Turn 2021 into a year of reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Monty Python Speaks - The Complete Oral History of Monty Python as Told by the Founding Members and a Few of Their Many Friends and Collaborators - cover

Monty Python Speaks - The Complete Oral History of Monty Python as Told by the Founding Members and a Few of Their Many Friends and Collaborators

David Morgan

Publisher: Dey Street Books

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

With a Foreword by John Oliver, host of Last Week Tonight 
In celebration of the 50th anniversary of its BBC debut, a revised and updated edition of the complete oral history of Monty Python—an insightful, in-depth portrait of the brilliant and hysterically funny show that transformed modern comedy. 
 
Broadcast by the BBC between 1969 and 1974, Monty Python’s Flying Circus introduced something completely different: a new brand of surrealistic, stream-of-consciousness comedy that pushed the traditional boundaries of format, style, and content. Blending brilliant satire with slapstick silliness, The Pythons—Graham Chapman, John Cleese, Terry Gilliam, Eric Idle, Terry Jones and Michael Palin—spoke to a generation eager to break free of the conventional. Making their way across the Atlantic and the world, the Pythons’ zany approach to comedy would have a monumental influence on modern popular culture, paving the way for farcical entertainment from Saturday Night Live to The Simpsons to Austin Powers. 
In Monty Python Speaks, David Morgan has collected interviews with Monty Python’s founding members, actors, producers, and other collaborators to produce a no-holds-barred look at the Pythons’ legendary sketches and films, including Monty Python’s Life of Brian, Monty Python and the Holy Grail (the inspiration for the hit Broadway musical Spamalot), and The Meaning of Life. Featuring four new chapters that focus on the group’s oeuvre since the first edition’s publication twenty years ago, as well as a new foreword and updated resources, Monty Python Speaks offers a fascinating peek behind the scenes of the Pythons’ creative process—including the friendships and feuds—that catapulted a comedy revolution.

Other books that might interest you

  • Soirée - Art Collection of nekosuke - cover

    Soirée - Art Collection of nekosuke

    nekosuke

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The long-awaited illustration collection by nekosuke
     
    nekosuke is one of the most popular illustrators on social media in Japan. The atmosphere of corrupt beauty and the sense of decadence in nekosuke’s artworks have made the illustrator an instant internet sensation with more than 60,000 followers on Twitter. Following this success online, nekosuke released four original doujinshi , which sold out immediately: Exotica, Exotica -2, Kaiki-to-jou, Yume ni Utsutsu. nekosuke now draws illustrations for book covers and magazines.This book contains illustrations from nekosuke’s first four doujinshi AND features original artworks, as well. Cute original characters such as “small Alice” and “cat” are also included in this book.- Exotica: an illustration collection featuring large animals and girls.- Exotica -2-: an illustration collection featuring large animals and boys.- Kaiki-to-jou: an illustration collection featuring Japanese folk tales along with original stories of monstrous creatures- Yume ni Utsutsu ni: an illustration collection featuring European folk tales.
    Show book
  • Mexican Painting - cover

    Mexican Painting

    Jean Charlot

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Mexican painting did not come to be internationally recognised until the early 20th century. It was the muralist movement, starting in the 1920s and strongly connected to the Mexican Revolution of the previous decade, from which such great artists as José Clemente Orozco (1883-1949), David Alfaro Siqueiros (1896-1974), and Diego Rivera (1886-1957) emerged. Rarely has art been more political. Thus, what Mexican muralists of the time put up on the walls of the most diverse buildings also tells the story of this ever so restless nation.
    Show book
  • Nevertheless She Wore It - 50 Iconic Fashion Moments - cover

    Nevertheless She Wore It - 50...

    Ann Shen

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    From the creator of the bestselling Bad Girls Throughout History!Celebrated illustrator and author Ann Shen shares her striking study of history's most iconic styles, and the women who changed the world while wearing them.From the revolutionary bikini to the presidential pantsuit, this book explores 50 fashions through bold paintings and insightful anecdotes that empower readers to make their own fashion statements.• Demonstrates the power of fashion as a political and cultural tool for making change• Brilliantly illustrated with Ann's signature art style• Filled with radical clothing choices that defined their timeLooks include the Flapper Dress, the unofficial outfit of women's independence in the 1920s; the Afro, worn as a symbol of black beauty, power, and pride; the Cone Bra, donned by Madonna in her 1989 power anthem "Express Yourself"; and the Dissent Collar, Ruth Bader Ginsburg's famous signifier for when she disagrees with the majority.With stunning and vibrant illustrations, this is a treasure for anyone who wants to defy style norms and rewrite the rules. • An insightful look at the intersection of fashion statements and historical female power• Perfect for fans of Ann Shen, as well as anyone who loves fashion, feminism, and political consciousness• You'll love this book if you love books like Women In Science: 50 Fearless Pioneers Who Changed The World by Rachel Ignotofsky; Strong Is the New Pretty: A Celebration Of Girls Being Themselves by Kate T. Parker; and Women Who Dared: 52 Stories Of Fearless Daredevils, Adventurers, And Rebels by Linda Skeers.
    Show book
  • 1000 Paintings of Genius - cover

    1000 Paintings of Genius

    Victoria Charles, Joseph Manca,...

    • 4
    • 24
    • 0
    From the early Renaissance through Baroque and Romanticism to Cubism, Surrealism, and Pop, these canonical works of Western Art span eight centuries and a vast range of subjects. Here are the sacred and the scandalous, the minimalist and the opulent, the groundbreaking and the conventional. There are paintings that captured the feeling of an era and those that signaled the beginning of a new one. Works of art that were immediately recognised for their genius, and others that were at first met with resistance. All have stood the test of time and in their own ways contribute to the dialectic on what makes a painting great, how notions of art have changed, to what degree art reflects reality, and to what degree it alters it. Brought together, these great works illuminate the changing preoccupations and insights of our ancestors, and give us pause to consider which paintings from our own era will ultimately join the canon.
    Show book
  • Instant Humor - How to Be Funny Instantly! - cover

    Instant Humor - How to Be Funny...

    INSTANT Series

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    How to Be Funny Instantly!
     
    So you want to be funny...or funnier?
     
    Let's face it, funny people are fun people. The more funny you are, the more fun you have. And who doesn't want to have fun? Not just girls, but everybody. (Sorry Cyndi Lauper.)
     
    Goes without saying, people love to be around funny fun people who know how to have a good time and make others laugh. Why?
     
    - Laughter is the best medicine in the world that can make worries go away.
     
    - Laughter is the ultimate euphoric feeling that can lift the human spirit.
     
    - Laughter is the positive viral effect that can contagiously spread happiness.
     
    - Laughter is the lubricant that can ease tensions and solve problems.
     
    - Laughter is the universal glue that can unite people to all come together.
     
    Simply put, if you can make people laugh, they'll love you for it! That can open many doors for you in relationships, jobs, and even getting out of trouble. :)
     
    We are constantly told you're either born with a funny bone or not. After all, being funny is utilizing your creativity with your own view of the world of what's widely accepted notion of the truth, or challenging those beliefs disguised in humor. It's all a personalized creative-involved endeavor; it's not like there is a technical step-by-step blueprint to follow into the working madness of the mind of the funniest man in the world, unlike fixing a car, right?
     
    Not so fast grasshopper! Comedy is more formulaic than you may think (i.e., buildup, anticipation, tension, and release). There are structural elements to guide the creative process to being funny. Most people who are funny already have some forms of subconscious structures they follow without realizing, to generate jokes and come up with their materials, after using them for so long. It's called "a sense of humor" for a reason, meaning you need to develop your senses for it.
     
    Being funny is all about being able to find the humorous side of things, and there are structures and ways for that. In other words, you can be funny! Like all things, it's a skill, and skills can be learned.
     
    Within "Instant Humor":
     
    * How to make people laugh and tell jokes using the TOTB Equation.
     
    * How to train yourself to see the humor in everyday situations and objects.
     
    * How to become funnier overnight by understanding this one style of humor.
     
    * How to easily come up with something funny to say at the exact moment.
     
    * How to maintain your sense of humor in tough situations when most needed.
     
    * Plus, custom practical "how-to" strategies, techniques, applications and exercises to develop your sense of humor.
     
    ...and much more.
     
    Here's to your new funny self now with "Instant Humor"!
    Show book
  • Godspeed: The Kurt Cobain Graphic Novel - cover

    Godspeed: The Kurt Cobain...

    Jim McCarthy, Barnaby Legg

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    GodSpeed: The Kurt Cobain Graphic tells Cobain's story in the format of a totally unique graphic novel. 
     
    Writers Barnaby Legg and Jim McCarthy have constructed their story using biographical fact interwoven with references to the singers tortured self-image. The vibrant art by Flameboy captures both the subjective dreamscape and the objective reality that form the heart of this examination of a tragic musical legend. 
     
    Much more than a biography, GodSpeed is unlike anything you have read about Kurt Cobain before. Going beyond the facts it transmutes an extraordinary life into an equally extraordinary work of art. 
     
    Parental Advisory: Explicit Contents
    Show book