Reading without limits, the perfect plan for #stayhome
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Deep Six - cover

Deep Six

Debbi Mack

Publisher: Renegade Press

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Would you risk your life seeking justice for a friend?
 
Maryland lawyer, Stephanie Ann "Sam" McRae, is strapped for cash, when an old college friend asks her to help a citizens group fight a controversial development.
 
Though loathe to take a zoning case, Sam is persuaded by the unusually high retainer, but the matter becomes personal when Sam finds Linda murdered. Because the citizens group is sharply divided, Sam investigates, needing to keep the client but not sure who to trust.
 
When her investigation reveals a tangled web of lies, political corruption, and double-dealing, the search for Linda's killer puts Sam's own life in danger.
 
REVIEWS AND ENDORSEMENTS
 
"Hooray! Sassy, savvy Sam McRae is back and as determined as ever to see justice done. Deep6  opens with a gripping hook and delivers a carefully paced legal procedural leading to a satisfying, thought-provoking ending. A read you won't want to miss."    -- Donna Fletcher Crow, author of A Newly Crimsoned Reliquary, The Monastery Murders
 
"When a simple zoning case escalates to betrayal and murder, Sam's back is to the wall as she wonders who to trust. When people start dying, she must quickly uncover the truth before becoming one more victim. With long odds against her, Sam desperately navigates a complex web of deceit in this tense action tale."
 
-- Dale T. Phillips, author of A Shadow on the Wall
 
"Debbi Mack is back with another installment of her Sam McRae series. One thing you can always count on from Mack is sharp, realistic dialogue, and in Deep Six, she once again delivers. Sam McRae is a tough lady, but an everywoman, as well. ... From the opening line of this novel to its satisfying ending, Mack delivers a great, gritty, gorgeous mystery."
 
-- Frank Zafiro, author of the River City series
 
"Peppered with snappy, noir-tinted dialogue and Sam's sardonic narration, Deep Six is a perfect whodunit for a cozy night's reading in any season."
 
-- W.D. Gagliani, author of the Nick Lupo series, including the Bram Stoker Award finalist Wolf's Trap

Other books that might interest you

  • A Lonely Death - An Inspector Ian Rutledge Mystery - cover

    A Lonely Death - An Inspector...

    Charles Todd

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    “Todd’s Ian Rutledge mysteries are among the most intelligent and affecting being written these days.”—Washington Post 
    Critics have called Charles Todd’s historical mystery series featuring shell-shocked World War One veteran Inspector Ian Rutledge “remarkable” (New York Times Book Review), “heart-breaking” (Chicago Tribune), “fresh and original” (South Florida Sun-Sentinel). In A Lonely Death, the haunted investigator is back in action, trying to solve the murders of three ex-soldiers in a small English village. A true master of evocative and atmospheric British crime fiction, Charles Todd reaches breathtaking new heights with A Lonely Death—a thrilling tale of the darkness in men’s souls that will have fans of Elizabeth George, Martha Grimes, and Anne Perry cheering. 
     
    Show book
  • RINN'S CROSSING - A novel - cover

    RINN'S CROSSING - A novel

    Russell Heath

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    They had been friends who fought side by side for better things. Now both were running from crimes neither could have imagined of themselves . . . 
    On a remote Alaskan island, Rinn van Ness commits a minor felony. His former lover is arrested for the crime—and a murder someone tried to pin on him.  
    Out on bail, Kit Olinsky fights a scorched-earth battle in the state legislature to save the Alaska she loves. She can only win if she betrays her friend Dan Wakefield, a Tlingit fighting desperately for what was promised to his people a generation ago.  In the back rooms of the legislature, Senator Billy Macon manipulates Alaska’s grimy politics with vindictive mastery in his drive to the governor’s mansion. 
    Like a lone wolf, Rinn slips out of the forest to protect Kit, never suspecting that he has more at stake than a lonely prison cell. 
    Show book
  • The Black Earth - The Times Historical Book of the Month - cover

    The Black Earth - The Times...

    Philip Kazan

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A HEART-BREAKING LOVE STORY SET DURING THE TURBULENT YEARS OF THE SECOND WORLD WAR AND THE NAZI OCCUPATION OF GREECE 
    1922. Young Zoë Haggitiris is forced to flee with her family during the Turkish invasion of Smyrna. When tragedy strikes in the midst of their escape, Zoë is found floating alone in the icy waters and is rescued by a passing ship. Caught up in a sea of desperate refugees, her life is touched by an English boy, Tom Collyer, before the compassion of a stranger leads her into a new life. 
    1941, Greece. In the chaos of the British retreat, Tom and Zoë are briefly reunited before fate cruelly separates them once more. Tom will discover that the war will not end so easily for either of them and, if they can find their way back to each other, that nothing will ever be the same. 
    ‘Kazan’s rich, sensuous prose is always a pleasure’ Sunday Times
    Show book
  • The Aberrationists - cover

    The Aberrationists

    Ray O’Meara

    • 2
    • 4
    • 0
    High school senior Will Kendrick always saw himself as perfectly average in every way. However, a series of disturbing dreams and a visit from an old acquaintance of his parents changes everything he thought he knew about himself. Ripped from the safety of his suburban home by a stranger, Brandt, Will is thrust into an adventure that will reveal his own hidden past, dark family ties, and a world-threatening darkness that only he can stop.Brandt informs Will not only that the Kendricks are not his birthparents—that Will’s bloodline carries what is known as the Aberration: an ancient demonic strain that gives him superhuman abilities. Brandt and an organization known as the Collective plot to use Will as a weapon against the man who killed his birthparents, Desmond Duquesne. On his journey to confront Duquesne in Boston, Will encounters other “Aberrationists”who have incredible abilities—and agendas—of their own, including the powerful but absent-minded Francis Whitworth, the amoral mind reader Mr. Wisp, and the unstable assassin Candace, who has an ironic fondness for raising the dead.
    Show book
  • Bleeding Darkness - A Stonechild and Rouleau Mystery - cover

    Bleeding Darkness - A Stonechild...

    Brenda Chapman

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    Two murders, fourteen years apart, both shrouded in secrets. 
    
     
    
    David McKenna lies dying in a Kingston hospital, his children gathered from across the country to say a final goodbye. But the family reunion opens old wounds. David’s only daughter, Lauren, never recovered from the unsolved murder of her high school best friend fourteen years earlier — or the suspicion that her brother, Tristan, was behind it. 
     
    
    Before David breathes his last, Tristan’s pregnant wife disappears and the Major Crimes Unit is called in to help find her. With Kala Stonechild struggling to reconnect with her foster niece and Zach Woodhouse making trouble for Staff Sergeant Jacques Rouleau, tensions are running high on the team, but they must put their personal problems aside when a woman’s  strangled body is found frozen on the Rideau Trail. 
     
    
    With a winter storm sweeping the shores of Lake Ontario, the team uncovers unspeakable betrayals that give more than one suspect a reason to kill …
    Show book
  • Risking It All - cover

    Risking It All

    Stephanie Harte

    • 1
    • 10
    • 0
    Gemma is about to risk it all for the man she loves. Will she survive entering into a life of crime? 
     
    Gemma has always been there for Nathan. He's the love of her life and she made a commitment to him, one she'd never consider breaking... until smooth-talking gangster Alfie Watson comes into their lives and changes everything. 
     
    Alfie doesn't care about true love – he wants Gemma, and the gangster always gets what he wants. When Nathan ends up owing him money, Alfie gets payback by recruiting Gemma to carry out a jewellery heist. To everyone's surprise, she's a natural. Until Alfie forgives Nathan's debt, she has no choice but to accompany the gangster on more and more daring heists – even though one slip-up could cost her everything. 
     
    Nathan might have fallen under Alfie's spell, but it doesn't take long for him to realise that he needs to save Gemma from his own mistakes if their marriage is to have any chance of surviving. But when that means taking on the East End's most notorious gangster at his own game, will he find himself up to the challenge? 
     
    Perfect for fans of Kimberley Chambers, Emma Tallon and Jessie Keane.
    Show book