Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
A Taste for Blood - cover

A Taste for Blood

David Stuart Davies

Publisher: Sparkling Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The sixth novel in the Detective Johnny (One Eye) Hawke series.
 
Two laser-sharp detectives, two thought-provoking cases and two skilful plots.Featuring private investigator Johnny (One Eye) Hawke, and his one-time colleague in the police force Detective David Llewellyn. Llewellyn is investigating the chilling crimes of a top psychiatrist and his scheming patient who the doctor believes has knuckled under his authority. In the meantime, Hawke is on the case of a mysterious suicide in Edgware Road... soon discovered as not your average suicide.
 
The guts and insight of the two investigators bring both cases to a head - though you won't even begin to see how until you have turned the last pages.
 
Review:
 
“This is a delightful read because you are not quite sure what will happen and you are hooked enough to keep on reading. Enjoyable.”  – J Robert Ewbank, author

Other books that might interest you

  • Detective - cover

    Detective

    Arthur Hailey

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    A death row confession propels a homicide detective into an investigation that will tear Miami apart in #1 New York Times–bestselling author Arthur Hailey’s electrifying thriller Detective-Sergeant Malcolm Ainslie, a former Catholic priest, is about to start his vacation when a call comes in from death row. Before serial killer Elroy Doil is taken to the electric chair, he wants to make a full confession to the cop who put him away. To close the books on additional murder cases in which Doil is a suspect, Ainslie drives four hundred miles to Florida State Prison.   Although Doil confesses to ten other homicides, he insists that he didn’t commit the crime for which he will be executed the following day: the grisly slaying of a city commissioner and his wife. In his search for the real killer, Ainslie will discover that the upper levels of Miami’s government—including some of his closest colleagues—are more corrupt and dangerous than he ever imagined.
    Show book
  • Murder in Mesopotamia - A Hercule Poirot Mystery - cover

    Murder in Mesopotamia - A...

    Agatha Christie

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Suspicious events at a Middle Eastern archaeological excavation site intrigue the great Hercule Poirot as he investigates Murder in Mesopotamia, a classic murder mystery from Agatha Christie. 
    Amy Leatheram has never felt the lure of the mysterious East, but when she travels to an ancient site deep in the Iraqi desert to nurse the wife of a celebrated archaeologist, events prove stranger than she could ever have imagined. Her patient's bizarre visions and nervous terror seem unfounded, but as the oppressive tension in the air thickens, events come to a terrible climax--in murder. 
     
    With one spot of blood as his only clue, Hercule Poirot must embark on a journey not just across the desert, but into the darkest crevices of the human soul to unravel a mystery which taxes even his remarkable powers.  
     
    Show book
  • A Darker Shade of Sweden - Original Stories by Sweden's Greatest Crime Writers - cover

    A Darker Shade of Sweden -...

    Henning Mankell, Henning Nesser,...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Ever since Stieg Larsson shone a light on the brilliance of Swedish crime writing with his acclaimed and bestselling Girl With the Dragon Tattoo trilogy, readers around the world have devoured fiction by some of the greatest masters of the genre. In this landmark and unique publication, Sweden’s most distinguished and best-loved crime writers have contributed stories to an anthology that promises to sate the desire to read about the dark side of Sweden.Containing seventeen stories, never before published in English, A Darker Shade of Sweden illuminates this beguiling country and its inhabitants as never before. Included are stories from such Swedish literary luminaries as:• Stieg Larsson• Henning Mankell• Åsa Larsson• Eva Gabrielsson
    Show book
  • Shadow of a Dark Queen - cover

    Shadow of a Dark Queen

    Raymond E. Feist

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    “An epic reading experience.”—San Diego Union-Tribune Acclaimed, New York Times bestselling fantasist Raymond E. Feist gets his masterful Serpentwar Saga off to a spectacular start with Shadow of a Dark Queen. Feist’s classic epic fantasy adventure returns readers to ever-imperiled Midkemia, a breathtaking, richly imagined realm of magic and intrigue, where two unlikely heroes must rally the forces of the land to stand firm against a malevolent race of monsters intent upon conquest and annihilation. Locus magazine calls Shadow of a Dark Queen, “the place to start for those yet to discover Feist’s fantasy worlds.” For fans of Terry Goodkind, George R. R. Martin, and Terry Brooks—and for anyone not already in the  thrall of this astonishing author’s literary magic—that is excellent advice indeed.
    Show book
  • Still Dead - A JP Beaumont Novella - cover

    Still Dead - A JP Beaumont Novella

    J. A. Jance

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Since the disbanding of the Special Homicide Investigation Team, J. P. Beaumont’s biggest concern is pondering whether he and his wife Mel should finally get a dog. But one voicemail from his old friend Ralph Ames is about to change that. Through Ralph, Beau has become involved in an organization called The Last Chance, which enlists a number of retired homicide investigators to tackle long-unsolved cold cases. The one that has just landed on Beau’s plate is a thirty-year-old missing persons case. 
    The facts are muddy at best; Janice Marie Harrison’s car was found abandoned near a bridge, and scratched in the dirt nearby was the word “sorry.” It’s possible her death was a suicide, but her body was never found. And as Beau begins to investigate, he discovers that no one connected to Janice—not her once-all-star football player widower, Anders; not her long-grieving sister, Estelle; not sheriff Gavin Loper, who was deputy sheriff at the time of Janice’s disappearance; and not Anders’s second wife Betsy—is exactly what they seem. The question is, which of them knows the truth? 
    And why have they kept it buried? 
    Included with this short story is a sneak peek at the next J. P. Beaumont novel, Proof of Life
    Show book
  • The G-String Murders - cover

    The G-String Murders

    Craig Rice

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    It’s a killer bump and grind for Gypsy Rose Lee, the Queen of Burlesque, in this “rich and lusty” bestselling mystery (Life).   Strippers gotta have a gimmick, but being strangled to death is a pretty short-lived stunt. Ask class-A headliner Gypsy Rose Lee. The ecdysiast extraordinaire has just found sewer-mouthed Burly Q tart Lolita La Verne in the dressing room with a rhinestone G-string wrapped tight around her freshly powdered neck. It’s enough to give a decent dame the shakes.   It’s also casting a hot-pink spotlight on a roster of suspects including Dynamic Dolly, notorious for her backstage brawls. Not to mention the loitering thugs, oily managers, frustrated sugar daddies, and any number of low-end Times Square artistes looking for a bump up on the bill. But when La Verne is only the first runway quiver-girl to get wrung out, it’s up Gypsy to put the moves on the killer—and fast. She’s feeling pretty exposed herself right now.   Adapted into Lady of Burlesque, the 1943 film starring Barbara Stanwyck, The G-String Murders remains “a lurid, witty, and highly competent detective story . . . that builds up to a hair-raising climax” (Time).  
    Show book