Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
We Became Jaguars - cover

We Became Jaguars

Dave Eggers

Publisher: Chronicle Books LLC

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Revel in the breathtaking fantasticality of We Became Jaguars—a picture book from bestselling author Dave Eggers.When Grandma comes to visit and a young boy's parents leave, the rules of the house—and the world—change: grandson and grandmother transform into jaguars! Readers follow their journey into the undiscovered world of nature, experience true freedom, and lose themselves in an exhilarating adventure. After a day of playing, running, and climbing through sumptuous landscapes, the ending will leave you wondering what's real and what's imagined.• A captivating, unusual story about a child and his grandmother• Full of lush illustrations of the natural world• Celebrates the power of love and storytellingBreathtaking and bold, We Became Jaguars is sure to give readers beautiful dreams.• Children's books for kids age 5–8• Perfect for fans of Dave Eggers• Great for environmentally conscious families

Other books that might interest you

  • World's Worst Parrot - cover

    World's Worst Parrot

    Alice Kuipers

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Ava works hard at maintaining a certain image online and at school. As far as anyone else knows, life is great. But when she inherits an African gray parrot from her great-uncle Bernie (whom she barely remembers), Ava’s carefully crafted world starts to crumble.
    
    The parrot, Mervin, is loud and messy and obnoxious. Ava’s brother thinks it’s hilarious to post videos of Ava trying to deal with the crazy bird. He even creates a profile for the two of them. Everyone wants to see more of Ava and Mervin. Suddenly, Ava is internet famous—in the worst possible way. Her friends think the parrot is gross and start acting weird. But then a new girl at school helps Ava see that this parrot might not be the worst gift in the world and that just being yourself is the best way to be.
    Show book
  • Finders Keepers - cover

    Finders Keepers

    Melanie McFarlane

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Twelve-year-old Macy is an amateur treasure hunter who finds lost things along the southern Saskatchewan shores of Buffalo Pound Lake. When her mom announces she’s leaving her park ranger job at the lake to be a police officer in the city, Macy decides she needs to find a treasure big enough to put Buffalo Pound on the map so her family can stay put. But instead of a treasure, Macy finds a mermaid kidnapped from the West Coast and brought to the Prairies by a monster known only as “The Beast.” Macy must find a missing magic shell to reconnect the mermaid with her family. But will Macy find the shell before the Beast does?
    Show book
  • Grounded - cover

    Grounded

    Sheena Wilkinson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Declan loves Seaneen, but his ambition to work at a top showjumping yard is stronger than anything he’s ever felt before. So when Declan is offered his dream job in Germany, he should be thrilled. There’s nothing for him at home but dark history he’d rather forget. But he’s terrified: leaving Seaneen's harder than he expected; troubled hood Cian won't leave him alone, and when he finds a traumatised horse in a derelict barn, he knows he has to help her. No matter how scared he is. Grounded is a gripping story of courage, fear, despair and joy. The sequel to the award-winning author of Taking Flight can also be read as a stand-alone novel and will appeal to horse-lovers and fans of realistic, dark YA equally.
    Show book
  • Kingdom of Ash - cover

    Kingdom of Ash

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 3
    • 9
    • 0
    Years in the making, Sarah J. Maas's #1 New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series draws to an epic, unforgettable conclusion. Aelin Galathynius's journey from slave to king's assassin to the queen of a once-great kingdom reaches its heart-rending finale as war erupts across her world. . .  
     
    Aelin has risked everything to save her people-but at a tremendous cost. Locked within an iron coffin by the Queen of the Fae, Aelin must draw upon her fiery will as she endures months of torture. Aware that yielding to Maeve will doom those she loves keeps her from breaking, though her resolve begins to unravel with each passing day… 
     
    With Aelin captured, Aedion and Lysandra remain the last line of defense to protect Terrasen from utter destruction. Yet they soon realize that the many allies they've gathered to battle Erawan's hordes might not be enough to save them. Scattered across the continent and racing against time, Chaol, Manon, and Dorian are forced to forge their own paths to meet their fates. Hanging in the balance is any hope of salvation-and a better world. 
     
    And across the sea, his companions unwavering beside him, Rowan hunts to find his captured wife and queen-before she is lost to him forever. 
     
     As the threads of fate weave together at last, all must fight, if they are to have a chance at a future. Some bonds will grow even deeper, while others will be severed forever in the explosive final chapter of the Throne of Glass series.
    Show book
  • Power of a Princess - cover

    Power of a Princess

    E.D. Baker

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    From beloved author E.D. Baker, an adventurous tale about a princess who is more than what she seems -- and a kingdom whose fate rests in her hands. 
     
    Aislin is more than just a princess. Born to a fairy king and pedrasi queen, she's strong, smart, and brave, with magical gifts she's only beginning to discover. Aislin has spent her whole life keeping her family's gifts hidden from the non-magic folk who surround her kingdom, and is shocked to find out the humans knew about these enchantments all along. But when the fairies decide to move back onto human territory, it soon becomes clear that some will not be happy about this change. 
     
    As she sets out to restore the balance, Aislin chooses a surprising group of young women to join her – girls she knows are brave and loyal, but who don't have the qualities of typical guards or princess confidantes. Things only get more complicated when an old foe appears, surely up to no good. The princess knows she has the power and ingenuity to stand up for herself and her kingdom, especially with her friends by her side – will that be enough to set things right?  
     
    E. D. Baker is the author of many beloved books for young readers, including The Frog Princess, which was the inspiration for Disney's The Princess and the Frog. A classic and original fairy tale that celebrates goodness in all shapes and sizes, More than a Princess will resonate with readers who love magic, suspense, girl power, and adventure.
    Show book
  • Heir of Fire - cover

    Heir of Fire

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 6
    • 25
    • 0
    Celaena has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak-but at an unspeakable cost. Now, she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth . . . a truth about her heritage that could change her life-and her future-forever. Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. Will Celaena find the strength to not only fight her inner demons, but to take on the evil that is about to be unleashed? 
     
    The bestselling series that has captured readers all over the world reaches new heights in this sequel to the New York Times best-selling Crown of Midnight. Packed with heart-pounding action, fierce new characters, and swoon-worthy romance, this third book will enthrall readers from start to finish.
    Show book