Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
A Taste for Blood - cover

A Taste for Blood

David Stuart Davies

Publisher: Sparkling Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The sixth novel in the Detective Johnny (One Eye) Hawke series.
 
Two laser-sharp detectives, two thought-provoking cases and two skilful plots.Featuring private investigator Johnny (One Eye) Hawke, and his one-time colleague in the police force Detective David Llewellyn. Llewellyn is investigating the chilling crimes of a top psychiatrist and his scheming patient who the doctor believes has knuckled under his authority. In the meantime, Hawke is on the case of a mysterious suicide in Edgware Road... soon discovered as not your average suicide.
 
The guts and insight of the two investigators bring both cases to a head - though you won't even begin to see how until you have turned the last pages.
 
Review:
 
“This is a delightful read because you are not quite sure what will happen and you are hooked enough to keep on reading. Enjoyable.”  – J Robert Ewbank, author
 
“Johnny Hawke breathes new life into the traditional British mystery. He’s a hero with a heart.” ‒ Val McDermid
 
“A well crafted thriller that had me gripped from the first chapter. I tend to be a fussy reader who is easily bored with so called thrillers that fail to live up to their billing. A Taste for Blood far exceeded expectations with its carefully crafted plotting and characterization. So good were these that it encouraged me to read the novel a second time.
 
“I had not read any of David Stuart Davies but now am eagerly waiting his next titles. Comparisons my be made with other novels in this genre such as Silence of the Lambs but Davies has produced a work that whilst being less extreme becomes more fearful through its naturalness.
 
“I wholeheartedly recommend David Stuart Davies to those who enjoy a good read.” ‒ Alan Semmens, Educator, UK.
Available since: 07/01/2013.
Print length: 208 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Cold as Ice - cover

    Cold as Ice

    Julie Mulhern

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Ellison Russell's life resembles a rollercoaster ride. And rollercoasters make her ill. Her daughter Grace has a crush on a boy Ellison doesn't trust and she's taken to hosting wild parties when Ellison goes out for the evening. Worse, the bank which represents Grace's inheritance from her father may be in trouble.When a meeting with the chef at the country club leads to the discovery of a body, Ellison can't afford cold feet. She must save the bank, find the killer, and convince Grace (and herself) that powerful women don't need men to rescue them.
    Show book
  • King Peso - An Emilia Cruz Novel - cover

    King Peso - An Emilia Cruz Novel

    Carmen Amato

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    More than any other cop in Acapulco, Emilia Cruz has reason to be shaken by the execution-style murders of three law enforcement officers in as many weeks. When her partner Franco Silvio's wife is killed, it's obvious to Emilia that the murders are connected and she could be the cop killer's next target.She expects to join a task force to investigate but is reassigned instead. Her new police unit is a political time bomb championed by Acapulco's ambitious mayor and overseen by a shady union strongman. Corruption and paranoia rule the day.Home is no refuge for Emilia; hotel manager Kurt Rucker has a shocking secret that could tear their relationship apart.A falsified report leads Emilia to conduct a private investigation, even as a fifth victim is left as a stark message on Emilia's doorstep. Unexpected help comes from a frightened attorney and a famous movie star, but each new clue unravels the one before. Meanwhile, Emilia's ongoing hunt for a missing girl leads to the infamous El Pharaoh casino, a place she and Silvio know only too well.When the chips are down, Emilia has only two choices: hold or fold.Either could cost her life. Which would you choose?
    Show book
  • The Darkest Hours - cover

    The Darkest Hours

    Margaret Murphy

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Two women are missing already, snatched by a prowler in the night. Brilliant psychologist Christine Radcliffe fears she may be next—or at least that’s what she tells Detective Alan Jameson. But Jameson already has the prime suspect in his sights, and it’s someone much closer to Christine than she wants to admit. Who is she protecting? Meticulously crafted to deliver twist after breathtaking twist, this book was originally published as The Desire of the Moth and is the perfect page-turner for fans of A.J. Rivers, Kendra Elliott, Ragnar Jónasson, Louise Penny, Melinda Leigh, Rachel Caine, K.L. Slater, D.S. Butler, and Rachel Abbott.
    Show book
  • The Unlikely Spy - The Gareth & Gwen Medieval Mysteries - cover

    The Unlikely Spy - The Gareth &...

    Sarah Woodbury

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Murder and music lead to mayhem in medieval Wales in the fifth Gareth & Gwen Medieval Mystery … 
    August 1146. Prince Hywel has called all the bards of Wales to him for a music festival to mark the third anniversary of his rule over Ceredigion. He has invited all the lords of Wales too, including his father, his uncle, and his neighbor to the south, King Cadell. But with the highborn also come the low: thieves, spies, and other hangers-on. And when a murderer strikes as the festival starts, Gareth and Gwen are charged with discovering his identity - before the death of a peasant shakes the throne of a king. 
    The Unlikely Spy is the fifth Gareth & Gwen Medieval Mystery.
    Show book
  • But Knot For Me - cover

    But Knot For Me

    Betty Hechtman

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In a new Yarn Retreat Mystery from nationally bestselling author Betty Hechtman, Casey Feldstein has to face down a self-help guru who may have helped himself to murder . . . When a charismatic life coach and his devoted followers descend on Vista Del Mar, Casey Feldstein and the yarn retreat group she's hosting literally get pushed aside, out of sight and out of mind of the struggling participants seeking enlightenment. But Casey can't help overhearing the rancorous argument between two members of the guru's staff, and when one of them turns up dead after ingesting poisonous mushrooms, Casey finds herself tangled up in a murder investigation while the self-help group looks on helplessly.With rumors swirling that the victim was having an affair with the group's leader and a host of potential suspects among her own eccentric yarn retreat group, Casey can only knit her brow at the complexity of the case. And when another staff member turns up dead and Casey narrowly escapes an early demise of her own, she knows she'll have to unravel the clues quickly to catch a killer who may be feeling more empowered than even the guru intended . . .
    Show book
  • 22 Dead Little Bodies and Other Stories - cover

    22 Dead Little Bodies and Other...

    Stuart MacBride

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    From the No. 1 bestselling author of THE MISSING AND THE DEAD comes the short novel: 22 DEAD LITTLE BODIES, plus two short stories: STRAMASH and DI STEEL'S BAD HEIR DAY, and a novella: THE 45% HANGOVER, all featuring his most popular characters - DS Logan McRae and DCI Roberta Steel.				 
    					They say ‘small is beautiful’, but as Stuart MacBride demonstrates in these four tales, it can also be dark, violent, disturbing, and sometimes really quite rude.								 
    So pour yourself a wee dram, curl up on the sofa and enjoy DS Logan McRae and his sometime boss, friend, mother substitute, and nemesis, DCI Steel at their best.				 
    Here you’ll find Logan’s week from hell; Steel’s own personal nightmare before Christmas; an explosive shootout on a remote Scottish island; and the ultimate test of their relationship…				 
    The thrillers by Stuart MacBride, the Sunday Times bestselling author, are a blend of mystery, suspense, and hard-boiled police procedural. The intricate crime scenes and the detective work of DS Logan McRae and DCI Roberta Steel are truly top-tier.				 
    For fans of Ian Rankin (Standing in Another Man's Grave), Mark Billingham (Cry Baby), and Michael Connelly (The Law of Innocence).
    Show book