Enjoy 2020 without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Three British Mystery Novels - cover

Three British Mystery Novels

David Stuart Davies, Thomas Browne, Nikki Dudley

Publisher: Sparkling Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Three British Mystery Novels: detective, thriller and (mild) horror set in Britain by British authors.
 
Lynnwood, by Thomas Brown, set in the New Forest, was listed for the 2014 People’s Book Prize;A Taste for Blood, set in and around London, by the acclaimed Sherlock Holmes expert David Stuart Davies;Ellipsis, set in London, a psychological thriller by Nikki Dudley.
 
Three great reads, for those who like to wrap their minds round unusual plots. Presented in one e-book bundle.
 
Lynnwood, by Thomas Brown, was a finalist in the People's Book Prize
 
The unthinkable is happening in Lynnwood – a village with centuries of guilt on its conscience.
 
Who wouldn’t want to live in an idyllic village in the English countryside like Lynnwood? With its charming pub, old dairy, friendly vicar, gurgling brooks, and  its old paths with memories of simpler times.But behind the conventional appearance of Lynnwood’s villagers, only two sorts of people crawl out of the woodwork: those who hunt and those who are prey. Visitors are watched by an entity between the trees where the Dark Ages have endured to the twenty-first century. Families who have lived behind stone walls and twitching curtains know that the gusts of wind blowing through the nearby alluring Forest bring with them a stench of delightful hunger only Lynnwood can appease.
 
A Taste for Blood, by David Stuart Davies
 
Two plots running parallel... you won't see what's coming
 
Two laser-sharp detectives, two thought-provoking cases and two skilful plots.
 
Featuring private investigator Johnny (One Eye) Hawke, and his one-time colleague in the police force Detective David Llewellyn. Llewellyn is investigating the chilling crimes of a top psychiatrist and his scheming patient who the doctor believes has knuckled under his authority. In the meantime, Hawke is on the case of a mysterious suicide in Edgware Road... soon discovered as not your average suicide.
 
The guts and insight of the two investigators bring both cases to a head - though you won't even begin to see how until you have turned the last pages.
 
Ellipsis, by Nikki Dudley
 
"Right on time," Daniel Mansen mouths to Alice as she pushes him to his death. Haunted by these words, Alice becomes obsessed with discovering how a man she didn't know could predict her actions. On the day of the funeral, Daniel's cousin, Thom, finds a piece of paper in Daniel's room detailing the exact time and place of his death.
 
As Thom and Alice both search for answers, they become knotted together in a story of obsession, hidden truths and the gaps in everyday life that can destroy or save a person.
 
Ellipsis is a disturbing thriller stemming from what is left unsaid, what bounces around in the mind and evaporates when trying to remember. Can there be a conclusion when no-one seems to know the truth?

Other books that might interest you

  • Common People - An Anthology of Working-Class Writers - cover

    Common People - An Anthology of...

    Kit de Waal

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Common People is the latest campaigning anthology from the publisher of bestsellers The Good Immigrant (70k copies sold to date) and Repeal the 8th.It features original work from some of our best-known writers: Kit De Waal, Malorie Blackman, Lisa McInerney, Cathy Rentzenbrink, Stuart Maconie, Louise Doughty, Damian Barr and Daljit Nagra among others.Kit de Waal’s debut novel, My Name is Leon, was an international bestseller. It won Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year 2017 and was shortlisted for the Costa First Book Award, the Desmond Elliott Prize and the British Book Awards 2017 Best Debut Book of the Year.Kit is one of the UK’s most prominent voices calling for inclusivity and working-class representation in the arts, and has established a creative writing scholarship at Birkbeck University.Almost half of all authors, writers and
    translators in the UK come from professional, middle-class backgrounds,
    compared with just 10 per cent of those from working-class backgrounds. This
    anthology addresses that pressing imbalance.There will be events across the UK on publication, including all the major literary festivals.For fans of The Good Immigrant, Know Your Place: Essays on the Working Class by the Working Class, Brit(ish) by Afua Hirsch.
    Show book
  • Of Gods and Men - 100 Stories from Ancient Greece and Rome - cover

    Of Gods and Men - 100 Stories...

    Daisy Dunn

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    Daisy Dunn offers a deeply researched collection of stories reflecting the eclectic richness and depth of the classical literary canon. 
     
    Striking a balance between the 'classic classic' (such as Dryden's translation of the Aeneid) and the less familiar or expected, Of Gods and Men ranges from the epic poetry of Homer to the histories of Arrian and Diodorus Siculus and the sprawling Theogony of Hesiod; from the tragedies of Aeschylus and Euripides to the biographies of Suetonius and Plutarch and the pen portraits of Theophrastus; and from the comedies of Plautus to the the fictions of Petronius and Apuleius. 
     
    Of Gods and Men is embellished by translations from writers as diverse as Queen Elizabeth I (Boethius), Percy Bysshe Shelley (Plato), Walter Pater (Apuleius's Golden Ass), Lawrence of Arabia (Homer's Odyssey), Louis MacNeice (Aeschylus's Agamemnon) and Ted Hughes (Ovid's Pygmalion), as well as a number of accomplished translations by Daisy herself.
    Show book
  • Bertrand Russell: The Works - cover

    Bertrand Russell: The Works

    Bertrand Russell

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Russell led the British "revolt against idealism" in the early 20th century. He is considered one of the founders of analytic philosophy along with his predecessor Gottlob Frege, colleague G. E. Moore, and his protégé Ludwig Wittgenstein. He is widely held to be one of the 20th century's premier logicians. Russell was an anti-war activist; he went to prison for his pacifism during World War I. Later, he campaigned against Adolf Hitler, then criticised Stalinist totalitarianism, attacked the involvement of the United States in the Vietnam War. In 1950 Russell was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature. The Books: The Problems of Philosophy [1912] Mysticism and Logic and Other Essays [1914] Our Knowledge of the External World As a Field for Scientific Method In Philosophy [1914] Political Ideals [1917] Proposed Roads To Freedom [1918] The Practice and Theory of Bolshevism [1920] The Analysis of Mind [1921] Free Thought and Official Propaganda [1922] The Problem of China [1922]
    Show book
  • Look What You made Me Do - Fathers Who Kill - cover

    Look What You made Me Do -...

    Megan Norris

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    One Australian woman is hospitalised every three hours and two more lose their lives each week as a result of family violence. But for some women there is a punishment more enduring than injury or their own death.
     
     This book is a timely exploration into the evil done by vengeful fathers who kill their own flesh and blood in order to punish wives who have chosen to end abusive relationships.
     
    Focussing on seven different but equally harrowing cases of ‘spousal revenge’, author  Megan Norris draws on her own observations as a former court and crime reporter, examining the murders of thirteen innocent children who became collateral damage in callous crimes committed by angry dads whose real targets were the children’s mothers.
     
    From the harrowing 1993 kidnap and murder of three-year-old Kelly East in WA, to the chilling murder of Darcey Freeman whose dad hurled her from Melbourne’s West Gate Bridge in 2009, these stories highlight the chilling connection between intimate partner abuse and retaliatory homicide. 
     
    They show it’s not only mothers who are in danger when domestic violence turns deadly.
    Show book
  • Little Women - cover

    Little Women

    Louisa May Alcott

    • 1
    • 11
    • 0
    Meg is the eldest and on the brink of love. Then there's tomboy Jo who longs to be a writer. Sweet-natured Beth always puts others first, and finally there's Amy, the youngest and most precocious. Together they are the March sisters. Even though money is short, times are tough and their father is away at war, their infectious sense of fun sweeps everyone up in their adventures — including Laurie, the boy next door. And through sisterly squabbles, their happy times and sad ones too, the sisters discover that growing up is sometimes very hard to do.
    Based on Louisa May Alcott's childhood, this lively portrait of nineteenth-century family life possesses a lasting vitality that has endeared it to generations of readers.
    
    A wonderful story... As a child, I strongly identified with Jo because she is a writer. —Jacqueline Wilson
    The American female myth. —Madelon Bedell
    It is an essential American novel, perhaps the essential American novel for girls… Girls come to it on their own. —Jane Smiley
    In "Little Women", Alcott anticipated realism by twenty or thirty years. —G. K. Chesterton
    Show book
  • Chasing the Scream - The First and Last Days of the War on Drugs - cover

    Chasing the Scream - The First...

    Johann Hari

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    The New York Times Bestseller 
    The Book Behind the Viral TED Talk 
     
    For the first time, the startling full story of the disastrous war on drugs--propelled by moving human stories, revolutionary insight into addiction, and fearless international reporting. 
     
    What if everything you think you know about addiction is wrong? One of Johann Hari's earliest memories is of trying to wake up one of his relatives and not be able to. As he grew older, he realized he had addiction in his family. Confused, unable to know what to do, he set out on a three-year, 30,000-mile journey to discover what really causes addiction--and what really solves it. 
     
    He uncovered a range of remarkable human stories--of how the war on drugs began with Billie Holiday, the great jazz singer, being stalked and killed by a racist policeman; of the scientist who discovered the surprising key to addiction; and of the countries that ended their war on drugs--with extraordinary results. 
     
    His discoveries led him to give a TED talk and animation which have now been viewed more than 25 million times. This is the story of a life-changing journey that showed the world the opposite of addiction is connection.
    Show book