You wouldn't limit the air you breathe. Why limit your readings?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Introducing Empiricism - A Graphic Guide - cover

Introducing Empiricism - A Graphic Guide

Dave Robinson

Publisher: Icon Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Our knowledge comes primarily from experience – what our senses tell us. But is experience really what it seems? 

The experimental breakthroughs in 17th-century science of Kepler, Galileo and Newton informed the great British empiricist tradition, which accepts a ‘common-sense’ view of the world – and yet concludes that all we can ever know are ‘ideas’.

Dave Robinson, with the aid of Bill Mayblin’s brilliant illustrations, outlines the arguments of Locke, Berkeley, Hume, J.S. Mill, Bertrand Russell and the last British empiricist, A.J. Ayer. They also explore criticisms of empiricism in the work of Kant, Wittgenstein, Karl Popper and others, providing a unique overview of this compelling area of philosophy.

Other books that might interest you

  • Conversations with Roger Scruton - cover

    Conversations with Roger Scruton

    Roger Scruton, Mark Dooley

    • 2
    • 3
    • 0
    This book reveals what life was like for Roger Scruton growing up in High Wycombe, how he survived Cambridge and how he came to hold his conservative outlook. It tells of Scruton's rise to prominence while writing for The Times and sheds light on his campaign on behalf of underground dissidents in Eastern Europe. Ranging across topics as diverse as the current state of British philosophy, music, religion, and illuminating what lay behind Scruton's abandonment of academia for his new life on a Wiltshire farm, Conversations with Roger Scruton is an intimate portrait of a writer who has felt philosophy as a vocation and whose defence of unfashionable causes has brought him a wide readership in Britain and around the world.
    Show book
  • Healing Emotional Wounds - A Story of Overcoming the Long Hard Road to Recovery from Abuse and Abandonment - cover

    Healing Emotional Wounds - A...

    Nancy M. Welch

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Nancy’s labor pains were harsh and long, close to seven years, in fact. Conceived by Ukrainian parents, her two adopted children, Alyona and Alec, began their rebirth six years later in an American city near the East Coast shoreline. Healing Emotional Wounds-A Story of Overcoming the Long Hard Road to Recovery from Abuse and Abandonment is a compelling chronicle of metamorphosis that gives testament to the power of love, encouragement, and resolve over the desperate circumstances of abuse, neglect, and abandonment. This unvarnished story recounts the tumultuous road to recovery of two six-year-olds adopted from Ukraine and takes the reader through a mosaic of emotions from anger and frustration to laughter and bewilderment. This action-packed drama of the family’s first seven years reads like fiction, but it’s real. The high-stakes adventure is replete with volatile behaviors, love, intrigue, sadness, police intervention, unwavering faith, doggedness, emotional fluctuations, and humor. Three main characters emerge, along with a large supporting cast of friends, family, neighbors, and community: 1) Alec, born prematurely to a substance-abusing mother, who spent the early part of his life swathed in a blanket cocoon almost devoid of human touch; 2) Alyona, found on the streets at age four or five and returned to the orphanage by her Italian adoptive family after only six weeks due to her aggressive behavior; 3) Nancy, a single, early fiftyish professional who feels called to adopt these children. The antagonist in this saga is the history of abuse and abandonment, but the real heroes are the children, who emerge from the abyss of hopelessness to live lives of confidence, love, and expectation.
    Show book
  • Men Are from Mars Women Are from Venus - Practical Guide for Improving Communication - cover

    Men Are from Mars Women Are from...

    John Gray

    • 3
    • 22
    • 0
    The most well-know, long-lived, and tried-and-tested relationships guide ever, the phenomenal #1 New York Times bestseller Men Are From Mars, Women Are From Venus is now available for the first time ever as an ebook. In this classic guide to understanding the opposite sex, Dr. John Gray provides a practical and proven way for men and women to improve their communication by acknowledging the differences between their needs, desires, and behaviors. No other relationship guide on the market will give you the same level of evidence-based insight sure to help you strengthen and nurture your relationships for years to come.
    Show book
  • A Bound Woman Is a Dangerous Thing - The Incarceration of African American Women from Harriet Tubman to Sandra Bland - cover

    A Bound Woman Is a Dangerous...

    DaMaris Hill

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A Publishers Weekly Top 10 History Title for the season 
    Booklist's Top 10 Diverse Nonfiction titles for the year 
    BookRiot's "50 Must-Read Poetry Collections" 
    Most Anticipated Books of the Year--The Rumpus, Nylon 
     
    A revelatory work in the tradition of Claudia Rankine's Citizen, DaMaris Hill's searing and powerful narrative-in-verse bears witness to American women of color burdened by incarceration. 
      
    “It is costly to stay free and appear / sane.” 
     
    From Harriet Tubman to Assata Shakur, Ida B. Wells to Sandra Bland and Black Lives Matter, black women freedom fighters have braved violence, scorn, despair, and isolation in order to lodge their protests. In A Bound Woman Is a Dangerous Thing, DaMaris Hill honors their experiences with at times harrowing, at times hopeful responses to her heroes, illustrated with black-and-white photographs throughout. 
    For black American women, the experience of being bound has taken many forms: from the bondage of slavery to the Reconstruction-era criminalization of women; from the brutal constraints of Jim Crow to our own era's prison industrial complex, where between 1980 and 2014, the number of incarcerated women increased by 700%.* For those women who lived and died resisting the dehumanization of confinement--physical, social, intellectual--the threat of being bound was real, constant, and lethal.  
     
    In A Bound Woman Is a Dangerous Thing, Hill presents bitter, unflinching history that artfully captures the personas of these captivating, bound yet unbridled African-American women. Hill's passionate odes to Zora Neale Hurston, Lucille Clifton, Fannie Lou Hamer, Grace Jones, Eartha Kitt, and others also celebrate the modern-day inheritors of their load and light, binding history, author, and reader in an essential legacy of struggle. 
     
    *The Sentencing Project
    Show book
  • Widdershins - cover

    Widdershins

    Helen Steadman

    • 0
    • 9
    • 0
    'Did all women have something of the witch about them?' Jane Chandler is an apprentice healer. From childhood, she and her mother have used herbs to cure the sick. But Jane will soon learn that her sheltered life in a small village is not safe from the troubles of the wider world. From his father's beatings to his uncle's raging sermons, John Sharpe is beset by bad fortune. Fighting through personal tragedy, he finds his purpose: to become a witch-finder and save innocents from the scourge of witchcraft. Inspired by true events, Widdershins tells the story of the women who were persecuted and the men who condemned them.
    Show book
  • Strange coincidences in your life - Small curious events Forebodings Telepathy Does it happen to you too? Quantum physics and the theory of synchronicity explain extrasensory phenomena - cover

    Strange coincidences in your...

    George Anderson

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    From the earliest developments of thought, mankind believed that some significant coincidences were signs by which a higher philosophical or divine level sought to inter-dialogue with men.
     
    In the last three centuries this had been erased from the new directions of science. Extraordinary coincidences were considered as fruits of chance. Anyone who wanted to interpret extraordinary events as divine signals was mocked. In the same way, premonitions were considered illusions or even signs of imbalance. This, despite many had experienced these extraordinary facts.
     
    Science denied the existence of a psychic dimension with which the human mind could interact. According to the common opinion, the only existing reality was matter. However, in the 1980s, experiments in quantum physics demonstrated the existence of a universe that is not just composed of matter. This universe holds a level in which energy and information do not suffer the limits of space and time typical of classical physics.
     
    This confirms all the intuitions matured in the history of humanity. Among these intuitions the concept of "Soul of the World" enunciated by the Greek philosopher Plato. More recently, the Swiss psychologist Carl Gustav Jung has elaborated the theory of the "collective unconscious".
     
    This book avoids investigating excessively specialized topics. The author clearly accompanies the reader in understanding the three levels that form a single reality.
     
    The first level is the physical one, which is part of our daily experience. The second level is the one described by quantum physics, typical of the smallest elementary particles of atoms.
     
    The third is the psychic level called "non-locality". It is the spiritual level, which can not be physically located anywhere.
     
    This path of knowledge refers to recent discoveries recognized by official science. The strange coincidences and phenomena of the mind become important parts of a new and surprising reality.
    Show book