Don't put off till tomorrow the book you can read today!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
A Taste for Blood - cover

A Taste for Blood

David Stuart Davies

Publisher: Sparkling Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The sixth novel in the Detective Johnny (One Eye) Hawke series.
 
Two laser-sharp detectives, two thought-provoking cases and two skilful plots.Featuring private investigator Johnny (One Eye) Hawke, and his one-time colleague in the police force Detective David Llewellyn. Llewellyn is investigating the chilling crimes of a top psychiatrist and his scheming patient who the doctor believes has knuckled under his authority. In the meantime, Hawke is on the case of a mysterious suicide in Edgware Road... soon discovered as not your average suicide.
 
The guts and insight of the two investigators bring both cases to a head - though you won't even begin to see how until you have turned the last pages.
 
Review:
 
“This is a delightful read because you are not quite sure what will happen and you are hooked enough to keep on reading. Enjoyable.”  – J Robert Ewbank, author

Other books that might interest you

  • The Pumilio Child - cover

    The Pumilio Child

    Judy McInerney

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Ya Ling’s cultured life of privilege in Beijing is cruelly cut short when she is abducted and shipped to the slave market in Venice. When Mantegna sees her chained to a post, his initial intention is to paint her exotic beauty, but he soon he desires her company for pleasures of a more private nature. Ya Ling has two ambitions, to ruin Mantegna, then to escape back to her family in China. However, Mantegna’s latest commission, two huge frescos for the ruling Gonzaga family, make him invincible. 
    Will Ya Ling survive? And can she succeed?
    Show book
  • Ring In the Dead - A J P Beaumont Novella - cover

    Ring In the Dead - A J P...

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    J. P. Beaumont may be an old homicide hand now, but back when he was a rookie working with his first partner, Milton Gurkey—a.k.a. Pickles—things took a turn for the worse . . . 
    One day, at the end of Beaumont and Pickles's shift, a stop at the Doghouse restaurant quickly turns deadly. Not feeling well, Pickles steps out into the parking lot for a breath of fresh air and stumbles into a crime in progress. Suffering from a heart attack, he is found unconscious, with a dead woman on the ground nearby and the murder weapon in his hand. 
    With Pickles under investigation from Internal Affairs, it's up to the new kid on the block, J. P. Beaumont, and his friends on the force to find out the truth.
    Show book
  • Under the Ice - The unputdownable thriller for spring 2019 - cover

    Under the Ice - The...

    Rachael Blok

    • 2
    • 5
    • 0
    'Twisty, atmospheric and haunting ... I devoured this thriller in one tense sitting' ERIN KELLY.  
     
    It is the week before Christmas and the cathedral city of St Albans is blanketed by snow. But beneath the festive lights, darkness is stirring. The frozen body of a young girl is discovered by the ice-covered lake. 
     
    The police scramble for clues. A local woman, Jenny, has had visions of what happened the night of the murder. But Jenny is an exhausted new mother, whose midnight wanderings pull her ever closer to the lake. Can Jenny be trusted? What does she really know? 
     
    Then another girl goes missing, and the community unravels. Neighbour turns against neighbour, and Jenny has no idea who to believe. As Christmas Eve approaches, Jenny discovers a secret about her past – and why she could be key to everything... 
     
    PRAISE FOR UNDER THE ICE: 
     
    'Twisty, atmospheric and haunting ... I devoured this thriller in one tense sitting' Erin Kelly. 
     
    'An outstanding debut, so atmospheric it made me literally shiver' Angela Clarke. 
     
    'A fantastically evocative book that twists you expertly up in the world of its vivid characters, making you feel the unfolding plot blow by blow' Gytha Lodge. 
     
    'Packed with atmosphere, suspense and a cold that chills the heart. Under the Ice announces Rachael Blok as an exciting new voice in crime fiction' Lesley Thomson. 
     
    'A lyrical, haunting thriller that's impossible to put down ... Under the Ice will get under your skin' J.S. Monroe.
    Show book
  • Bridge of Sighs - cover

    Bridge of Sighs

    Priscilla Masters

    • 0
    • 11
    • 0
    Two violent suicides leave Coroner Martha Gunn with some disturbing questions to answer – but the most difficult one of all lies closer to home . . . Gina Marconi was a beautiful young barrister with everything to live for – a loving fiancé, a young son and a successful career. So why did she leave her home in the middle of the night and drive her car into a stone wall? Soon afterwards, Patrick Elson, a clever twelve-year-old schoolboy, jumps off a bridge on to the A5. The victims are unrelated, but neither suicide makes sense. Could there be a connection? Then there’s a third unexplained death: DI Alex Randall’s wife, Erica. With Alex on gardening leave pending an investigation, Martha must search for answers to the questions raised by the suicides on her own. Not only that, she must confront the most difficult question of all: could Alex Randall be a murderer?
    Show book
  • Hit List - cover

    Hit List

    Jack McSporran

    • 5
    • 66
    • 0
    A major security breach. Blackmail. A list of names with deadly consequences.When her old agency is hacked by an elusive crime syndicate, ex-secret agent Maggie Black is enjoying the carefree life of a civilian. Then she learns the names of the agency’s agents, past and present, are being leaked by the hackers, one-by-one, until their notorious boss is released from prison.
     
    With the government refusing to negotiate with the blackmailers, Maggie is forced out of retirement and dragged back into the perilous life of espionage she swore to leave behind. Her name is on that list, as well as those she cares about most.
     
    As the bodies of agents begin to pile up, Maggie risks it all to hunt down the hackers. From the war-torn streets of Somalia to the seedy red-light district of Amsterdam, Maggie must race against time before her dark past ruins any chance at a future.HIT LIST is the second exhilarating adventure in the Maggie Black thriller series, and the perfect read for fans of Lee Child and James Patterson.
     
    Get your copy of HIT LIST today and delve into the sequel of the binge-worthy series everyone is talking about.
    Show book
  • Taking the Fifth - cover

    Taking the Fifth

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “J.A. Jance does not disappoint.”—Washington Times The Chattanooga Times calls New York Times bestselling author J.A. Jance, “One of the best—if not the best,” and this classic suspense masterwork featuring Seattle investigator J.P. Beaumont emphatically proves the point. In Taking the Fifth, a gruesome and very unusual murder plunges the intrepid Beau into a lethal cinematic nightmare. Michigan’s Flint Journal places Jance “in the elite company of Sue Grafton and Patricia Cornwell.” Taking the Fifth, now in a Premium Plus edition, is an ideal opportunity for fans of the author’s Sheriff Joanna Brady books to discover another side to the incomparable J.A. Jance.
    Show book