Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
A Treacherous Coast - cover

A Treacherous Coast

David Donachie

Publisher: Allison & Busby

  • 1
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Winter 1795. Lieutenant John Pearce, reckoning to have finally ditched his old enemy, Admiral Hotham, has found a new one in Henry Digby, previously a friend. Meanwhile, Pearce’s pregnant and recently widowed lover is adamant they cannot be seen together for the sake of their unborn child as she seeks respectability in society. 
Aboard HMS Flirt as part of the squadron led by Horatio Nelson, Pearce and his Pelicans soon join them on a reconnaissance which results in the destruction of a key French battery – though the success is short-lived. In raids ashore, split loyalties and bloody sea fights, Pearce must show bravery and resource to ensure his survival and return to Emily. But the headstrong lieutenant is faced with immense danger, not only from the enemy but his own captain. Only luck and Pearce’s fierce appetite for battle can save them from the perils ahead.

Other books that might interest you

  • Memories of Midnight - cover

    Memories of Midnight

    Sidney Sheldon

    • 1
    • 10
    • 0
    Set in London and Greece, this is the sequel to Sidney Sheldon's The Other Side of Midnight.
    Show book
  • Maya's Notebook - A Novel - cover

    Maya's Notebook - A Novel

    Isabel Allende

    • 3
    • 8
    • 0
    Maya’s Notebook is a startling novel of suspense from New York Times bestselling author Isabel Allende. This contemporary coming-of-age story centers upon Maya Vidal, a remarkable teenager abandoned by her parents. Maya grew up in a rambling old house in Berkeley with her grandmother Nini, whose formidable strength helped her build a new life after emigrating from Chile in 1973 with a young son, and her grandfather Popo, a gentle African-American astronomer. When Popo dies, Maya goes off the rails. Along with a circle of girlfriends known as "the vampires," she turns to drugs, alcohol, and petty crime--a downward spiral that eventually leads to Las Vegas and a dangerous underworld, with Maya caught between warring forces: a gang of assassins, the police, the FBI, and Interpol. Her one chance for survival is Nini, who helps her escape to a remote island off the coast of Chile. In the care of her grandmother’s old friend, Manuel Arias, and surrounded by strange new acquaintances, Maya begins to record her story in her notebook, as she tries to make sense of her past and unravel the mysteries of her family and her own life.
    Show book
  • Shot in Southwold - cover

    Shot in Southwold

    Suzette A. Hill

    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    1960. Lady Fawcett is eager to vet her daughter Amy’s current beau, aspiring film director Bartholomew Hackle, who is shooting his first major movie in the charming Suffolk town of Southwold. As Amy is unable to accompany her mother, Rosy Gilchrist is strong-armed into tagging along. 
    On the set of The Languid Labyrinth nobody really knows what is going on – least of all Felix Smythe whose bit part is constantly changing, much to his chagrin. But the unambiguous death by gunshot of a female cast member injects some drama into proceedings – something sorely lacking in the film itself. Lady Fawcett, Rosy and Felix are at the centre of a murder mystery in which further victims may face the cut. 
    ‘CHARMING, ASTRINGENT AND WITTY’ The Guardian
    Show book
  • The Big Midget Murders - cover

    The Big Midget Murders

    Craig Rice

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    It’s murder backstage for a cynical Chicago attorney—from “the Dorothy Parker of detective fiction” (William Ruehlmann).   It’s part casino, part nightclub, and part circus. For its new owners, Jake Justus and his socialite wife, Helene, it’s also a gamble. Luckily they have Jay Otto. Next to a bouncy burlesque bit, Otto’s high-wire act is the hottest draw in the joint. But the crowd isn’t the only thing left breathless. The performer has just been found in his dressing room, doped up, dead, and hanging by eleven silk stockings. The method is fetching. The probable motive? Otto was the nastiest, most hateful, devious, blackmailing little cuss on the circuit.   But Jake’s friend, attorney John J. Malone, thinks this is more than a case of justifiable homicide—especially when Otto isn’t the last on the bill to get all choked up. Now Malone has a lot of secrets to untangle so he can collar the killer, because Jake and Helene’s necks could be next on the line.  The Big Midget Murders is “expertly timed . . . and frenzied . . . with lavish accompaniment of good wise-cracking. Verdict: Superior” (TheSaturday Review of Literature). “Call it screwball noir, call it hard-boiled farce, call it whatever you want . . . Craig Rice did it with John J. Malone, her ne-er-do-well bibulous attorney” (Thrilling Detective).
    Show book
  • Murder with Majesty - Auguste Didier Mystery #10 - cover

    Murder with Majesty - Auguste...

    Amy Myers

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Spring of 1905. Getrude Pennyfather, American heiress and folklore enthusiast, is set to enjoy the perfect English village wedding. Even King Edward VII is due to attend. What more could a society bride dream of? For as she arrives in Frimhurst, Gertrude believes that her fiancé, Arthur Montfoy, is the lord of the manor and the joyful celebrations of the local folk seem to confirm this. Indeed, everything about Frimurst seems picture-perfect. Perhaps a bit too perfect… 
    As time goes by and her wedding approaches, Gertrude realises that not everything in Frimhurst is as it seems. Does that include her husband-to-be, and the wonderful future she has planned for them? 
    Meanwhile a renowned French chef, and distant relative of the King by marriage, is working hard to produce the perfect wedding banquet, at the King's command. August Didier is a master of his craft, and his focus is such that little distracts him from his enormous task. Until, that is, he spots a familiar face among the wedding guests. The face of a man who has sworn to murder him. Very shortly afterwards, the body of a murder victim is discovered, but it is not Auguste – for now, at least. 
    The death brings Scotland Yard to the scene, and Auguste is reunited with his friend, Inspector Rose. As the men investigate, the bucolic façade that Frimhurst has produced for the wedding is stripped away to reveal lies, frustrated loves, tales of financial ruin and rampant dishonesty. 
    Auguste Didier and Inspector Rose have just a short time to find out the truth. For death is closing in on Auguste — will the murders be solved in time for him to outwit it? Only time will tell…  
    Murder with Majesty is a delightful mystery, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie. 
    Praise for Amy Myers 
    'Reading like a cross between Hercule Poirot and Mrs Beeton…this feast of entertainment is packed with splendid late-Victorian detail' - Library Journal Amy Myers was born in Kent, where she still lives, although she has now ventured to the far side of the Medway. For many years a director of a London publishing company, she is now a full-time writer. Married to an American, she lived for some years in Paris, where, surrounded by food, she first dreamed up her Victorian chef detective Auguste Didier. Currently she is writing her contemporary crime series starring Jack Colby, car detective, and in between his adventures continuing her Marsh & Daughter series and her Victorian chimney sweep Tom Wasp novels .
    Show book
  • The Red Ledger: 2 - cover

    The Red Ledger: 2

    Meredith Wild

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    She’s the only link to his past…
     
    Six years ago, Tristan Stone was everything to me. My whole heart, my future. We were unshakeable, bound tighter by any force that tried to drive us apart. Then he disappeared from my life, leaving me in tatters, broken and running away to one of the most intense cities in the world. Somehow he found me, but now nothing is the same…
     
    Tristan claims someone wants me dead. He’s scarred and dangerous, but all of that seems to melt away when we touch. I might be the only one who can give him his memories, but I want more. The lover I could never forget is trapped inside the heartless man he’s become. I won’t stop until I reach him. I won’t stop until I find the answers he’s not giving me.
    Show book