As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Reproduction of Life Death - Derrida's La vie la mort - cover

The Reproduction of Life Death - Derrida's La vie la mort

Dawne McCance

Publisher: Fordham University Press

  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Based on archival translations of Derrida’s as-yet untapped (1975-76) La vie la mort seminar, McCance’s The Reproduction of Life Death offers an unprecedented study of Derrida’s engagement both with the logic of reproduction held by 1970s molecular biology and genetics and with reproductivity as theorized and performed by Freud in Beyond the Pleasure Principle.

Other books that might interest you

  • Jihad Academy - The Rise of Islamic State - cover

    Jihad Academy - The Rise of...

    Nicolas Hénin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When you keep repeating that the worst is about to happen, it finally does. The threat of terrorism has caught up with us. By invading Iraq in 2003 and not intervening in Syria since 2011, we have helped fuel radicalization. And we continue to fuel it, by making diplomatic compromises with dictators, by refusing to heed the suffering of populations, and by failing to invent counter-speech. What is the responsibility of our societies in the creation of these new jihadists? How are they molded? How have we played the Islamic State's game and spread its propaganda, allowing it to invade our neighborhoods and enlist more and more recruits ready to fight for a distorted fantasy of Islam? Nicolas Hénin presents the case against the West, showing how its mistakes and inaction have contributed to the disaster. He also advances possible strategies to repair what can still be repaired.
    Show book
  • Brainwashed - How Universities Indoctrinate America's Youth - cover

    Brainwashed - How Universities...

    Ben Shapiro

    • 1
    • 42
    • 0
    Brainwashed is the explosive exposé of the leftist agenda at work in today's colleges, revealed by firebrand Ben Shapiro, a recent UCLA gratudate, syndicated columnist, and one of today's most exciting new conservative voices, who's been on the front lines of the battle for America's young minds. This book proves once and for all that so-called higher education continues to sink lower and lower into the depths of liberal madness as close-minded professors turn their students into socialists, atheists, race-baiters, and sex-crazed narcissists. "Ben Shapiro's writing is smart, informative, and incisive.  He is wise byond his years without losing the refreshing fearlessness of youth." ?Ann Coulter, best-selling author of High Crimes and Misdeameanors, Slander, and Treason "In Brainwashed, Shapiro tells the truth?that universities are forums of left-liberal indoctrination, where dissent is discouraged and penalized, with more restrictions on free speech rather any other part of American society. Parents who are paying for tutition might want to take note, and see what their hard-earned money is paying for." ?Michael Barone, U.S. News & World report and co-author of The Almanac of American Politics "Welcome to P.C. 101. In ths trenchant insider's expose, Ben Shapiro bears witness to the modern American campus freak show. You'll get up close and personal with the Marxist loons, moral relativists, multicultural zealots, and American-haters who are corrupting young minds. Brainwahed reveals the ignominious lows to which higher education has sunk. Get deprogrammed.   Buy this book!" ?Michelle Malkin, nationally syndiated columnist and author of Invasion "Sharp thinking, tight writing, crazy-but-true stories:  Ben Shapiro sees campus brainwashing and raises a national protest. This is a good book to give both freshmen who need warning and voters/alumni who need to take action." ?Dr. Marvin Olasky, University of Texas professor and editor-in-chief of World magazine "A worthy successor to God and Man at Yale and Harvard Hates America in exploring the bely of the academic beast." ?David Horowitz, founder of Students for Academic Freedom and author of Radical Son and Left Illusions "What Animal House did for the toga party, Brainwashed should do for American resistance to campus radicalism." ?Rusty Humphries, nationally syndicated radio talk show host
    Show book
  • Blackwatertown - cover

    Blackwatertown

    Paul Waters

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Blackwatertown is atmospheric crime fiction that will appeal to fans of Maurice Leitch, James Ellroy, Andrea Camilleri and Lee Child. 
    Author available for events, talks and signings in the UK and Ireland – and by arrangement elsewhere. 
    Twitter: @paulwaters99 
    Facebook: @paulwatersauthor 
    Instagram: @paul_waters_author
    Show book
  • Primetime Propaganda - The True Hollywood Story of How the Left Took Over Your TV - cover

    Primetime Propaganda - The True...

    Ben Shapiro

    • 0
    • 26
    • 0
    “Vitally important, devastatingly thorough, and shockingly revealing…. After reading Primetime Propaganda, you’ll never watch TV the same way again.”—Mark Levin 
    Movie critic Michael Medved calls Ben Shapiro, “One of our most refreshing and insightful voices on the popular culture, as well as a conscience for his much-maligned generation.” With Primetime Propaganda, the syndicated columnist and bestselling author of Brainwashed, Porn Generation, and Project President tells the shocking true story of how the most powerful medium of mass communication in human history became a vehicle for spreading the radical agenda of the left side of the political spectrum. Similar to what Bernard Goldberg’s Bias and A Slobbering Love Affair did for the liberal news machine, Shapiro’s Primetime Propaganda is an essential exposé of corrupting media bias, pulling back the curtain on widespread and unrepentant abuses of the Hollywood entertainment industry.
    Show book
  • Mind Hacking - How to Change Your Mind Become a Master of Your Emotions Achieve the Goals You Want & Start Living to Your Full Potential - cover

    Mind Hacking - How to Change...

    Tiffany Adams

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Are you sick and tired of watching your life pass you by? Pay close attention here, because the life of your dreams is closer than you might think…
     
    We've all been there, life is overwhelming, complicated, confusing, and yes, within it all you still seemingly have all that a person should ever need to feel happy and fulfilled.
     
    But for some reason, you just don't feel this way.
     
    Hours spent trying to figure it out, to no avail. Days and weeks, even months on end of you trying technique after technique and personal growth tactic after personal growth tactic - but still nothing.
     
    There's an emptiness inside of you that you can't seem to escape and no matter what you do, it just seems to keep getting worse.
     
    If this sounds eerily familiar to you, I'd like you to take a moment with me here as we acknowledge together that it doesn't have to be this way.
     
    You can have the life of your dreams. You can master your emotions and you can begin honestly living to your fullest potential.
     
    Or maybe none of the above resonates with you at all, maybe you love your life and are simply trying to upgrade the way your mind functions.
     
    In either case, the answer to a life of fulfillment, gratitude, and undeniable happiness protruding from every pore of your being is simply this - you need to understand your mind.
     
    Once you understand it, you can hack it. You can change your mind in whatever fashion you like, and begin thinking however you want to think, about whatever you want to think about.
     
    In Mind Hacking, you'll discover:
     
    - The groundbreaking truth of your emotions and how they affect your thought patterns
     
    - The most straightforward guide to facing your emotional triggers and rewriting your thought process loops that is out there
     
    - Powerful tools for separating yourself from your mind
     
    - How to make a S.M.A.R.T. plan and keep yourself on track with P.A.C.T.
     
    - The ultimate guide to reading someone's mind
     
    - An idiotproof path to rebuilding self-worth
     
    - The stunning science behind Mind Hacking
     
    - The most important things not to do when rewriting your brain, saving you valuable time and energy
     
    … and so much more.
     
    Mind Hacking is the #1 guide to understanding your mind and your emotions so that you can navigate your life in any direction you want.
     
    No more wondering if it's possible, no more daydreaming of a future where things might get easier. No more of this comparing yourself to others and feeling incomplete as a result.
     
    A life of achievement, one where all of your goals and aspirations are a complete and total reality is not the stuff of fiction here folks.
     
    It is yours for the taking - if you would understand your mind and begin to actively take back control.
     
    If you want to leave behind all the nonsense dreaming and instead place yourself inside your fullest potential then check out this guidebook right now.
    Show book
  • The Arab Winter - A Tragedy - cover

    The Arab Winter - A Tragedy

    Noah Feldman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A New York Times Book Review Editors’ ChoiceWhy the conventional wisdom about the Arab Spring is wrongThe Arab Spring promised to end dictatorship and bring self-government to people across the Middle East. Yet everywhere except Tunisia it led to either renewed dictatorship, civil war, extremist terror, or all three. In The Arab Winter, Noah Feldman argues that the Arab Spring was nevertheless not an unmitigated failure, much less an inevitable one. Rather, it was a noble, tragic series of events in which, for the first time in recent Middle Eastern history, Arabic-speaking peoples took free, collective political action as they sought to achieve self-determination.Focusing on the Egyptian revolution and counterrevolution, the Syrian civil war, the rise and fall of ISIS in Syria and Iraq, and the Tunisian struggle toward Islamic constitutionalism, Feldman provides an original account of the political consequences of the Arab Spring, including the reaffirmation of pan-Arab identity, the devastation of Arab nationalisms, and the death of political Islam with the collapse of ISIS. He also challenges commentators who say that the Arab Spring was never truly transformative, that Arab popular self-determination was a mirage, and even that Arabs or Muslims are less capable of democracy than other peoples.Above all, The Arab Winter shows that we must not let the tragic outcome of the Arab Spring disguise its inherent human worth. People whose political lives had been determined from the outside tried, and for a time succeeded, in making politics for themselves. That this did not result in constitutional democracy or a better life for most of those affected doesn't mean the effort didn't matter. To the contrary, it matters for history—and it matters for the future.
    Show book