Enjoy 2020 without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
October 1964 - cover

October 1964

David Halberstam

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The “compelling” New York Times bestseller by the Pulitzer Prize–winning journalist, capturing the 1964 World Series between the Yankees and Cardinals (Newsweek).  David Halberstam, an avid sports writer with an investigative reporter’s tenacity, superbly details the end of the fifteen-year reign of the New York Yankees in October 1964. That October found the Yankees going head-to-head with the St. Louis Cardinals for the World Series pennant. Expertly weaving the narrative threads of both teams’ seasons, Halberstam brings the major personalities on the field—from switch-hitter Mickey Mantle to pitcher Bob Gibson—to life. Using the teams’ subcultures, Halberstam also analyzes the cultural shifts of the sixties. The result is a unique blend of sports writing and cultural history as engrossing as it is insightful. This ebook features an extended biography of David Halberstam.

Other books that might interest you

  • Strange coincidences in your life - Small curious events Forebodings Telepathy Does it happen to you too? Quantum physics and the theory of synchronicity explain extrasensory phenomena - cover

    Strange coincidences in your...

    George Anderson

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    From the earliest developments of thought, mankind believed that some significant coincidences were signs by which a higher philosophical or divine level sought to inter-dialogue with men.
     
    In the last three centuries this had been erased from the new directions of science. Extraordinary coincidences were considered as fruits of chance. Anyone who wanted to interpret extraordinary events as divine signals was mocked. In the same way, premonitions were considered illusions or even signs of imbalance. This, despite many had experienced these extraordinary facts.
     
    Science denied the existence of a psychic dimension with which the human mind could interact. According to the common opinion, the only existing reality was matter. However, in the 1980s, experiments in quantum physics demonstrated the existence of a universe that is not just composed of matter. This universe holds a level in which energy and information do not suffer the limits of space and time typical of classical physics.
     
    This confirms all the intuitions matured in the history of humanity. Among these intuitions the concept of "Soul of the World" enunciated by the Greek philosopher Plato. More recently, the Swiss psychologist Carl Gustav Jung has elaborated the theory of the "collective unconscious".
     
    This book avoids investigating excessively specialized topics. The author clearly accompanies the reader in understanding the three levels that form a single reality.
     
    The first level is the physical one, which is part of our daily experience. The second level is the one described by quantum physics, typical of the smallest elementary particles of atoms.
     
    The third is the psychic level called "non-locality". It is the spiritual level, which can not be physically located anywhere.
     
    This path of knowledge refers to recent discoveries recognized by official science. The strange coincidences and phenomena of the mind become important parts of a new and surprising reality.
    Show book
  • Primitive Mythology - cover

    Primitive Mythology

    Joseph Campbell

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Explore the power of myth as humanity first discovered it
     
    Collected Works of Joseph Campbell edition — with up-to-date science
     
    In this first volume of The Masks of God — Joseph Campbell’s major work of comparative mythology — the preeminent mythologist looks at the wellsprings of myth. From the earliest expressions of religious awe in pre-modern humans to the rites and art of contemporary primal tribes, myth has informed humankind's understanding of the world, seen and unseen. Exploring these archetypal mythic images and practices, Campbell examines the basic concepts that underlie all human myth, even to this day.
     
    The Masks of God is a four-volume study of world religion and myth that stands as one of Joseph Campbell’s masterworks. On completing it, he wrote:
     
    Its main result for me has been the confirmation of a thought I have long and faithfully entertained: of the unity of the race of man, not only in its biology, but also in its spiritual history, which has everywhere unfolded in the manner of a single symphony, with its themes announced, developed, amplified and turned about, distorted, reasserted, and today, in a grand fortissimo of all sections sounding together, irresistibly advancing to some kind of mighty climax, out of which the next great movement will emerge.
     
    This new digital edition is part of the Collected Works of Joseph Campbell series. Joseph Campbell Foundation has worked with scientists and academics to bring the anthropological and paleontological information Campbell explores in line with the best twenty-first century scholarship.
     
    (Comparative Mythology: paleontology, Neanderthal and Cro-magnon culture, neolithic and paleolithic art and religion.)
     
    "[T]he mask in a primitive festival is revered and experienced as a veritable apparition of the mythical being that it represents — even though everyone knows that a man made the mask and that a man is wearing it. The one wearing it, furthermore, is identified with the god during the time of the ritual of which the mask is a part. He does not merely represent the god; he is the god."— Joseph Campbell, Primitive Mythology
    Show book
  • The Corpus Hermeticum - cover

    The Corpus Hermeticum

    Hermes Trismegistus

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Corpus Hermeticum are Egyptian-Greek wisdom texts from which are mostly presented as dialogues in which a teacher enlightens a disciple. The texts form the basis of Hermeticism. They discuss the divine, the cosmos, mind, and nature. Some touch upon alchemy, astrology, and related concepts.
    Show book
  • Widdershins - cover

    Widdershins

    Helen Steadman

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    'Did all women have something of the witch about them?' Jane Chandler is an apprentice healer. From childhood, she and her mother have used herbs to cure the sick. But Jane will soon learn that her sheltered life in a small village is not safe from the troubles of the wider world. From his father's beatings to his uncle's raging sermons, John Sharpe is beset by bad fortune. Fighting through personal tragedy, he finds his purpose: to become a witch-finder and save innocents from the scourge of witchcraft. Inspired by true events, Widdershins tells the story of the women who were persecuted and the men who condemned them.
    Show book
  • Common People - An Anthology of Working-Class Writers - cover

    Common People - An Anthology of...

    Kit de Waal

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Common People is the latest campaigning anthology from the publisher of bestsellers The Good Immigrant (70k copies sold to date) and Repeal the 8th.It features original work from some of our best-known writers: Kit De Waal, Malorie Blackman, Lisa McInerney, Cathy Rentzenbrink, Stuart Maconie, Louise Doughty, Damian Barr and Daljit Nagra among others.Kit de Waal’s debut novel, My Name is Leon, was an international bestseller. It won Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year 2017 and was shortlisted for the Costa First Book Award, the Desmond Elliott Prize and the British Book Awards 2017 Best Debut Book of the Year.Kit is one of the UK’s most prominent voices calling for inclusivity and working-class representation in the arts, and has established a creative writing scholarship at Birkbeck University.Almost half of all authors, writers and
    translators in the UK come from professional, middle-class backgrounds,
    compared with just 10 per cent of those from working-class backgrounds. This
    anthology addresses that pressing imbalance.There will be events across the UK on publication, including all the major literary festivals.For fans of The Good Immigrant, Know Your Place: Essays on the Working Class by the Working Class, Brit(ish) by Afua Hirsch.
    Show book
  • The Great War - Indian Writings on the First World War - cover

    The Great War - Indian Writings...

    Rakhshanda Jalil

    • 1
    • 20
    • 1
    It is very hard to endure the bombs, Father. It will be difficult for anyone to survive and come back safe and sound from the war. The son who is very lucky will see his father and mother… 
    (Extract from a letter by an Indian soldier serving in France, written on 14 January 1915 to his father) 
     
     
    The Great War, as the First World War was referred to, saw the service of over 1.3 million Indians, of whom 74,000 never made it back home. For their families, the War was something they could not fully fathom. Soldiers from the Indian subcontinent won over 12,908 awards for bravery, including 11 Victoria Crosses. Yet this unprecedented show of valour by Indian soldiers remains largely unsung and unrecognised-particularly in India. 
     
    Commemorating hundred years of the end of the First World War, this volume brings together diverse voices-Rabindranath Tagore, Mulk Raj Anand, Sarojini Naidu, Mohamed Ali, Chandradhar Sharma Guleri and many more-that reflect a variety of attitudes among Indians towards the War. Included too are Rakhshanda Jalil's original translations of the works of Urdu poets of the time capturing their responses to the War. This volume of writings, originally written in Urdu, Hindi, Bengali and English, attempts to recognise and remember the contribution of the unknown soldiers to the Great War.
    Show book