Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Accidental Oligarch - A Ukrainian Saga - cover

The Accidental Oligarch - A Ukrainian Saga

David Hoffman

Publisher: Publishdrive

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

**The author is donating all profits from this book to Internews to help Ukrainian journalists**Ukraine is the "new Berlin," the front line of Russian American confrontation. It's a place of intrigue, corruption, political blackmail and, yes, romance. The Accidental Oligarch reveals how Ukraine's fate is intimately entangled with our own.After Yuri Yavlinsky is laid off from his job shoveling shit at the Kyiv Zoo, he is promptly arrested for failing to pay a $30 million tax bill. Yuri's ID had been used to create several offshore shell companies to hide the assets of the oligarch who is the principal backer of Ukraine's president. Dora Osatinskaya, the Ukrainian lawyer who heads an anti-corruption organization, persuades Yuri to retrieve the mogul's bank records used for money laundering. But Yuri doesn't stop there. Infuriated by the corruption that is sucking the life out of his country, he uses his wits and street smarts to hijack the companies and their billion dollars in assets. It takes an oligarch to fight an oligarch.The novel climaxes during the 2014 Euromaidan "Revolution of Dignity," where Yuri and his band of savvy saboteurs fight oligarchs, the government, a cabal of mobsters and moguls, and stealth Russian forces, as they strive to save themselves and the battered country they believe in.
Available since: 03/19/2022.
Print length: 482 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Outsider - cover

    Outsider

    Rob Sinclair

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    James Ryker stumbles into a chilling conspiracy in a small Norwegian town . . . Travelling through frozen north Norway, Ryker isn’t looking for trouble, but he has a habit of finding it. After a near miss on the road with a young moped driver, a local policeman assists the teenager and encourages Ryker on his way. But when Ryker travels to the nearby small town of Blodstein—only to be warded off by the locals when he asks questions about the boy he nearly killed—his instincts as a longtime intelligence agent fire. Ryker is determined to find out who the boy is, and where he has gone, but soon finds himself pulling at the edges of a conspiracy that threatens to erupt with blood and violence. Unless he can determine the truth and put an end to it all. But as the outsider, is there anyone he can trust?Praise for Rob Sinclair’s thrillers: “A must read for fans of Lee Child and Robert Ludlum.” —Chelle’s Book Reviews “Twists you just don’t see coming.” —David’s Book Blurg “A real page-turner, impossible to put down.” —Publishers Weekly
    Show book
  • Assassins - cover

    Assassins

    Rob Sinclair

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The bestselling author of Renegade delivers a spy thriller that’s “got the action . . . the blood and guts . . . and the twists you just don’t see coming” (David’s Book Blurg). 
     
    Stalking the streets of Prague, James Ryker is on the hunt for justice when he hears a news report of a murder in rural England. Big problem. He knows the victim. Ten years ago, in Qatar, Ryker led a team of assassins to kill him. He thought they had. 
     
    So how has a man Ryker thought dead for over a decade suddenly resurfaced? 
     
    Traveling across the globe, Ryker sets off on a quest to discover the truth from that fateful night in Qatar. When he realizes that his old team members are now under threat from a ruthless female assassin, he knows his problems have only just started. 
     
    In a race against time, Ryker must work out who is behind the killings and evade the assassin before he becomes the next victim . . .  
     
    Praise for Renegade 
     
    “An adrenaline shot right to the heart.” —The Best Thriller Books 
     
    “Ryker is a brilliantly believable character to get behind . . . Great fun—and an easy read that kept me gripped and racing through the pages.” —The Page Is Printed 
     
    “With mounting suspense, relentless action and a fair amount of violence, I felt pretty exhausted by the end! . . . entertaining, action-packed and thrilling, a real page-turner.” —The Curious Ginger Cat
    Show book
  • Cold Heart - cover

    Cold Heart

    Jane Heafield

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    “What a fantastic book! I was gripped from the start and read late into the night.” —Goodreads reviewer, five starsA series of bizarre crimes across the English city of Sheffield brings a police detective and a PI together in an increasingly dangerous game . . . Liam Bennet has just quit the force to become a private detective—and to his frustration, his first case is a weird petty crime while his good friend acting DCI Liz Miller is assigned a murder. Two murders, in fact—one recent, the other involving a skeletonized body, but both linked by pictures of dice at the scenes. After Liz is attacked on the job, Liam visits her in hospital and they discover another odd connection: both Liam and the police are looking into teachers who’ve been victimised. Meanwhile, more dice keep turning up—though the crimes connected to them seem utterly random, ranging from the serious to the bizarre. As the two close in on the mystery, will they be able to identify a pattern—or is their luck about to run out?
    Show book
  • Snatched - cover

    Snatched

    Gillian Jackson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A ransom demand leads to secrets revealed, in this twisting crime suspense from the author of The Victim. Eleven-year-old Danny Stone is snatched on his way home from school, bundled into the back of a van, and driven to a remote, deserted farmhouse. Danny’s parents, Martha and Richard, are frantic when their only child goes missing and call the police. Their home in Bristol is searched, and their lives and Richard’s career as a solicitor come under scrutiny. Finally, a ransom demand arrives. Martha wants to pay, but Richard procrastinates. When he leaves the house, Martha searches through his papers. It’s clear her husband has been keeping something from her. But as she tries to untangle his lies, while the police continue their search, Richard risks a dangerous negotiation on his own. And the question remains—how long can Danny survive?
    Show book
  • Abduction - cover

    Abduction

    Gillian Jackson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A woman thinks she’s found her long-missing sister, but the discovery only leads to more questions in this wrenching thriller by the author of The Deception. Elise McDonald is sure she has just spotted her sister, Grace, in a department store in Leeds. The last time she saw her was fourteen years ago, at Grace’s third birthday party, when the children scattered during a game of hide and seek—but Grace never returned from her hiding place. When the girl approaches, she introduces herself as Ruth and chats about her father, a doctor, and the village she grew up in. But Elise believes that Ruth is really Grace—even if she doesn’t know it. Elise’s family dismisses her theory, claiming that pregnancy is making her hormonal and irrational. But her aunt, at least, is willing to help her investigate—and eventually Jack Priestly, the original detective on the case, is drawn in as well. Is there any chance they can solve a cold case the police had long given up on—or is Elise deluding herself? And if she’s right, what really happened on that fateful day?
    Show book
  • Renegade - cover

    Renegade

    Rob Sinclair

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The secret agent returns in an action-packed thriller that’s “an adrenaline shot right to the heart.” Over a million books sold in the original series! (The Best Thriller Books) 
     
    James Ryker, a veteran intelligence agent now freelancer, working for the secretive Joint Intelligence agency on an op-by-op basis, finds himself embroiled in a complicated mission that will test him to his limit. 
     
    When a simple surveillance mission goes awry and the key target is kidnapped in broad daylight in a busy London square, Ryker knows he has his work cut out. 
     
    Ryker is tasked with figuring out what went wrong. But when his good friend Sam Moreno disappears without a trace, the mission becomes more personal than he could have imagined. 
     
    Torn between toeing the government line, and finding the answers he needs, Ryker realizes there’s only one way to find those responsible and to punish them . . . His way. 
     
    “Rob Sinclair knows how to keep things fresh—constantly dropping Ryker into new situations and turning his life completely upside down. The pace is kept at a healthy high throughout, and Ryker is a brilliantly believable character to get behind . . . Great fun—and an easy read that kept me gripped and racing through the pages.” —The Page Is Printed 
     
    “The book is fast-paced and deftly plotted, with a few twists that will certainly keep the readers on their toes. With mounting suspense, relentless action and a fair amount of violence, I felt pretty exhausted by the end! . . . entertaining, action-packed and thrilling, a real page-turner.” —The Curious Ginger Cat
    Show book