Did you know that reading reduces stress?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Deep Six - cover

Deep Six

Debbi Mack

Publisher: Renegade Press

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Would you risk your life seeking justice for a friend?
 
Maryland lawyer, Stephanie Ann "Sam" McRae, is strapped for cash, when an old college friend asks her to help a citizens group fight a controversial development.
 
Though loathe to take a zoning case, Sam is persuaded by the unusually high retainer, but the matter becomes personal when Sam finds Linda murdered. Because the citizens group is sharply divided, Sam investigates, needing to keep the client but not sure who to trust.
 
When her investigation reveals a tangled web of lies, political corruption, and double-dealing, the search for Linda's killer puts Sam's own life in danger.
 
REVIEWS AND ENDORSEMENTS
 
"Hooray! Sassy, savvy Sam McRae is back and as determined as ever to see justice done. Deep6  opens with a gripping hook and delivers a carefully paced legal procedural leading to a satisfying, thought-provoking ending. A read you won't want to miss."    -- Donna Fletcher Crow, author of A Newly Crimsoned Reliquary, The Monastery Murders
 
"When a simple zoning case escalates to betrayal and murder, Sam's back is to the wall as she wonders who to trust. When people start dying, she must quickly uncover the truth before becoming one more victim. With long odds against her, Sam desperately navigates a complex web of deceit in this tense action tale."
 
-- Dale T. Phillips, author of A Shadow on the Wall
 
"Debbi Mack is back with another installment of her Sam McRae series. One thing you can always count on from Mack is sharp, realistic dialogue, and in Deep Six, she once again delivers. Sam McRae is a tough lady, but an everywoman, as well. ... From the opening line of this novel to its satisfying ending, Mack delivers a great, gritty, gorgeous mystery."
 
-- Frank Zafiro, author of the River City series
 
"Peppered with snappy, noir-tinted dialogue and Sam's sardonic narration, Deep Six is a perfect whodunit for a cozy night's reading in any season."
 
-- W.D. Gagliani, author of the Nick Lupo series, including the Bram Stoker Award finalist Wolf's Trap

Other books that might interest you

  • Blood Cold - A Chris Black Adventure - cover

    Blood Cold - A Chris Black...

    James Lindholm

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    The legacy of a failed regime rises from the deep.
     
    Indomitable marine biologist Chris Black is looking forward to six quiet months of scientific research off the coast of Cape Town, South Africa. But when on a routine dive Chris discovers the wreck of a fishing vessel that disappeared during a storm decades earlier, he inadvertently clashes with the ghost of South Africa's Apartheid. Thousands of gold Krugerrand provide powerful motivation for treachery everywhere, and Chris is forced to take a careful look at those he trusts most. Racing against time, he must find out who is providing critical information to the criminals ... before too much innocent blood is shed.
     
    "Opening this book is like diving with sharks. Big sharks. At night. In a hurricane. What next?" -Stephen Palumbi, scientist and author of The Death and Life of Monterey Bay
    Show book
  • Oppose Any Foe (A Luke Stone Thriller—Book 4) - cover

    Oppose Any Foe (A Luke Stone...

    Jack Mars

    • 2
    • 12
    • 0
    “One of the best thrillers I have read this year. The plot is intelligent and will keep you hooked from the beginning. The author did a superb job creating a set of characters who are fully developed and very much enjoyable. I can hardly wait for the sequel.”
    --Books and Movie Reviews, Roberto Mattos (re Any Means Necessary)
    
    OPPOSE ANY FOE is book #4 in the bestselling Luke Stone thriller series, which begins with ANY MEANS NECESSARY (book #1)!
    
    A small arsenal of U.S. nuclear weapons are stolen from a NATO base in Europe. The world scrambles to figure out who the culprits are and what their target is—and to stop them before they unleash hell on humanity.
    
    With only hours left before it is too late, the President has no choice but to call in Luke Stone, the former head of an elite FBI para-military team. Finally getting his life back in order, and with devastating news on his own family front, Luke does not want the job. But with the newly elected female President desperate for his help, he realizes he cannot turn his back on her.
    
    In the action-packed, international cat-and-mouse chase that follows, Luke, Ed and his former team will have to be more daring, and break more rules, than ever before. With the fate of the world at stake, Luke heads into the murky fog of war and espionage, and discovers the culprit is not who he thinks it is after all.
    
    A political thriller with non-stop action, dramatic international settings and heart-pounding suspense, OPPOSE ANY FOE is book #4 in the bestselling and critically-acclaimed Luke Stone series, an explosive new series that will leave you turning pages late into the night. 
    
    Book #5 in the Luke Stone series will be available soon.
    Show book
  • What She Knew - A Novel - cover

    What She Knew - A Novel

    Gilly Macmillan

    • 1
    • 14
    • 0
    THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER 
    In her enthralling debut, Gilly Macmillan explores a mother’s search for her missing son, weaving a taut psychological thriller as gripping and skillful as The Girl on the Train and The Guilty One. 
    In a heartbeat, everything changes… 
    Rachel Jenner is walking in a Bristol park with her eight-year-old son, Ben, when he asks if he can run ahead. It’s an ordinary request on an ordinary Sunday afternoon, and Rachel has no reason to worry—until Ben vanishes.   
    Police are called, search parties go out, and Rachel, already insecure after her recent divorce, feels herself coming undone. As hours and then days pass without a sign of Ben, everyone who knew him is called into question, from Rachel’s newly married ex-husband to her mother-of-the-year sister. Inevitably, media attention focuses on Rachel too, and the public’s attitude toward her begins to shift from sympathy to suspicion. 
    As she desperately pieces together the threadbare clues, Rachel realizes that nothing is quite as she imagined it to be, not even her own judgment. And the greatest dangers may lie not in the anonymous strangers of every parent’s nightmares, but behind the familiar smiles of those she trusts the most. 
    Where is Ben? The clock is ticking...
    Show book
  • Man of War - An Eric Steele Novel - cover

    Man of War - An Eric Steele Novel

    Sean Parnell

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    "Fast, hard, and effortlessly authentic—both lead character Eric Steele and author Sean Parnell are the real deal."—Lee Child 
    "An exciting, action-packed debut! Bristling with intrigue, deceit, power, and treason—once you pick this book up, you will NOT be able to put it down. Sean Parnell has knocked it out of the park!"—Brad Thor  
    The New York Times bestselling author of Outlaw Platoon makes his fiction debut with this electrifying military thriller—a gripping tale of action, suspense, and international intrigue that introduces a compelling new hero, Eric Steele. 
    Eric Steele is the best of the best—an Alpha—an elite clandestine operative assigned to a US intelligence unit known simply as the "Program." A superbly trained Special Forces soldier who served several tours fighting radical Islamic militants in Afghanistan, Steele now operates under the radar, using a deadly combination of espionage and brute strength to root out his enemies and neutralize them. 
    But when a man from Steele’s past attacks a military convoy and steals a nuclear weapon, Steele and his superiors at the White House are blindsided. Moving from Washington, DC, to the Middle East, Europe, and Africa, Steele must use his considerable skills to hunt this rogue agent, a former brother-in-arms who might have been a friend, and find the WMD before it can reach the United States—and the world is forever changed.
    Show book
  • Do Her No Harm - a page turning and gripping psychological thriller - cover

    Do Her No Harm - a page turning...

    Naomi Joy

    • 2
    • 12
    • 1
    One unsolved murder. A best friend determined to right the wrongs of the past. 
     
    On the 21st August Tabitha Rice disappeared without a trace. All the signs point to murder, but no signs point to a murderer. The easiest answer is her husband, Rick. But he protests his innocence and there is little proof he is the murderer. 
     
    Annabella knows there is more to the story than what the police are telling. Tabitha was her best friend and she vows to uncover the truth. 
     
    As Annabella delves further into the past, she uncovers sides to Tabitha that she never saw coming, and she finds herself asking the question... Was this murder? Or is there more to Tabitha Rice's story than meets the eye? 
     
    Perfect for fans of Louise Candlish, The Silent Patient and Blood Orange.
    Show book
  • The Ghosts of Africa - A Novel - cover

    The Ghosts of Africa - A Novel

    William Stevenson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A sprawling fictional account of the adventures of Paul von Lettow-Vorbeck, the World War I military commander who created the first modern guerilla army.   November 1914. In German-occupied East Africa during the Great War, British forces have arrived. In defiance of his orders, Prussian commander Paul von Lettow-Vorbeck enlists soldiers, civilians, and African rebels to fight against the British—the world’s first modern guerrilla uprising. Lettow-Vorbeck’s actions draw the attention of the brilliant but brutal chief of British intelligence, who vows to defeat him. To complicate matters, Lettow-Vorbeck finds himself embroiled in a romantic relationship with an American woman who loves him—but objects to his conduct in the war. Meanwhile, Zionists fight for influence in the region, rival tribes must be appeased with diplomacy, and an African princess serves as a spy for the rebels.   The acclaimed author of A Man Called Intrepid crafts a novel of romance, war, and resistance based on real-life personas and historical events. A former foreign correspondent in the region, William Stevenson paints an astonishingly accurate and detailed picture of the geography, military, and political climate of East Africa in a time of chaos. A thrilling read, TheGhosts of Africa is an epic tale of adventure that will both entertain and inform.
    Show book