Turn 2021 into a year of reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Richard III - A Ruler and his Reputation - cover

Richard III - A Ruler and his Reputation

David Horspool

Publisher: Bloomsbury Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

For many, Richard III is an obsession-the Richard III Society has a huge membership, and Shakespeare's Histories have contributed to, if not his popularity, certainly his notoriety. Now, with the discovery of Richard III's bones under a parking lot in Leicester, England, interest in this divisive and enigmatic figure in British history is at an all-time high. It is a compelling story to scholars as well as general readers, who continue to seek out the kind of strong narrative history that David Horspool delivers in this groundbreaking biography of the king. 
Richard III dispassionately examines the legend as well as the man to uncover both what we know of the life of Richard, and the way that his reputation has been formed and re-formed over centuries. But beyond simply his reputation, there is no dispute that the last Plantagenet is a pivotal figure in English history-his death signaled the end of the War of the Roses, and, arguably, the end of the medieval period in England-and Horspool's biography chronicles this tumultuous time with flair. 
 
 
This narrative-driven and insightful biography lays out a view of Richard that is fair to his historical character and to his background in the medieval world. Above all, it is authoritative in its assessment of a king who came to the throne under extraordinary circumstances.

Other books that might interest you

  • America's First Daughter - A Novel - cover

    America's First Daughter - A Novel

    Stephanie Dray, Laura Kamoie

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER 
    In a compelling, richly researched novel that draws from thousands of letters and original sources, bestselling authors Stephanie Dray and Laura Kamoie tell the fascinating, untold story of Thomas Jefferson’s eldest daughter, Martha “Patsy” Jefferson Randolph—a woman who kept the secrets of our most enigmatic founding father and shaped an American legacy. 
    From her earliest days, Patsy Jefferson knows that though her father loves his family dearly, his devotion to his country runs deeper still. As Thomas Jefferson’s oldest daughter, she becomes his helpmate, protector, and constant companion in the wake of her mother’s death, traveling with him when he becomes American minister to France. 
    It is in Paris, at the glittering court and among the first tumultuous days of revolution, that fifteen-year-old Patsy learns about her father’s troubling liaison with Sally Hemings, a slave girl her own age. Meanwhile, Patsy has fallen in love—with her father’s protégé William Short, a staunch abolitionist and ambitious diplomat. Torn between love, principles, and the bonds of family, Patsy questions whether she can choose a life as William’s wife and still be a devoted daughter. 
    Her choice will follow her in the years to come, to Virginia farmland, Monticello, and even the White House. And as scandal, tragedy, and poverty threaten her family, Patsy must decide how much she will sacrifice to protect her father's reputation, in the process defining not just his political legacy, but that of the nation he founded.
    Show book
  • Nevertheless She Wore It - 50 Iconic Fashion Moments - cover

    Nevertheless She Wore It - 50...

    Ann Shen

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    From the creator of the bestselling Bad Girls Throughout History!Celebrated illustrator and author Ann Shen shares her striking study of history's most iconic styles, and the women who changed the world while wearing them.From the revolutionary bikini to the presidential pantsuit, this book explores 50 fashions through bold paintings and insightful anecdotes that empower readers to make their own fashion statements.• Demonstrates the power of fashion as a political and cultural tool for making change• Brilliantly illustrated with Ann's signature art style• Filled with radical clothing choices that defined their timeLooks include the Flapper Dress, the unofficial outfit of women's independence in the 1920s; the Afro, worn as a symbol of black beauty, power, and pride; the Cone Bra, donned by Madonna in her 1989 power anthem "Express Yourself"; and the Dissent Collar, Ruth Bader Ginsburg's famous signifier for when she disagrees with the majority.With stunning and vibrant illustrations, this is a treasure for anyone who wants to defy style norms and rewrite the rules. • An insightful look at the intersection of fashion statements and historical female power• Perfect for fans of Ann Shen, as well as anyone who loves fashion, feminism, and political consciousness• You'll love this book if you love books like Women In Science: 50 Fearless Pioneers Who Changed The World by Rachel Ignotofsky; Strong Is the New Pretty: A Celebration Of Girls Being Themselves by Kate T. Parker; and Women Who Dared: 52 Stories Of Fearless Daredevils, Adventurers, And Rebels by Linda Skeers.
    Show book
  • Luis de Molina - The Life and Theology of the Founder of Middle Knowledge - cover

    Luis de Molina - The Life and...

    Kirk R. MacGregor

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When Luis de Molina died in Madrid in 1600, he had every reason to believe he was about to be anathametized by Pope Clement VIII. The Protestant Reformation was splitting Europe, tribunals of the Inquisition met regularly in a dozen Spanish cities, and the Pope had launched a commission two years earlier to investigate Molina’s writings. 
      
    Molina was eventually vindicated, though the decision came seven years after his death. In the centuries that followed Molina was relegated to relatively minor status in the history of theology until a renaissance of interest in recent years. His doctrine of God’s “middle knowledge,” in particular, has been appropriated by a number of current philosophers and theologians, with apologist William Lane Craig calling it “one of the most fruitful theological ideas ever conceived.” 
      
    In Luis de Molina: The Life and Theology of the Founder of Middle Knowledge, author Kirk R. MacGregor outlines the main contours of Molina’s subtle and far-reaching philosophical theology, covering his views on God’s foreknowledge, salvation and predestination, poverty and obedience, and social justice. Drawing on writings of Molina never translated into English, MacGregor also provides insight into the experiences that shaped Molina, recounting the events of a life fully as dramatic as any of the Protestant Reformers. 
      
    With implications for topics as wide-ranging as biblical inerrancy, creation and evolution, the relationship between Christianity and world religions, the problem of evil, and quantum indeterminacy, Molina’s thought remains as fresh and relevant as ever. Most significantly, perhaps, it continues to offer the possibility of a rapprochement between Calvinism and Arminianism, a view of salvation that fully upholds both God’s predestination and human free will. 
      
    As the first full-length work ever published on Molina, Kirk MacGregor’s Luis de Molina provides an accessible and insightful introduction for scholars, students, and armchair theologians alike.
    Show book
  • Mi casco por almohada - cover

    Mi casco por almohada

    Robert Leckie

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Las memorias de Robert Leckie constituyen uno de los más apasionantes relatos de un testigo directo de la Segunda Guerra Mundial.En enero de 1942, poco después del ataque japonés a Pearl Harbor, se alistó en el cuerpo de marines de los Estados Unidos. Aquí se narra su odisea, desde el durísimo y apresurado entrenamiento en Carolina del Sur hasta las feroces batallas de la campaña del Pacífico.
    Sin escatimar detalle de las atrocidades y sacrificios de la guerra, retrata en toda la crudeza de qué madera están hechos los verdaderos soldados, cómo luchan y a menudo mueren en defensa de su país.
    Tom Hanks, Steven Spielberg y Gary Goetzman, creadores de la magistral serie Hermanos de sangre, han adoptado material de esta obra para la exitosa miniserie épica de HBO The Pacific, en la que James Badge Dale interpreta a Robert Leckie.
    Show book
  • Introducing Stephen Hawking - A Graphic Guide - cover

    Introducing Stephen Hawking - A...

    J.P. McEvoy

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    'An ideal introduction [to Stephen Hawking]' - Independent
    
    
    'Astonishingly comprehensive - clearer than Hawking himself' - Focus
    
    
    Stephen Hawking was a world-famous physicist with a cameo in The Simpsons on his CV, but outside of his academic field his work was little understood. To the public he was a tragic figure - a brilliant scientist and author of the 9 million-copy-selling A Brief History of Time, and yet spent the majority of his life confined to a wheelchair and almost completely paralysed.
    
    Hawking's major contribution to science was to integrate the two great theories of 20th-century physics: Einstein's General Theory of Relativity and Quantum Mechanics.
    
    
    J.P. McEvoy and Oscar Zarate's brilliant graphic guide explores Hawking's life, the evolution of his work from his days as a student, and his breathtaking discoveries about where these fundamental laws break down or overlap, such as on the edge of a Black Hole or at the origin of the Universe itself.
    Show book
  • Brutus - Caesar's Assassin - cover

    Brutus - Caesar's Assassin

    Kirsty Corrigan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The extraordinary life of the “noblest Roman of them all.”   Although Marcus Junius Brutus is one of the most famous, or infamous, conspirators of Rome and the ancient world, if not of all time, knowledge of this historical figure has principally been passed to the modern world through the literary medium of Shakespeare’s tragedy, Julius Caesar. Furthermore, any interest in Brutus has tended to focus only on events surrounding his most legendary act: Caesar’s murder. This biography instead considers Brutus in his historical context, gathering details from ancient evidence and piecing together, as much as possible, his whole life.   While his actions played a pivotal role in Roman history, ultimately, although completely unintentionally, bringing about the downfall of the Roman republic, Brutus has often been neglected. Indeed, he has rarely been considered on his own merits, instead featuring as part of the biographies and studies of other leading political figures of the time, especially those of Julius Caesar, Cicero, and Octavian. As the first dedicated biography in over thirty years, this full and balanced reconsideration of this significant Roman republican is long overdue.  
    Show book