Discover new books each day!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Deer Camp - A Memoir of a Father a Family and the Land that Healed Them - cover

The Deer Camp - A Memoir of a Father a Family and the Land that Healed Them

Dean Kuipers

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

For readers of The Stranger in the Woods and H Is for Hawk, a beautifully written and emotionally rewarding memoir about a father, his three sons, and a scrappy 100-acre piece of land in rural Michigan. 
 
Some families have to dig hard to find the love that holds them together. Some have to grow it out of the ground. 
 
Bruce Kuipers was good at hunting, fishing, and working, but not at much else that makes a real father or husband. Conflicted, angry, and a serial cheater, he destroyed his relationship with his wife, Nancy, and alienated his three sons-journalist Dean, woodsman Brett, and troubled yet brilliant fisherman Joe. He distrusted people and clung to rural America as a place to hide. 
  
 So when Bruce purchased a 100-acre hunting property as a way to reconnect with his sons, they resisted. The land was the perfect bait, but none of them knew how to be together as a family. Conflicts arose over whether the land-an old farm that had been degraded and reduced to a few stands of pine and blowing sand-should be left alone or be actively restored. After a decade-long impasse, Bruce acquiesced, and his sons proceeded with their restoration plan. What happened next was a miracle of nature. 
  
 Dean Kuipers weaves a beautiful and surprising story about the restorative power of land and of his own family, which so desperately needed healing. Heartwarming and profound, The Deer Camp is the perfect story of fathers, sons, and the beauty and magic of the natural world.

Other books that might interest you

  • Think Little - Essays - cover

    Think Little - Essays

    Wendell Berry

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The first in the new Counterpoints series, Think Little is an evergreen, ever-urgent, and now pocket-sized argument for focused and inclusive climate change activism
    Designed and priced for point-of-sale, the Counterpoints series will feature essays, poems, and stories from Wendell Berry, Gary Snyder, Mary Robison, Betty Fussell, MFK Fisher, and many more
    Berry argues that environmental activism and policy change cannot only be a public, large-scale, corporate- and organization-led; instead, changes must happen at the person, individual, and community levels in order for our attempts to slow climate change to be successful. Just as the Civil Rights movement had to become personal, had to be adopted in homes and communities across the country in order to gain momentum and critical mass, so too does environmental activism
    Berry also reminds us that the forces that would exploit people based on their race, gender, and socioeconomic status are the same forces that are content to exploit the earth for its natural resources
    Show book
  • Conscious - A Brief Guide to the Fundamental Mystery of the Mind - cover

    Conscious - A Brief Guide to the...

    Annaka Harris

    • 2
    • 3
    • 0
    NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER 
    "If you’ve ever wondered how you have the capacity to wonder, some fascinating insights await you in these pages.” --Adam Grant, New York Times bestselling author of Originals 
    As concise and enlightening as Seven Brief Lessons on Physics and Astrophysics for People in a Hurry, this mind-expanding dive into the mystery of consciousness is an illuminating meditation on the self, free will, and felt experience. 
    What is consciousness? How does it arise? And why does it exist? We take our experience of being in the world for granted. But the very existence of consciousness raises profound questions: Why would any collection of matter in the universe be conscious? How are we able to think about this? And why should we? 
    In this wonderfully accessible book, Annaka Harris guides us through the evolving definitions, philosophies, and scientific findings that probe our limited understanding of consciousness. Where does it reside, and what gives rise to it? Could it be an illusion, or a universal property of all matter? As we try to understand consciousness, we must grapple with how to define it and, in the age of artificial intelligence, who or what might possess it.  
    Conscious offers lively and challenging arguments that alter our ideas about consciousness—allowing us to think freely about it for ourselves, if indeed we can.
    Show book
  • Pterodroma Petrels - North Atlantic Seabirds - cover

    Pterodroma Petrels - North...

    Bob Flood, Ashley Fisher, Martin...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The second title in the well-received series North Atlantic Seabirds. Utilises the innovative new concept to seabird identification presented in ‘Storm-petrels & Bulwer’s Petrel, the first guide in the series, to identification of Pterodroma Petrels. Endorsed by world leading experts Peter Harrison, Steve N. G. Howell, Killian Mullarney, and Hadoram Shirihai. Covers all Pterodromas known to occur in the North Atlantic, adjacent seas and the Western Palearctic. The only guide with the depth of information needed to identify the more tricky species. Thorough cross-comparison of all species/taxa covered. Original and highly detailed text, over 350 photographs, 40 beautiful illustrations by Martin Elliott, and 11 large format range maps. Two support DVDs available via hyperlink contain at sea footage of all species. Species covered: Trindade Petrel, Kermadec Petrel, Atlantic Petrel, Great-winged Petrel, Bermuda Petrel, Black-capped Petrel, Soft-plumaged Petrel, Cape Verde (Fea’s) Petrel, Desertas (Fea’s) Petrel, and Zino’s Petrel.
    Show book
  • How To Start A Blog in 20 Minutes Your Quick Start Guide to Blogging Making Money and Growing Your Audience - cover

    How To Start A Blog in 20...

    Stephen Scott

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    How would your life change if you could make money doing what you love? 
    The world of blogging makes it possible! 
    And you don’t have to be a seasoned blogger to do so. These days, it’s so easy to start a blog that anyone can do it. How To Start A Blog in 20 Minutes teaches you how! In addition, you’ll learn:How to decide on a blog nicheThe best tools and techniques to get your blog up and running in now timeThe formula for creating fabulous content that will keep your readers coming back for moreHow to turn your passion into profit by monetizing your blogHow to harness the power of social media to grow your blog readership and your earning capacityAnd much more! 
    What are you waiting for? You could be on your way to a happier, simpler, and more prosperous life! Pick up your copy of How To Start A Blog in 20 Minutes today!
    Show book