Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
An Indian Summer of Steam - cover

An Indian Summer of Steam

David Maidment

Publisher: Pen & Sword Transport

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

An Indian Summer of Steam' is the second volume of David Maidment's 'railway' autobiography, following his first book 'A Privileged Journey.' David was a railway enthusiast who made the hobby his career. After management training on the Western Region, between 1961 and 1964, he became a stationmaster in a Welsh Valley, an Area Manager on the Cardiff Swansea main line and radiating valleys, the South Wales Train Planning Officer, the Head of Productivity Services for the Western Region and subsequently the British Railways Board, before four years from 1982 as Chief Operating Manager of the London Midland Region, the BRB's first Quality & Reliability Manager in 1986, and finally British Rail's Head of Safety Policy after the Clapham Junction train accident, until privatisation. This experience led to a number of years as an international railway safety consultant, and, as a result of an encounter on an Indian railway station during a business trip abroad, to found the 'Railway Children' charity to support street children living on the rail and bus stations of India, East Africa and the UK, described in 2012 by an officer of the United Nations Human Rights Commission as the largest charity in the world working exclusively for street children. All this is the background to the descriptions the author gives of the last years of steam and his many journeys and experiences during his training in South Wales and the South West, his travels all over BR from 1962 until the end of steam in 1968, his search for steam in France, East and West Germany and China and the steam specials in Britain, France, Germany and China after the demise of regular steam working. The book includes over 100 black and white and 100 colour photos, most taken by the author during his travels, and nearly forty pages of logs of locomotive performance in Britain and the continent. All royalties from the book are being donated by the author to the charity he founded, a brief description of which is included in the last chapter of the book.
Available since: 01/30/2016.
Print length: 320 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Supplying the British Army in the First World War - cover

    Supplying the British Army in...

    Janet Macdonald

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    An in-depth look at the logistics of keeping the British Army fed, clothed, armed, and supplied during World War I.   Napoleon famously said that an army marches on its stomach, but it also marches in its boots and its uniforms, carrying or driving its weapons and other equipment, and all this material has to be ordered from headquarters, produced and delivered. Janet Macdonald’s detailed and scholarly new study explains how this enormously complex task of organization and labour was carried out by the British army during the First World War.   She describes the personnel who performed these tasks, from the government and military command in London to those who handled the items in the field. They were responsible for clothing, accommodation, medicine, transport, hand weapons, armament, and communications—a vast logistical network that had evolved to keep millions of men in the field.   This meticulously researched account of this important subject—one which has hitherto been neglected by military historians—will be essential reading and reference for anyone who is interested in the modern British army, in particular in its organization and performance in the First World War.
    Show book
  • Macat Analysis of Carlo Ginzburg's The Night Battles A: Witchcraft & Agrarian Cults in the 16th & 17th Centuries - cover

    Macat Analysis of Carlo...

    Etienne Stockland, Luke Freeman

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In his 1966 book The Night Battles, Italian historian Carlo Ginzburg detailed the lives of peasant people who were marginalized in their own society and have been all but forgotten in ours. He created a new school of study, "microhistory," which has influenced thinkers from a range of different disciplines.
    
    The Night Battles looks at the witch trials of a small group of peasants in sixteenth-century Italy who believed they turned into animals at night to ward off evil spirits and safeguard their crops. Ginzburg’s analysis of available primary sources creates a remarkably detailed picture of this shamanism, which he claims could be traced back as far as 1500 years.
    
    Ginzburg issued a challenge to late-twentieth-century academic norms—and pioneered new historical research techniques in doing so. Today, readers turn to The Night Battles not only for its account of a series of witch trials, but for Ginzburg’s ground-breaking analysis of the ways prevailing ideologies re-interpret, create, and impose new meanings on popular practices.
    Show book
  • Empath - Relationships Empathy and Dark Psychology - cover

    Empath - Relationships Empathy...

    Camelia Hensen

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Empaths… empathy… sensitivity… what’s the difference? 
    Some people have developed a knack for feeling compassion or empathy for other people. To others, it comes naturally. And to some, it’s an intense gift that has ups and downs, pros and cons that allow them to help others but also become fatigued when they don’t watch themselves. 
    Are you an empath? Or do you just have a lot of empathy? 
    In this guide, you’ll figure out some of the major distinctions, as well as specific types of empaths, like earth empaths, physical empaths, relationship empaths, dark empaths, and food empaths. You will also receive some advice about how to lead your empathic children in the right paths of life. 
    If you want to learn more, then I encourage you to start reading or listening quickly.
    Show book
  • History - A Very Short Introduction - cover

    History - A Very Short Introduction

    John H. Arnold

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    There are many stories we can tell about the past, and we are not, perhaps, as free as we might imagine in our choice of which stories to tell, or where those stories end. John Arnold's addition to Oxford's popular Very Short Introductions series is a stimulating essay about how people study and understand history. The book begins by inviting us to think about various questions provoked by our investigation of history, and then explores the ways in which these questions have been answered in the past. Such key concepts as causation, interpretation, and periodization are introduced by way of concrete examples of how historians work, thus giving the reader a sense of the excitement implicit in discovering the past—and ourselves.The aim throughout History: A Very Short Introduction is to discuss theories of history in a general, pithy, and accessible manner, rather than delve into specific periods. This is a book that will appeal to all students and general readers with an interest in history or historiography.
    Show book
  • Patriot Pirates - The Privateer War for Freedom and Fortune in the American Revolution - cover

    Patriot Pirates - The Privateer...

    Robert H. Patton

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    They were legalized pirates empowered by the Continental Congress to raid and plunder, at their own considerable risk, as much enemy trade as they could successfully haul back to America's shores. They played a decisive role in America's struggle for independence and later turned their seafaring talents to the slave trade, revealing the conflict between enterprise and morality central to American history.In Patriot Pirates, Robert H. Patton, the grandson of the battlefield genius of World War II, writes how privateering engaged all levels of Revolutionary life, from the dockyards to the assembly halls; how it gave rise to wild speculation in purchased shares in privateer ventures, enabling sailors to make more money in a month than they might earn in a year; and how privateering created fortunes that survive to this day.As one naval historian wrote, "The great battles of the American Revolution were fought on land, but independence was won at sea."Patton writes how, in addition to its strategic and economic importance, privateering played a large political role in the Revolution. For example, Benjamin Franklin, from his diplomatic post in Paris, secretly encouraged skippers to sell their captured goods in French ports-a calculated effort on Franklin's part to break the neutrality agreements between France and Britain, bring the two countries to blows, and take the pressure off American fighters. This is a sweeping tale of maritime rebel-entrepreneurs bent on personal profit and national freedom.
    Show book
  • The Voice Celestial - An Epic Poem by Ernest Holmes and Fenwick Holmes - cover

    The Voice Celestial - An Epic...

    Ernest Holmes, Fenwicke Holmes

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    An Epic Poem in the tradition of The Iliad of Homer and John Milton’s Paradise Lost, The Voice Celestial bridges the centuries that have passed since Jesus Christ gave his message to mankind and links that message to our present age. The Wayfarer makes his journey through the world’s great religions to the mysteries of Egypt, and finally to Jesus Christ, being changed in the process, and discovering along the way that we live in a loving universe, where all men and women are masters of their own destinies.
    Show book