Turn 2021 into a year of reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Talk to Me - How to Ask Better Questions Get Better Answers and Interview Anyone Like a Pro - cover

Talk to Me - How to Ask Better Questions Get Better Answers and Interview Anyone Like a Pro

Dean Nelson

Publisher: Harper Perennial

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

From respected journalist, professor, and founder of the Writer's Symposium by the Sea, a book that demystifies the art and science of interviewing, in the vein of On Writing Well or How to Read Literature Like a Professor.  
“Dean Nelson is one of the best interviewers around.”—Anne Lamott 
 
 
Interviewing is the single most important way journalists (and doctors, lawyers, social workers, teachers, human resources staff, and, really, all of us) get information. Yet to many, the perfect interview feels more like luck than skill—a rare confluence of rapport, topic, and timing. But the thing is, great interviews aren’t the result of serendipity and intuition, but rather the result of careful planning and good journalistic habits. And Dean Nelson is here to show you how to nail the perfect interview every time.   
Drawing on forty-years of award-winning journalism and his experience as the founder and host of the Writer’s Symposium by the Sea, Nelson walks readers through each step of the journey from deciding whom to interview and structuring questions, to the nitty gritty of how to use a recording device and effective note-taking strategies, to the ethical dilemmas of interviewing people you love (and loathe). He also includes case studies of famous interviews to show readers how these principles play out in real time.  
Chock full of comprehensive, time-tested, gold-standard advice, Talk to Me is an indispensable guide to the subtle art of the interview guaranteed to afford readers with the skills and confidence they need the next time they say, “talk to me.” 
  
 

Other books that might interest you

  • Instant Voice Training - How to Train Your Voice Instantly! - cover

    Instant Voice Training - How to...

    INSTANT Series

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    How to Train Your Voice Instantly!
     
    In a world...where your voice totally matters - what do you do if you don't have the sexiest voice, the most commanding voice, the most articulate voice...or are simply not happy with the voice you have?
     
    There is a myriad of reasons to why you would want/need to have a better voice, such as...
     
    * You want to be listened to more instead of falling on deaf ears by other people who can't understand you or can't stand the sound of your voice.
     
    * You want to have a better voice for occupational reason if you're a singer, actor, speaker, etc., in order to get ahead professionally.
     
    * You want to have a better voice to attract the ladies or gentlemen and make more friends for a thriving dating and social life.
     
    * You want to overcome speech impairments that are causing you to stutter or mispronounce your words and creating all sorts of problems for you.
     
    * You want to always feel confident knowing you can walk into any room and command attention with a voice that conveys power and is music to people's ears.
     
    Are you familiar with the proverbial saying "it's not what you say, but how you say it" and how your actual words only make up "7% of communication"? Well, your voice makes up a remaining majority of that.
     
    Thus, how you come across to those around you is determined by your voice, even more so than appearance. Have you ever witnessed a person who didn't' have the polished look, but the second they started talking you became in "awe" by the spellbinding sound effect they had...while the opposite could be said for somebody who looked like a million bucks but didn't have the million-bucks voice to go with that appearance.
     
    You certainly can retrain your voice to give it more control in how you want it to sound from tone, pitch, volume, and even accent by doing a series of vocal training exercises.
     
    Within "Instant Voice Training":
     
    * How to bring your voice forward via doing "mouth pull-ups" to unleash your dynamic, vibrant powerful voice.
     
    * How to determine the type of voice you have and the best approach to calibrate it for best utilization.
     
    * How to apply singing techniques to your speaking voice to propel your vocal projection to a whole new level.
     
    * How to practice sustaining sound control when speaking for long periods of time so you don't damage your vocal cords.
     
    * How to perform the breathing muscle "push up/release out" technique to allow more air intake for clearer articulation with resonance.
     
    * Plus, custom practical "how-to" strategies, techniques, applications and exercises on how to improve your voice.
     
    ...and much more.
     
    Imagine being able to go anywhere knowing that you can speak up whenever you want with a voice that people will listen to and accept what you have to say because you're so eloquently articulate. That's what having a golden voice will do for you.
     
    Your voice is the ultimate weapon in your arsenal. It can move mountains.
    Show book
  • Commonly Misspelled And Confused Words (Speedy Study Guides) - cover

    Commonly Misspelled And Confused...

    MDK Publishing

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Knowing the difference between its and it's is important in practicing your writing skills and reading comprehension. This guide provides you with a list of commonly misspelled words and what each actually means. Use this guide to touch the tip of the iceberg of grammar and its many rules. Bring home a copy today.
    Show book
  • English Composition & Style - cover

    English Composition & Style

    Speedy Publishing

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    A study guide on English composition and style helps you to study by assisting in the process of identifying and adhering to a schedule of activity so that the use of your time is maximized. You are presented with a strategic way to formulate specific steps for enhancing and completing a study regimen. You are invited to formulate an intellectual blueprint that acts as an adhesive to bond or a magnet to attract scattered pieces of information that you might have previously acquired. You are thus awarded an opportunity to revisit a productive assessment and to make any necessary adjustments.
    Show book
  • English Verbs - Speedy Study Guides - cover

    English Verbs - Speedy Study Guides

    Speedy Publishing

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    An English verbs study guide can help individuals when studying grammar. By having all the necessary information needed to study in one place, individuals won't need to flip through many pages of notes to figure out all of the verb rules that may need to be memorized. Having all the necessary information in single space will also cut down on study time and lead to greater focus. English is a difficult language with many verb rules and a innumerable amount of irregular verbs. Having a study guide that encompasses all of these verb rules makes learning and understand much easier.
    Show book
  • ESL (English as a Second Language) - (Speedy Study Guides) - cover

    ESL (English as a Second...

    Speedy Publishing

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Teaching a second language, particularly English, can be a challenge if your students have never been exposed to it previously. Here's a quick guide of what you will expect to learn or teach as an ESL student or teacher. Learn about grammar and vocabulary use, as well as the differences between written and spoken English. Grab a copy now.
    Show book
  • English Composition - Speedy Study Guides - cover

    English Composition - Speedy...

    Speedy Publishing

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    There is no doubt about the fact that many of us need a brush up on the English language. However, it may be difficult to enroll in a course to relearn some of the basic rules of the English language when we are occupied with work and family obligations. An English Composition study guide can greatly help a reader to relearn some important rules about the English language, such as how to distinguish grammatical errors, run-on sentences, fragments, and proper techniques of sentence structuring. By reading the English Composition study guide and learning the contents within it, the individual will become a better writer, reader, and speaker.
    Show book