Which book are you going to read today?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Deep Six - cover

Deep Six

Debbi Mack

Publisher: Renegade Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Would you risk your life seeking justice for a friend?
 
Maryland lawyer, Stephanie Ann "Sam" McRae, is strapped for cash, when an old college friend asks her to help a citizens group fight a controversial development.
 
Though loathe to take a zoning case, Sam is persuaded by the unusually high retainer, but the matter becomes personal when Sam finds Linda murdered. Because the citizens group is sharply divided, Sam investigates, needing to keep the client but not sure who to trust.
 
When her investigation reveals a tangled web of lies, political corruption, and double-dealing, the search for Linda's killer puts Sam's own life in danger.
 
REVIEWS AND ENDORSEMENTS
 
"Hooray! Sassy, savvy Sam McRae is back and as determined as ever to see justice done. Deep6  opens with a gripping hook and delivers a carefully paced legal procedural leading to a satisfying, thought-provoking ending. A read you won't want to miss."    -- Donna Fletcher Crow, author of A Newly Crimsoned Reliquary, The Monastery Murders
 
"When a simple zoning case escalates to betrayal and murder, Sam's back is to the wall as she wonders who to trust. When people start dying, she must quickly uncover the truth before becoming one more victim. With long odds against her, Sam desperately navigates a complex web of deceit in this tense action tale."
 
-- Dale T. Phillips, author of A Shadow on the Wall
 
"Debbi Mack is back with another installment of her Sam McRae series. One thing you can always count on from Mack is sharp, realistic dialogue, and in Deep Six, she once again delivers. Sam McRae is a tough lady, but an everywoman, as well. ... From the opening line of this novel to its satisfying ending, Mack delivers a great, gritty, gorgeous mystery."
 
-- Frank Zafiro, author of the River City series
 
"Peppered with snappy, noir-tinted dialogue and Sam's sardonic narration, Deep Six is a perfect whodunit for a cozy night's reading in any season."
 
-- W.D. Gagliani, author of the Nick Lupo series, including the Bram Stoker Award finalist Wolf's Trap

Other books that might interest you

  • Widow's Welcome - cover

    Widow's Welcome

    D.K. Fields

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    There's power in stories. This is a story of power. 
     
    Dead bodies aren't unusual in the alleyways of Fenest, capital of the Union of Realms. Especially not in an election year, when the streets swell with crowds from near and far. Muggings, brawls gone bad, debts collected – Detective Cora Gorderheim has seen it all. Until she finds a Wayward man with his mouth sewn shut. 
     
    His body has been arranged precisely by the killer and left conspicuously, waiting to be found. Cora fears this is not only a murder, but a message. 
     
    As she digs into the dead man's past, she finds herself drawn into the most dangerous event in the Union: the election. In a world where stories win votes, someone has gone to a lot of trouble to silence this man. Who has stopped his story being told? 
     
    _______________________________________________________
     
    'An utterly absorbing tale set in a fascinating world' MICK FINLAY. 
     
    'If you love storytelling, you'll love this' S.J. MORDEN. 
     
    'It's rare to find such a richly imagined world about the art of myth and storytelling' CHRISTOPHER FOWLER. 
     
    'Irresistibly thrilling, weaving together gaslit crime, fantasy and mystery ... I can't wait for more' TIM MAJOR. 
     
    'There is more than meets the eye in this gripping and inventive debut ... Rife with intrigue, deceit and cultural tension' JAMES AITCHESON.
    Show book
  • Dare to Remember: ‘Intriguing and gripping’ a psychological thriller that will bring you to the edge of your seat… - cover

    Dare to Remember: ‘Intriguing...

    Susanna Beard

    • 1
    • 11
    • 0
    'I found myself frantically turning the pages, desperate to uncover what happened' --Tracy Buchanan 
    Reeling from a brutal attack that leaves her best friend dead and her badly injured, Lisa Fulbrook flees to the countryside to recuperate. With only vague memories of the event, she isolates herself from her friends and family, content to spend her days wandering the hills with her dog, Riley. 
    However, Lisa is soon plagued, not only by vivid flashbacks, but questions, too: how did their assailant know them? Why were they attacked? And what really happened that night? 
    As she desperately tries to piece together the memories, Lisa realises that there's another truth still hidden to her, a truth she can't escape from. A truth that may have been right in front of her all along. 
    A clever, sophisticated, psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, S.J. Watson, B A Paris and Sophie Hannah 
    What Reviewers and Readers Say: 
    'Dare to Remember is an intriguing and gripping debut novel. A perceptive exploration of the trauma of losing your best friend' --Rachel Abbott 
    'A tense journey into one woman’s struggle with the aftermath of a vicious attack that killed her best friend. I found myself frantically turning the pages, desperate to uncover what happened on the night of the attack. Susanna Beard is a thought-provoking, skilled debut writer who will no doubt win a new army of thriller fans with this clever novel.' -- Tracy Buchanan 
    'Beautifully taut and controlled writing - gripping all the way through' --Shelley Weiner 
    'Written with care and a deep level of understanding, while simultaneously building up the suspense until you are racing to find out what happened… a great read.' --Sue Fortin, bestselling author of 'The Girl Who Lied' 
    'A taut, compelling read. Full of atmosphere and humanity. Susanna brilliantly portrays through the central character the times in our lives that leave us guilty and emotionless and unable to move forward with purpose. A stunning and confident first novel.' --Sharon Bloom 
    'This is a great exploration into the psychological impact of a traumatic event. I warmed to Lisa immediately and felt every bit of her frustration as she struggled to remember the details of the night she and her best friend were attacked by someone they knew and trusted. It kept me reading into the night as I raced to find out how this twisty, shocking story would end.' --Sam Carrington 
    'A deep and dark look at how we can overcome trauma.' --Keeper of Pages 
    'The narrative is both uplifting and disquieting as Lisa pushes against her past attack, and dares not just to remember, but to hope as well. An impressive debut for Susanna Beard.' --Joy Kluver 
    'Sometimes you pick up a book and after reading only a few pages, you know that this book is going to be a worthy read. This is what happened to me when I picked up Dare to Remember.' --Day Dreamers Thoughts 
    'Susanna Beard unspools the story at just the right pace to keep interest and intrigue.' --Barbara Copperthwaite
    Show book
  • Worst Fears Realized - cover

    Worst Fears Realized

    Stuart Woods

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Not a man to dwell on the past, Stone Barrington has no choice but to rattle old skeletons when the people closest to him start dying, and he has little to go on but the suspicion that the killer might be someone he once knew. The trip down memory lane isn't all bad though, for it reunites Stone with his ex-partner, Dino Bacchetti, now head of detectives in the nineteenth precinct. 
    Trying to find a brilliant killer in a sea of old faces is difficult enough without Stone's former love, Arrington, now Mrs. Vance Calder, resurfacing too—especially when she sets off her own fireworks coming nose to nose with his latest flame, a Mafia princess as beautiful as she is dangerous. 
    Caught on a thrill ride of a case that tests him as none has ever done before, Stone races to find a twisted madman with a taste for blood vengeance, with only a prayer to find him before Stone's worst fears are realized.
    Show book
  • Cosmosis - cover

    Cosmosis

    Rainer Rey

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    • Author: Rey’s contacts in the advertising industry will benefit his promotion of the book; his contacts were invaluable when he self-promoted his previous novels; he arranged for his own interviews on television and radio and appeared on multiple shows. He has appeared in a movie and on television for millions of viewers and has hosted his own TV show.
    
    
    
    • Topics: The energy crisis and discovering renewable energy sources continue to be constant hot topics both domestically and worldwide. Cosmosis will stir public interest with its thorough research and imaginative themes founded on acceptable scientific and historic realities. Earth’s energy crisis may find solutions based on current environmental research of Mars.
    
    
    
    • Tie-In: Turner is rereleasing Rey’s backlist titles, Replicator Run and Day of the Dove, in January 2015 with newly designed covers. Turner is also publishing Rey’s newest release, The Find, in January 2015.
    Show book
  • Naked Flames - cover

    Naked Flames

    Graham Ison

    • 0
    • 10
    • 0
    DCI Harry Brock’s leisurely Saturday afternoon is shattered when he receives the news that Robert Sharp, a charming, good-looking man in his thirties, has been found dead in a suspicious fire in his hut at the Pretext Club, a nudist club near Harrow. 
    
    Besides being a philandering husband, it seems Robert Sharp was a conman on the wanted list of three different constabularies, a chameleon who managed to escape the police’s clutches and justice . . . until now. Plunged into a deadly mix of deception, betrayal and fraud, Harry and his colleague DS Dave Poole soon uncover a number of people with a grudge against Robert, but can they unmask his killer?
    Show book
  • Fear In the Cotswolds - cover

    Fear In the Cotswolds

    Rebecca Tope

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Mystery and intrigue in the beautiful Cotswold countryside. 
    Following a string of disastrous house-sitting assignments, and with troubles in her recent personal life, Thea Osborne is understandably apprehensive about her latest commission: a wintery month in an isolated farmhouse with only an assortment of animals, including her loyal spaniel Hepzie, for company.
    
     
    With the summer lushness of the Cotswolds turned icy grey, Thea spends her first few days exploring the tiny but beautiful hamlet of Hampnett, and the nearby town of Northleach. While discovering more of the surrounding area she meets some of the mysterious local characters: the unappreciated au pair from Bulgaria and the elusive Kate from a neighbouring farm. But then the weather turns extreme, and so do events.
    
     
    When she stumbles across a man lying dead in a snow-filled field, Thea is once again at the heart of a mystery in the gorgeous Cotswold countryside…
    
     
    Exciting and thought-provoking, with a plot which will have readers’ minds working overtime, the latest in the Cotswolds series shows author and heroine on top form once again.
    Show book