the framework for understanding her work by setting it in the context of her unsettled and stormy life. It recounts the influence of her formative years in France and her absorption in needlework during the years of imprisonment. Many of the embroideries can be seen in British country houses and in Scottish collections. A significant work in the history of costume and textiles and sheds a new light on those little known aspects of Mary Queen of Scot's life. The first comprehensive study of the Queen of Scots as a needlewoman and how such an energetic and impetuous woman could have found pleasure in the meticulous craft of embroidery. Illustrated in full with 12 colour, 70 black & white photographs and 20 illustrations. Margaret Swain is an expert on the history of costume and textiles and was awarded an MBE for her work on embroidery and tapestries.
    Show book
  • the witch doesn't burn in this one - cover

    the witch doesn't burn in this one

    Amanda Lovelace, ladybookmad

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The witch: supernaturally powerful, inscrutably independent, and now—indestructible. These moving, relatable poems encourage resilience and embolden women to take control of their own stories. Enemies try to judge, oppress, and marginalize her, but the witch doesn’t burn in this one. 
    Show book
  • The Mechanics of Homosexual Intercourse - cover

    The Mechanics of Homosexual...

    Lonely Christopher

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Dennis Cooper to help promote book, since he is the curator the Little House on the Bowery series, of which this is the latest selection. Publicity to mainstream media, along with gay/lesbian media.
    Show book
  • Quiet Influence - The Introvert's Guide to Making a Difference - cover

    Quiet Influence - The...

    Jennifer B. Kahnweiler

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Introverts may feel powerless in a world where extroverts seem to rule, but there's more than one way to have some sway. Jennifer Kahnweiler proves introverts can be highly effective influencers when, instead of trying to act like extroverts, they use their natural strengths to make a difference. Kahnweiler identifies six unique strengths of introverts and includes a Quiet Influence Quotient (QIQ) quiz to measure how well you're using these six strengths now. Then, through questions, tools, exercises, and powerful real-world examples, you will increase your mastery of these strengths.
    Show book
  • Abigail and John - Portrait of a Marriage - cover

    Abigail and John - Portrait of a...

    Edith Gelles

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “Fascinating...Gelles has provided a balanced portrait, and her mastery of the period’s issues and history is evident on every page. Her treatment of the family... [is] written with understanding and sensitivity... But it is her strength as a feminist historian that makes her treatment of Abigail the most gripping... masterful and captivating.” — Washington Times  
    “A landmark... Well-organized and expertly composed, the book is an impressive addition to the nation’s written history.” — Oklahoma City Oklahoman  
    Readers who enjoyed Doris Kearns Goodwin’s No Ordinary Time, Cokie Roberts’s Founding Mothers, and David McCullough’s John Adams will love “this eminently readable… charming and sensitive, yet candid and unflinching joint biography” (Daniel Walker Howe, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of What Hath God Wrought: The Transformation of America, 1815-1848) of America’s original “power couple”: Abigail and John Adams.
    Show book
  • Cornwall's Strangest Tales - Extraordinary but true stories - cover

    Cornwall's Strangest Tales -...

    Peter Grego

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Welcome to the weird and wonderful world of Cornwall, or as it is sometimes obscurely referred to, Merry Jack. Though this isnt the usual side of the county the tourists, travellers and residents see. This is the real Cornwall, the strange and twisted nooks and crannies of the countys bizarre history past, present and future. Following on from the bestselling Portico Strangest titles now comes a book devoted to Englands gloriously coastal, yet most haunted, region. Located in the toes of the outstretched legs of Britains old man, Cornwall is a county with more strangeness than you can shake a Cornish pasty at. Cornwall is an area of outstanding natural beauty, as well as outstanding strangness from ye olde tales of plundering pirates to foulish ghosts drinking in local pubs right through to the most famous of all myths the bizarre beast that forever stalks Bodmin Moor. Spooky. Cornwalls Strangest Tales is a treasure trove of the hilarious, the odd and the baffling an alternative travel guide to some of the countys best-kept secrets. Read on, if you dare! You have been warned. Word count: 35,000
    Show book