You wouldn't limit the air you breathe. Why limit your readings?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Welcome to the Terrordome - The Pain Politics and Promise of Sports - cover

Welcome to the Terrordome - The Pain Politics and Promise of Sports

Dave Zirin

Publisher: Haymarket Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

• Zirin is a regular commentator on sports radio and television, appearing recently on ESPN’s Outside the Lines; CNBC’s The Big Idea with Donny Deutsch (debating steroids with Jose Canseco and John Rocker); C-SPAN’s BookTV; the WNBC Morning News in New York City; and Democracy Now! with Amy Goodman, Air America and XM Radio’s On the Real with Chuck D and Gia’na Garel; The Laura Flanders Show; Radio Nation; ESPN radio; Stars and Stripes Radio; Pacifica’s Hard Knock Radio, and many others. He is also the Thursday morning sports voice on WBAI’s “Wake Up Call with Deepa Fernandes.” • Zirin expands the scope of What’s My Name, Fool? to examine the global market in sports, including an analysis of the 2006 World Cup. • Features intimate, exclusive interviews with leading professional athletes who are speaking up and demanding to be seen as people with ideas and values, not just as commodities.

Other books that might interest you

  • Sexual Desire - A Philosophical Investigation - cover

    Sexual Desire - A Philosophical...

    Roger Scruton

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    A dazzling treatise, as erudite and eloquent as Simone de Beauvoir's The Second Sex and considerably more sound in its conclusion  - TLS 
     
     
     
    "He is an eloquent and practised writer" - The Independent (UK) 
     
     
    When John desires Mary or Mary desires John, what does either of them want? What is meant by innocence, passion, love and arousal, desire, perversion and shame? These are just a few of the questions Roger Scruton addresses in this thought-provoking intellectual adventure. Beginning from purely philosophical premises, and ranging over human life, art and institutions, he surveys the entire field of sexuality; equally dissatisfied with puritanism and permissiveness, he argues for a radical break with recent theories. Upholding traditional morality - though in terms that may shock many of its practitioners - his argument gravitates to that which is candid, serene and consoling in the experience of sexual love.
    Show book
  • A Bound Woman Is a Dangerous Thing - The Incarceration of African American Women from Harriet Tubman to Sandra Bland - cover

    A Bound Woman Is a Dangerous...

    DaMaris Hill

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A Publishers Weekly Top 10 History Title for the season 
    Booklist's Top 10 Diverse Nonfiction titles for the year 
    BookRiot's "50 Must-Read Poetry Collections" 
    Most Anticipated Books of the Year--The Rumpus, Nylon 
     
    A revelatory work in the tradition of Claudia Rankine's Citizen, DaMaris Hill's searing and powerful narrative-in-verse bears witness to American women of color burdened by incarceration. 
      
    “It is costly to stay free and appear / sane.” 
     
    From Harriet Tubman to Assata Shakur, Ida B. Wells to Sandra Bland and Black Lives Matter, black women freedom fighters have braved violence, scorn, despair, and isolation in order to lodge their protests. In A Bound Woman Is a Dangerous Thing, DaMaris Hill honors their experiences with at times harrowing, at times hopeful responses to her heroes, illustrated with black-and-white photographs throughout. 
    For black American women, the experience of being bound has taken many forms: from the bondage of slavery to the Reconstruction-era criminalization of women; from the brutal constraints of Jim Crow to our own era's prison industrial complex, where between 1980 and 2014, the number of incarcerated women increased by 700%.* For those women who lived and died resisting the dehumanization of confinement--physical, social, intellectual--the threat of being bound was real, constant, and lethal.  
     
    In A Bound Woman Is a Dangerous Thing, Hill presents bitter, unflinching history that artfully captures the personas of these captivating, bound yet unbridled African-American women. Hill's passionate odes to Zora Neale Hurston, Lucille Clifton, Fannie Lou Hamer, Grace Jones, Eartha Kitt, and others also celebrate the modern-day inheritors of their load and light, binding history, author, and reader in an essential legacy of struggle. 
     
    *The Sentencing Project
    Show book
  • Hunting Monsters - Cryptozoology and the Reality Behind the Myths - cover

    Hunting Monsters - Cryptozoology...

    Darren Naish

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    The Loch Ness Monster, bigfoot and the yeti have long held a fascination for people the world over. Debates about their actual existence or what they might really be have continued for decades, if not centuries. Known also as cryptids, they have spawned a body of research known as cryptozoology. This entertaining book looks at the evidence of these mysterious monsters and others and explores what they might really be (if they exist at all), why they have been represented as they have and the development of cryptozoology and how it has collected data to discover more about these unknown creatures.
    Show book
  • Tarot and the Archetypal Journey - The Jungian Path from Darkness to Light - cover

    Tarot and the Archetypal Journey...

    Sallie Nichols

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    This highly innovative work presents a piercing interpretation of the tarot in terms of Jungian psychology. Through analogies to the humanities, mythology, and the graphic arts, the significance of the cards is related to personal growth and what Jung termed "individuation." The Major Arcana becomes a map of life, and the hero's journey becomes something that each individual can relate to one's personal life."Sallie Nichols, in her profound investigation of the Tarot has performed an immense service. Her book enriches and helps us to understand the awesome responsibilities laid upon consciousness. She has done this not in an arid fashion but derived from her own experience of the Tarot and its strangely translucent lights. As a result her book not only lives but quickens life in whomever it touches." --Laurens van der Post
    Show book
  • Widdershins - cover

    Widdershins

    Helen Steadman

    • 1
    • 10
    • 0
    'Did all women have something of the witch about them?' Jane Chandler is an apprentice healer. From childhood, she and her mother have used herbs to cure the sick. But Jane will soon learn that her sheltered life in a small village is not safe from the troubles of the wider world. From his father's beatings to his uncle's raging sermons, John Sharpe is beset by bad fortune. Fighting through personal tragedy, he finds his purpose: to become a witch-finder and save innocents from the scourge of witchcraft. Inspired by true events, Widdershins tells the story of the women who were persecuted and the men who condemned them.
    Show book
  • Assassinations Anthology - Plots and Murders That Would Have Changed the Course of WW2 - cover

    Assassinations Anthology - Plots...

    Adrian Gilbert, Nigel West, Dan...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A fascinating look at what might have happened had historical assassination attempts succeeded.   If Hitler had died at any stage in the Second World War, would Germany have immediately sued for peace, or would the generals have taken over and fought a far more practical war than the obdurate Führer? Equally intriguing is the possible failed assassination attempt on General de Gaulle on British soil. Who, one wonders, was behind that scheme, and how would Anglo-French relations have developed if he had been killed?   In Assassinations Anthology, a number of well-known authors and historians look at past events where key individuals were involved in either attempts on their lives, or strange incidents occurred which, had they led to their deaths, might have radically affected the outcome of the war. Events surrounding Hitler and Operation Valkyrie, Stalin and Jan Smuts are investigated, as well as the peculiar circumstances relating to the theft of a valuable Gainsborough painting. Just how great a role did the Government’s Chief Whip, David Margesson, play in persuading the MPs to accept the unpopular Winston Churchill as Prime Minister, and what would have happened if Margesson had been killed when the Gainsborough disappeared? It is fascinating stuff. Grounded in actual events, the various scenarios portrayed in this collection examine the likely chain of events that would have followed if the assassination attempts had succeeded. A few inches, a few minutes—that was all the difference between life and death, and between the past that we know and one that we can only imagine.  
    Show book