Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
The Planck Factor - cover

The Planck Factor

Debbi Mack

Publisher: Renegade Press

  • 1
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

"Thoroughly intriguing! A real page-turner."— Zoë Sharp, author of the best-selling Charlie Fox series
 
On a dare, grad student Jessica Evans writes a thriller, creating a nightmare scenario based upon the theory that the speed of light is not a constant—one that has a dark application. Her protagonist (the fiancé of a scientist killed in a car crash) is pursued by those who want to use the theory to create the world’s most powerful weapon.
 
However, Jessica is soon running for her life when events mimic that of her protagonist. She’s threatened by terrorist conspirators who intend to use the knowledge to create an event that causes mass destruction—even threatens the global extinction of all life. As the clock ticks down, Jessica must outwit the enemies and avert an apocalypse.
 
MORE REVIEWS AND ENDORSEMENTS“Does art hold a mirror to life? Or does life mirror art? New York Times best-selling author Debbi Mack builds this surprising thriller layer upon layer with an ending that will make you want to read it all over again.” — Donna Fletcher Crow, author of An All-Consuming Fire, The Monastery Murders“Mack takes her reader on a roller-coaster ride with science, imagination, and a terrible possibility.” — Peg Brantley, author of the Aspen Falls Thriller series"[A] sleek tour-de-force exercise in Hitchcockian suspense about domestic terrorism, in which the McGuffin is a novel-within-the-novel and the novelist and her work intersect in unpredictable ways. Reality and fiction clash and spar for supremacy until the final paragraph."— W.D. Gagliani, author of Wolf's Blind (The Nick Lupo Series) and Savage Nights ABOUT THE AUTHOR
 
Debbi Mack is the New York Times bestselling author of the Sam McRae Mystery Series. She's also published one young novel. In addition, she's a Derringer-nominated short story writer, whose work has been published in various anthologies.
 
Debbi is also a screenwriter and aspiring indie filmmaker. Her first screenplay, The Enemy Within, made the Second Round in the 2014 Austin Film Festival screenplay contest and semifinals in the 2016 Scriptapalooza contest.
 
A former attorney, Debbi has also worked as a journalist, librarian, and freelance writer/researcher. She enjoys walking, cats, travel, movies and espresso--not necessarily in that order.

Other books that might interest you

  • Recall: The Red Ledger 4 5 & 6 (Volume Two) - cover

    Recall: The Red Ledger 4 5 & 6...

    Meredith Wild

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    He’s death for hire…
     
    Some people measure life in hours. Days. Weeks. I measure mine in kills. A covert military mission gone wrong robbed me of my memory and any link to my past. This is my existence now. I execute and survive. Nothing more, nothing less. I was ready to write Isabel Foster’s name in my ledger of unfortunate souls until she uttered the one word that could stop the bullet meant for her. My name.
     
    She knows my face. She knows me. She’s the key to the memories I’m not sure I want back. Now nothing is simple. I still have a job to do, and my soul isn’t worth saving. I’m not the man she thinks I am. I can’t love her. And sparing her life puts us both in the crosshairs.
    Show book
  • The Pallbearer - A Novel - cover

    The Pallbearer - A Novel

    Jordan Farmer

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    For fans of Daniel Woodrell and Frank Bill, The Pallbearer is a stunning debut that takes an unflinching look at an Appalachian town after several coal mines close, resulting in widespread poverty, unemployment, and drug addiction.  
    The Pallbearer has a physically disabled protagonist and several fully realized gay characters whose narratives go beyond their sexuality. This answers a call for more inclusive and diverse characters in publishing. 
    Jordan Farmer, who has dwarfism, writes about the challenges of physical disability from an informed POV. He is currently a Ph.D. candidate studying creative writing at the University of Lincoln-Nebraska. He will be able to use his connections there to bolster the publicity of the book.
    The novel directly addresses the contemporary issues surrounding the coal industry, the rage of lower-class white families, the opioid epidemic, discrimination against the LGBTQ community, and the prison industrial complex.
    Show book
  • Shadow of a Dark Queen - cover

    Shadow of a Dark Queen

    Raymond E. Feist

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    “An epic reading experience.”—San Diego Union-Tribune Acclaimed, New York Times bestselling fantasist Raymond E. Feist gets his masterful Serpentwar Saga off to a spectacular start with Shadow of a Dark Queen. Feist’s classic epic fantasy adventure returns readers to ever-imperiled Midkemia, a breathtaking, richly imagined realm of magic and intrigue, where two unlikely heroes must rally the forces of the land to stand firm against a malevolent race of monsters intent upon conquest and annihilation. Locus magazine calls Shadow of a Dark Queen, “the place to start for those yet to discover Feist’s fantasy worlds.” For fans of Terry Goodkind, George R. R. Martin, and Terry Brooks—and for anyone not already in the  thrall of this astonishing author’s literary magic—that is excellent advice indeed.
    Show book
  • Last Night Out The - A psychological thriller - cover

    Last Night Out The - A...

    Catherine O'Connell

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Six friends. A bride to be. One murder. Too many secrets. 
    After drinking too much at her bachelorette party, Maggie Trueheart wakes to find a stranger in her bed. To make matters worse, a phone call brings the devastating news that her friend Angie was murdered some time after they parted ways the night before.
    Kelly Delaney, who left the party early, is the first of Maggie’s friends to face questions from Chicago homicide detective Ron O’Reilly. After taking a closer look at the other women who attended the party, O’Reilly concludes that at least some of them are lying.
    As the clock ticks down to the wedding day and more shocking secrets are revealed, the murderer zeros in on another one of the girls. Can the killer be stopped before there is another victim?
    Show book
  • Hercule Poirot: The Complete Short Stories - A Hercule Poirot Collection with Foreword by Charles Todd - cover

    Hercule Poirot: The Complete...

    Agatha Christie

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    At last, a single volume that gathers together all of the short stories featuring Agatha Christie's most famous creation, Hercule Poirot. The dapper, mustache-twirling little Belgian with the egg-shaped head and curious mannerisms has solved some of the most puzzling crimes of the century—and, in his own humble opinion, is "probably the greatest detective in the world." 
    In this complete collection of more than 50 stories, ranging from short tales to novellas, Poirot faces violent murders, poisonings, kidnappings, and thefts—all solved with his characteristic panache. Only Agatha Christie could have devised cases worthy of Hercule Poirot's skill and "little gray cells."
    Show book
  • Spirelli Paranormal Investigations: Episodes 1-3 - Spirelli Paranormal Investigations - cover

    Spirelli Paranormal...

    Kate Baray

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Jack Spirelli, paranormal investigator, public debunker of paranormal frauds, and private fixer for the magic-using community has opened his doors. 
     
    Jack's in a crunch. Since he went pseudo-public with Spirelli Paranormal Investigations, his business has sky-rocketed. Debunking the scum who prey on vulnerable targets makes up half his business now. And the rest of his time? Jack's on speed dial with the Texas Lycan Pack, the Inter-Pack Policing Cooperative gives him an occasional ring, and anything that goes bump in the night might just call him with a job. 
     
    He needs an assistant, another investigator, and some additional muscle, but maybe the dragon who just walked in and applied will do for now. 
     
    This volume contains the first three episodes of Season One. Each is a complete stand-alone story. Episodes 1-3 area also available individually. 
    Show book