Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Mongrels or Marvels - The Levantine Writings of Jacqueline Shohet Kahanoff - cover

Mongrels or Marvels - The Levantine Writings of Jacqueline Shohet Kahanoff

Deborah A. Starr, Sasson Somekh

Publisher: Stanford University Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The writings of Jacqueline Shohet Kahanoff (1917–1979) offer a refreshing reassessment of Arab-Jewish relations in the Middle East. A member of the bourgeois Jewish community in Cairo, Kahanoff grew up in a time of coexistence. She spent the years of World War II in New York City, where she launched her writing career with publications in prominent American journals. Kahanoff later settled in Israel, where she became a noted cultural and literary critic.
Mongrels or Marvels offers Kahanoff's most influential and engaging writings, selected from essays and works of fiction that anticipate contemporary concerns about cultural integration in immigrant societies. Confronted with the breakdown of cosmopolitan Egyptian society, and the stereotypes she encountered as a Jew from the Arab world, she developed a social model, Levantinism, that embraces the idea of a pluralist, multicultural society and counters the prevailing attitudes and identity politics in the Middle East with the possibility of mutual respect and acceptance.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Bridal Party - Perfect for fans of Lucy Foley's The Guest List - cover

    The Bridal Party - Perfect for...

    J G Murray

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Sometimes friendship can be murder... It's the weekend of Clarisse's bridal party, a trip the girls have all been looking forward to. Then, on the day of their flight, Tamsyn, the maid of honour, suddenly backs out. Upset and confused, they try to make the most of the stunning, isolated seaside house they find themselves in. But, there is a surprise in store - Tamsyn has organised a murder mystery, a sinister game in which they must discover a killer in their midst. As tensions quickly boil over, it becomes clear to them all that there are some secrets that won't stay buried...WINNER OF THE DEVIANT MINDS CRIME THRILLER PRIZE 2018READERS LOVE THE BRIDAL PARTY!"Dark, gritty, edge of your seat, addictive reading at its best" Karen, Netgalley"A chilling, sinister, intense thriller" Nicki, Netgalley
    Show book
  • The Poems of Hesiod - Theogony Works and Days and The Shield of Herakles - cover

    The Poems of Hesiod - Theogony...

    Hesiod

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this new translation of Hesiod, Barry B. Powell gives an accessible, modern verse rendering of these vibrant texts, essential to an understanding of early Greek myth and society. With stunning color images that help bring to life the contents of the poems and notes that explicate complex passages, Powell’s fresh renditions provide an exciting introduction to the culture of the ancient Greeks. This is the definitive translation and guide for students and readers looking to experience the poetry of Hesiod, who ranks alongside Homer as an influential poet of Greek antiquity.
    Show book
  • Criminal Minds - Sociopaths Serial Killers and Other Deviants - cover

    Criminal Minds - Sociopaths...

    Jeff Mariotte

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    An authorized tie-in to the popular TV show Criminal Minds 
    Most episodes of Criminal Minds feature a briefing where the show's team of FBI profilers defines the type of criminal they're looking for and provides some real-life examples. This book tells the story of those examples.Published to coincide with the release of season five of Criminal Minds on DVD Organized by type of criminal, including solo serial killers, sexual predators, and killers with famous victims; and tells the stories of many famous murderers, including David Berkowitz, Jeffrey Dahmer, Mark David Chapman, and the Zodiac killer Features photographs from the show  
    Criminal Minds: Sociopaths, Serial Killers, and Other Deviants is a fascinating, terrifying book about the criminal minds who live among us.
    Show book
  • Some Myths and Legends of the Australian Aborigines - cover

    Some Myths and Legends of the...

    W. J. Thomas

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This volume contains an illustrated collection of Australian Aborigine folklore, rewritten for a general audience. “Some Myths and Legends of the Australian Aborigines” is highly recommended for those with an interest in mythology and Australian Aboriginal culture, and it would make for a worthy addition to collections of allied literature. Contents include: “Why the Crow is Black”, “How the Stars Were Made”, “Rolla-Mano and the Evening Star.”, “The Story of the Seven Sisters and the Faithful Lovers”, “A Legend of the Sacred Bullroarer”, “The Great Fight.”, “The Flying Chip.”, “Why Blackfellows Never Travel Alone - A Legend of the Wallaroo and Willy-Wagtail”, etc. Many vintage books such as this are becoming increasingly rare and expensive. We are republishing this volume now in an affordable, modern, high-quality edition complete with a specially commissioned new introduction. First published in 1923.
    Show book
  • Justine - cover

    Justine

    Marquis de Sade

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Justine is set just before the French Revolution in France and tells the story of a beautiful young woman who goes under the name of Therese. Her story is recounted to Madame de Lorsagne while defending herself for her crimes, en route to punishment and death. She explains the series of misfortunes which have led her to be in her present situation.
    Show book
  • 120 days of sodom - cover

    120 days of sodom

    Marquis de Sade

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    The extensive wars wherewith Louis XIV was burdened during his reign, while draining the State's treasury and exhausting the substance of the people, none the less contained the secret that led to the prosperity of a swarm of those bloodsuckers who are always on the watch for public calamities, which, instead of appeasing, they promote or invent so as, precisely, to be able to profit from them the more advantageously. The end of this so very sublime reign was perhaps one of the periods in the history of the French Empire when one saw the emergence of the greatest number of these mysterious fortunes whose origins are as obscure as the lust and debauchery that accompany them. It was toward the close of this period, and not long before the Regent sought, by means of the famous tribunal which goes under the name of the Chambre de Justice, to flush this multitude of traffickers, that four of them conceived the idea for the singular revels whereof we are going to give an account. One must not suppose that it was exclusively the low-born and vulgar sort which did this swindling; gentlemen of the highest note led the pack. The Duc de Blangis and his brother the Bishop of X***, each of whom had thuswise amassed immense fortunes, are in themselves solid proof that, like the others, the nobility neglected no opportunities to take this road to wealth. These two illustrious figures, through their pleasures and business closely associated with the celebrated Durcet and the Président de Curval, were the first to hit upon the debauch we propose to chronicle, and having communicated the scheme to their two friends, all four agreed to assume the major roles in these unusual orgies.
    Show book