Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
American Murder - Three True Crime Classics - cover

American Murder - Three True Crime Classics

Darcy O'Brien

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Three riveting accounts of horrific crimes and the twisted minds behind them by an Edgar Award–winning author, in one volume. A father’s ultimate betrayal, a savage killing spree that terrorized Los Angeles, and the brutal slaying of a rich man’s college-aged daughter. In this heart-stopping true crime collection, New York Times–bestselling author Darcy O’Brien uncovers the dark underside of the American dream.  Murder in Little Egypt: Dr. John Dale Cavaness selflessly attended to the needs of his small, southern Illinois community. But when Cavaness was charged with the murder of his son Sean in December 1984, a radically different portrait of the physician and surgeon emerged. Throughout the three decades he had basked in the admiration and respect of the people of Little Egypt, Cavaness was privately terrorizing his family, abusing his employees, and making disastrous financial investments. In this New York Times bestseller, as more and more grisly details come to light, so too does rural America’s heritage of blood and violence become clear.  The Hillside Stranglers: For weeks, the body count of sexually violated, brutally murdered young women escalated. With increasing alarm, Los Angeles newspapers headlined the deeds of a serial killer they named the Hillside Strangler. But not until January 1979, more than a year later, would the mysterious disappearance of two university students near Seattle lead police to the arrest of a security guard—the handsome, charming, fast-talking Kenny Bianchi—and the discovery that the strangler was not one man but two. The Hillside Stranglers is the disturbing portrait of a city held hostage by fear and a pair of psychopaths whose lust was as insatiable as their hate.  A Dark and Bloody Ground: On a sweltering evening in August 1985, three men breached Roscoe Acker’s alarm and security systems, stabbed his daughter to death, and made off with over $1.9 million in cash. The killers were part of a hillbilly gang led by Sherry Sheets Hodge, a former prison guard, and her husband, lifetime criminal Benny Hodge. The stolen money came in handy shortly afterward, when they used it to lure Kentucky’s most flamboyant lawyer, Lester Burns, into representing them. “The smell of wet, coal-laden earth, white lightning, and cocaine-driven sweat rises from these marvelously atmospheric—and compelling—pages” (Kirkus Reviews).

Other books that might interest you

  • Criminal Minds - Sociopaths Serial Killers and Other Deviants - cover

    Criminal Minds - Sociopaths...

    Jeff Mariotte

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    An authorized tie-in to the popular TV show Criminal Minds 
    Most episodes of Criminal Minds feature a briefing where the show's team of FBI profilers defines the type of criminal they're looking for and provides some real-life examples. This book tells the story of those examples.Published to coincide with the release of season five of Criminal Minds on DVD Organized by type of criminal, including solo serial killers, sexual predators, and killers with famous victims; and tells the stories of many famous murderers, including David Berkowitz, Jeffrey Dahmer, Mark David Chapman, and the Zodiac killer Features photographs from the show  
    Criminal Minds: Sociopaths, Serial Killers, and Other Deviants is a fascinating, terrifying book about the criminal minds who live among us.
    Show book
  • The Power of Your Subconscious Mind - There Are No Limits to the Prosperity Happiness and Peace of Mind You Can Achieve Simply by Using the Power of the Subconscious Mind Updated - cover

    The Power of Your Subconscious...

    Joseph Murphy

    • 2
    • 30
    • 0
    The bestseller by a preeminent teacher of the New Thought movement, now revised and expanded with never-before- published commentary from the author.
     
    One of the bestselling self-help books of all time, The Power of Your Subconscious Mind has helped millions around the world achieve remarkable goals, simply by changing the way they think.
     
    Dr. Murphy?s mind-focusing techniques are based on a simple principle: If you believe in something without reservation and picture it in your mind, you can remove the subconscious obstacles that prevent you from achieving the results you want, and your belief can become a reality.
     
    As an advocate of what is now popularly known as the Law of Attraction, Murphy shows that anyone can unleash extraordinary mental powers to build self-confidence, to create harmonious relationships, to gain professional success, to amass wealth, to conquer fears and phobias, to banish bad habits, and even to effect physical healing and promote overall well-being and happiness.
    Show book
  • The Bridal Party - Perfect for fans of Lucy Foley's The Guest List - cover

    The Bridal Party - Perfect for...

    J G Murray

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Sometimes friendship can be murder... It's the weekend of Clarisse's bridal party, a trip the girls have all been looking forward to. Then, on the day of their flight, Tamsyn, the maid of honour, suddenly backs out. Upset and confused, they try to make the most of the stunning, isolated seaside house they find themselves in. But, there is a surprise in store - Tamsyn has organised a murder mystery, a sinister game in which they must discover a killer in their midst. As tensions quickly boil over, it becomes clear to them all that there are some secrets that won't stay buried...WINNER OF THE DEVIANT MINDS CRIME THRILLER PRIZE 2018READERS LOVE THE BRIDAL PARTY!"Dark, gritty, edge of your seat, addictive reading at its best" Karen, Netgalley"A chilling, sinister, intense thriller" Nicki, Netgalley
    Show book
  • 20 Classic Children Stories (ABCD Classics) - cover

    20 Classic Children Stories...

    Charles Dickens, Lewis Carroll,...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This volume edited by ShandonPress contains the following classic children's novels:
    
    - A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett 
    - The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett 
    - Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Maud Montgomery 
    - Little Women by Louisa May Alcott 
    - Black Beauty by Anna Sewell 
    - A Girl of the Limberlost by Gene Stratton-Porter 
    - The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain
    - Just so Stories by Rudyard Kipling 
    - The Blue Fairy Book by Andrew Lang 
    - Kidnapped by Robert Louis Stevenson 
    - The Princess and the Goblin by George MacDonald 
    - Five Children and It by Edith Nesbit 
    - Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm by Kate Douglas Wiggin 
    - The Magic Fishbone by Charles Dickens 
    - Grimm's Fairy Tales by Jacob Ludwig Karl Grimm 
    - Peter Pan (Peter and Wendy) by J.M. Barrie 
    - Alice's Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll 
    - The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by Lyman Frank Baum 
    - The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame 
    - Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson
    Show book
  • Justine - cover

    Justine

    Marquis de Sade

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Justine is set just before the French Revolution in France and tells the story of a beautiful young woman who goes under the name of Therese. Her story is recounted to Madame de Lorsagne while defending herself for her crimes, en route to punishment and death. She explains the series of misfortunes which have led her to be in her present situation.
    Show book
  • Lucretia Borgia - cover

    Lucretia Borgia

    Ferdinand Gregorovius

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Lucretia Borgia by Ferdinand Gregorovius
    Show book