Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Blood of the Donnellys - cover

Blood of the Donnellys

David McRae

Publisher: Dundurn

  • 1
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Jason Stevens is an angry 15-year-old when his parents decide to move from Toronto to Lucan, Ontario, site of the notorious 1880 massacre of the Irish-Canadian Donnelly family.  In the big city, Jason’s spate of petty thievery earned him a sentence of community service under the tutelege of his grandfather, an eccentric retired school teacher, who is building a museum devoted to the history of Lucan. 
Now even unhappier than he was in Toronto, Jason falls in with a gang of youth called the White Boys, who are involved with the local drug trade and who are terrorizing the neighbourhood, much as the Donnellys were once accused of doing. 
While performing his community service, Jason finds himself becoming enthralled with the Donnelly story. With the help of a ghost of someone who may have had something to do with the butchery of the Donnellys, Jason searches for answers both in history and in his own life.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Perfect Match - cover

    The Perfect Match

    E.D. Baker

    • 1
    • 9
    • 0
    Former tooth-fairy-in-training, Cory Feathering, is coming into her skills as a matchmaker more and more each day. But as she hones her skills, she's still doing odd jobs around town in order to help people who need it. 
     
    One day as she's house-sitting for the Three Bears, Cory runs into the infamous Goldilocks. The girl with blonde locks wants Cory to help set her up on a date, but typical, no one is quite right for her. Then, Cory has a vision of Goldilocks with a prince who lives far away in a castle. The only problem? He's getting married to someone else. Luckily, the prince is a huge fan of Cory's band and wants them to perform at his ceremony, which means there might still be hope for Goldilocks. Will Cory be able to act fast and match everyone with their rightful love before it's too late? 
     
    This fun and joyful follow-up to E.D. Baker's The Fairy-Tale Matchmaker is perfect for fans of fairytale retellings.
    Show book
  • The Mediator #3: Reunion - cover

    The Mediator #3: Reunion

    Meg Cabot

    • 2
    • 4
    • 0
    Reunion is the third book in the thrilling, romantic Mediator series, from the New York Times bestselling author of the Princess Diaries, Meg Cabot.   
    The RLS Angels are out for blood, and only Suze can stop them—since she's the only one who can see them. The four ghostly teenagers died in a terrible car accident, for which they blame Suze's classmate Michael...and they'll stop at nothing until he's joined them in the realm of the dead.  
    As Suze desperately fends off each attempt on Michael's life, she finds she can relate to the Angels' fury. Because their deaths turn out not to have been accidental at all. And their killer is only too willing to strike again. 
    Don't miss the delightfully funny supernatural Mediator series, from New York Times bestselling author Meg Cabot.
    Show book
  • Warriors #6: The Darkest Hour - cover

    Warriors #6: The Darkest Hour

    Erin Hunter

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    The sixth book in Erin Hunter’s #1 nationally bestselling Warriors series 
    Join the legion of fans who have made Erin Hunter’s Warriors series a bestselling phenomenon. More thrilling adventures, epic action, and fierce warrior cats await in Warriors #6: The Darkest Hour. 
    The time has come for Fireheart—now Firestar, leader of ThunderClan—to face his destiny. Tigerstar’s sinister ambitions have brought the whole forest to the brink of a terrible and deadly battle. Now prophecies will unfold, and heroes will rise….
    Show book
  • The Arrow of Apollo - cover

    The Arrow of Apollo

    Philip Womack

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Philip Womack has written six acclaimed books for children including 2016's The Double Axe, which was chosen as one of the Telegraph's 'Children's Books of the Year'.He is a classicist by background, and the book spins fascinating new stories out of Greek myth in a gripping, fast-flowing style for readers aged eleven and up.For fans of Rick Riordan's Percy Jackson books, In the Shadow of Heroes by Nicholas Bowling, Troy by Adèle Geras and Wolf Brother by Michelle Paver.
    Show book
  • TBH #3: TBH Too Much Drama - cover

    TBH #3: TBH Too Much Drama

    Lisa Greenwald

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    Told entirely in text messages, the third book in this addictive series from the acclaimed author of 11 Before 12 is perfect for fans of Lauren Myracle and Rachel Renee Russell. This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It’s a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom. 
      
    Cece, Gabby, and Prianka can’t wait for Spirit Week, aka the last week of school before summer break! And they’re already making plans for the best summer ever—including a friends-only camping trip, plenty of pool time, and a top-secret shared notebook. 
    But between Pajama Day and pizza parties, Gabby accidentally leaks Cece’s most embarrassing secret to the whole school in a meme that goes viral. Half the squad thinks it’s no big deal, but Cece needs a time-out from all the drama—even if that means taking a break from her best friends.
    Show book
  • Butterfly Wishes 3: Blue Rain's Adventure - cover

    Butterfly Wishes 3: Blue Rain's...

    Jennifer Castle

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Sisters Addie and Clara have just moved to a new house in the country, where they discover that their backyard is a gateway to the enchanted realm of magical butterflies called Wishing Wings. These special butterflies have the power to make wishes come true!  
     
    Addie and Clara are finally settling into their new neighborhood when they meet a boy named Oliver, who seems to be having trouble making friends. Then, their butterfly friends Sky Dance and Shimmer Leaf tell them that a new butterfly named Blue Rain has just emerged and is acting grumpy and mean to everyone! Surely it's a dark enchantment at work . . . but just who is responsible? It's up to Addie and Clara to help Oliver and Blue Rain -- or help them help each other! 
     
    Perfect for fans of Princess Ponies and Rainbow Magic, this magical chapter book series is a wish come true!
    Show book