Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Swearing Off Stars - A Novel - cover

Swearing Off Stars - A Novel

Danielle Wong

Publisher: She Writes Press

  • 1
  • 9
  • 0

Summary

Amelia Cole―Lia for short―is one of the first women studying abroad at Oxford University in the 1920s. Finally free from her overbearing Brooklyn parents, she finds a welcome sense of independence in British college life. Lia quickly falls for Scarlett Daniels, an aspiring actress and hardheaded protester. Scarlett introduces her to an exciting gender-equality movement with high stakes. But when their secret love clashes with political uprising, their relationship is one of the casualties. 



Years later, Lia’s only memories of Scarlett are obscured by the glossy billboards she sees advertising the actress’s new films. But when a mysterious letter surfaces, she is immediately thrown back into their unsettled romance. Lia’s travels span oceans and continents in her search for Scarlett. Spread across time and place, their story is one of desire, adventure, and ultimately, devotion. Lia will stop at nothing to win Scarlett back, but she soon realizes that uncovering lost love might not be attainable after all.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Priory of the Orange Tree - cover

    The Priory of the Orange Tree

    Samantha Shannon

    • 2
    • 6
    • 0
    The New York Times bestselling "epic feminist fantasy perfect for fans of Game of Thrones" (Bustle). 
     
    NAMED A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR BY: 
    AMAZON (Top 100 Editors Picks and Science Fiction and Fantasy) * CHICAGO PUBLIC LIBRARY * BOOKPAGE * AUTOSTRADDLE 
     
    A world divided. 
    A queendom without an heir. 
    An ancient enemy awakens. 
     
    The House of Berethnet has ruled Inys for a thousand years. Still unwed, Queen Sabran the Ninth must conceive a daughter to protect her realm from destruction--but assassins are getting closer to her door.  
     
    Ead Duryan is an outsider at court. Though she has risen to the position of lady-in-waiting, she is loyal to a hidden society of mages. Ead keeps a watchful eye on Sabran, secretly protecting her with forbidden magic. 
     
    Across the dark sea, Tané has trained all her life to be a dragonrider, but is forced to make a choice that could see her life unravel. 
     
    Meanwhile, the divided East and West refuse to parley, and forces of chaos are rising from their sleep.
    Show book
  • Jailhouse MPREG - Gay Western Romance - cover

    Jailhouse MPREG - Gay Western...

    Pam Paulson

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    Clyde was being sentenced to 11 months in Jail for Robbing a BANK! 
     
    Arriving nervously, he struck a chord with Will, the Guard right away, and the gaze they gave each other was one of passion and magic. 
     
    Let them unwind and get hot and steamy in this magical male pregnancy short novella. 
     
    Happy ending guaranteed, so buy now!  
    Show book
  • The Alpha's Heat - MM Alpha Omega Fated Mates Mpreg Shifter - cover

    The Alpha's Heat - MM Alpha...

    Sasha Moon

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    Eli PascalIt wasn’t supposed to get this far. All I needed was a particular crystal to cure my father’s heat exhaustion from not having a mate. Too bad the people in Meridian think that unmated Omegas are some sort of bad luck. I end up thrown in jail and under the watch of a huge handsome alpha.God, why him? I detest him and want him at the same time.But I can’t let myself get fooled. No, all alphas are bad. All they do is pump you up with kids and split… Right?Rall Endow is the head alpha of Meridian, and when an orange vanilla scent swirls his way, his inner alpha answers to its call.Will he let Eli just slip out of his hands and cement his beliefs of all alphas being rotten? Or will he step up and be a good alpha daddy?
    Show book
  • Stolen By The Alpha - MM Alpha Omega Fated Mates Mpreg Shifter - cover

    Stolen By The Alpha - MM Alpha...

    Sasha Moon

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    Percy
    
     
    
    
     
    No way was I going to marry someone just because my father said I had to. I was an adult. I could do what I wanted. But not according to my Alpha Father. Apparently, he’d meticulously arranged this marriage for me.
    
     
    
    
     
    I couldn’t fathom why he would do such a thing.
    
     
    
    
     
    Curious about the alpha, I snuck up behind him. But he caught me. I ran as fast as my little legs could carry me, but in the end he had the endurance and I didn't.
    
     
    
    
     
    I feared this was the end.
    
     
    
    
     
    Jeff
    
     
    
    
     
    A wolf and a rabbit? Ha! That’s a good one. I scoffed as my father informed me about my betrothed. This was a joke, right? I mean, I eat rabbits for breakfast and now you’re telling me that I’d be mated to one?
    
     
    
    
     
    That was the best laugh I’d had in a long while.
    
     
    
    
     
    Then I saw my Alpha Father’s dead-set eyes and I stopped laughing.
    
     
    
    
     
    Wait? This isn’t some kind of twisted April Fool’s joke?
    
     
    
    
     
    I was sure this was going to turn out terrible, but I went to the ball our parents set up. We were both from upper-crust society, so it was expected. I expected to have a nice dinner, maybe some dancing and then a nice, heart-to-heart talk with his Alpha Father where we could clear up this little…misunderstanding.
    
     
    
    
     
    What I didn’t expect was for him and our babies to be kidnapped.
    
     
    
    
     
    This 15k word story contains an HEA, Mpreg, and babies at the end. Cute babies. Insufferable little tykes that get into all sorts of trouble.
    Show book
  • The Alpha King's Omega - MM Alpha Omega Fated Mates Mpreg Shifter - cover

    The Alpha King's Omega - MM...

    Sasha Moon

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    "I was doomed. I couldn't have children, yet I wanted to be his Omega..." Ariol is an Omega who doesn't mind doing his destined duties. In fact he's always wanted a family mainly for the benefit of having kids. After a brutal diagnosis saying he can’t have kids, Ariol falls off the deep end and into the arms of his fated mate, who happens to be a cocky Alpha.How can Ariol accept love when he can’t have kids?Brennan is used to the life of being an Alpha, countless Omegas and a never ending supply of money. But when Ariol’s scent calls out in distress all of the one nightstands come to an end in the blink of an eye.Brennan is going to show Ariol how an Alpha creates miracles… But can he get him to stay when there’s a kingdom at risk?"Ariol, don't run from me. I need you… And you need me." This is an mpreg romance with NO cheating and a wonderful happy ever after ready to make your day shine!
    Show book
  • Alpha Stepbrother (Omegaverse Nonshifter Mpreg MM Romance) - cover

    Alpha Stepbrother (Omegaverse...

    Jane Asherwood

    • 1
    • 10
    • 0
    A secret marriage, a secret baby, and a secret mate–will Owen and Caleb ever find out they are meant to be?
    Caleb
    My stepbrother, Owen, is a beautiful, young omega, and I'm going to make him mine.
    I never thought I would find my omega so close to home. When my mother married his father, Owen became my stepbrother. Now his father's scheming is keeping us apart. I won't allow that. Owen is mine. No one will have him but me.
    Owen
    So much has happened since my father married Caleb's mother. We're stepbrothers, but we're so much more.
    My life is so complicated now. A secret marriage and a secret baby don't make it any easier for me to figure out what I feel for this gorgeous, domineering alpha.
    Is this real? Could we be fated for each other, or will my father's threat of an arranged marriage keep me apart from my alpha, the man I love?
    Show book