Enjoy 2020 without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Not Afraid - On Fear Heartbreak Raising a Baby Girl and Cage Fighting - cover

Not Afraid - On Fear Heartbreak Raising a Baby Girl and Cage Fighting

Daniele Bolelli

Publisher: Disinformation Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

This book is a meditation on facing fear, heartbreak, and mortality. In his own irreverent and inimitable style, Daniele Bolelli tells the story of his courtship and marriage, which would have been a sweet story had not all hell broken loose. Or as he puts it, “Hell was a ninja who entered my house without being seen. It all began in such an unremarkable way that it barely registered as anything meaningful. Little did I know that the experiences of the next five months would rip me apart and kill me. They would re-forge me into a different man. On that day, I became an unwilling traveler on a journey through the heart of fear. Every step along the way has forced me to face my fears time and time again.”   It is the story of a man who in rapid succession has his wife die in his arms, loses his house and his job, and is left to care for his 19-month old daughter. Oddly enough, the best tools for coping with all of this were those he learned in more than two decades of martial arts practice. Not Afraid tackles this extremely heavy subject matter in a light-hearted style and with an attitude that acknowledges pain and suffering but denies them dominion over one’s life. 

Other books that might interest you

  • Look What You made Me Do - Fathers Who Kill - cover

    Look What You made Me Do -...

    Megan Norris

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    One Australian woman is hospitalised every three hours and two more lose their lives each week as a result of family violence. But for some women there is a punishment more enduring than injury or their own death.
     
     This book is a timely exploration into the evil done by vengeful fathers who kill their own flesh and blood in order to punish wives who have chosen to end abusive relationships.
     
    Focussing on seven different but equally harrowing cases of ‘spousal revenge’, author  Megan Norris draws on her own observations as a former court and crime reporter, examining the murders of thirteen innocent children who became collateral damage in callous crimes committed by angry dads whose real targets were the children’s mothers.
     
    From the harrowing 1993 kidnap and murder of three-year-old Kelly East in WA, to the chilling murder of Darcey Freeman whose dad hurled her from Melbourne’s West Gate Bridge in 2009, these stories highlight the chilling connection between intimate partner abuse and retaliatory homicide. 
     
    They show it’s not only mothers who are in danger when domestic violence turns deadly.
    Show book
  • A Basque Diary - Living in Hondarribia - cover

    A Basque Diary - Living in...

    Alex Hallatt

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    When cartoonist Alex Hallatt wanted to learn Spanish, she moved to the Basque Country. She thought she might stay a few months and ended up there for over two years, living in a small town near San Sebastian.
    
     
    This is the illustrated account of her years in Hondarribia. It is a useful resource for anyone planning on spending time in the Basque Country, detailing what to expect in each month and how to make the most of the geographical, culinary and cultural attractions on offer.
    Show book
  • Of Gods and Men - 100 Stories from Ancient Greece and Rome - cover

    Of Gods and Men - 100 Stories...

    Daisy Dunn

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    Daisy Dunn offers a deeply researched collection of stories reflecting the eclectic richness and depth of the classical literary canon. 
     
    Striking a balance between the 'classic classic' (such as Dryden's translation of the Aeneid) and the less familiar or expected, Of Gods and Men ranges from the epic poetry of Homer to the histories of Arrian and Diodorus Siculus and the sprawling Theogony of Hesiod; from the tragedies of Aeschylus and Euripides to the biographies of Suetonius and Plutarch and the pen portraits of Theophrastus; and from the comedies of Plautus to the the fictions of Petronius and Apuleius. 
     
    Of Gods and Men is embellished by translations from writers as diverse as Queen Elizabeth I (Boethius), Percy Bysshe Shelley (Plato), Walter Pater (Apuleius's Golden Ass), Lawrence of Arabia (Homer's Odyssey), Louis MacNeice (Aeschylus's Agamemnon) and Ted Hughes (Ovid's Pygmalion), as well as a number of accomplished translations by Daisy herself.
    Show book
  • Common People - An Anthology of Working-Class Writers - cover

    Common People - An Anthology of...

    Kit de Waal

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Common People is the latest campaigning anthology from the publisher of bestsellers The Good Immigrant (70k copies sold to date) and Repeal the 8th.It features original work from some of our best-known writers: Kit De Waal, Malorie Blackman, Lisa McInerney, Cathy Rentzenbrink, Stuart Maconie, Louise Doughty, Damian Barr and Daljit Nagra among others.Kit de Waal’s debut novel, My Name is Leon, was an international bestseller. It won Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year 2017 and was shortlisted for the Costa First Book Award, the Desmond Elliott Prize and the British Book Awards 2017 Best Debut Book of the Year.Kit is one of the UK’s most prominent voices calling for inclusivity and working-class representation in the arts, and has established a creative writing scholarship at Birkbeck University.Almost half of all authors, writers and
    translators in the UK come from professional, middle-class backgrounds,
    compared with just 10 per cent of those from working-class backgrounds. This
    anthology addresses that pressing imbalance.There will be events across the UK on publication, including all the major literary festivals.For fans of The Good Immigrant, Know Your Place: Essays on the Working Class by the Working Class, Brit(ish) by Afua Hirsch.
    Show book
  • Bertrand Russell: The Works - cover

    Bertrand Russell: The Works

    Bertrand Russell

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Russell led the British "revolt against idealism" in the early 20th century. He is considered one of the founders of analytic philosophy along with his predecessor Gottlob Frege, colleague G. E. Moore, and his protégé Ludwig Wittgenstein. He is widely held to be one of the 20th century's premier logicians. Russell was an anti-war activist; he went to prison for his pacifism during World War I. Later, he campaigned against Adolf Hitler, then criticised Stalinist totalitarianism, attacked the involvement of the United States in the Vietnam War. In 1950 Russell was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature. The Books: The Problems of Philosophy [1912] Mysticism and Logic and Other Essays [1914] Our Knowledge of the External World As a Field for Scientific Method In Philosophy [1914] Political Ideals [1917] Proposed Roads To Freedom [1918] The Practice and Theory of Bolshevism [1920] The Analysis of Mind [1921] Free Thought and Official Propaganda [1922] The Problem of China [1922]
    Show book
  • Burning - An Anthology of Short Thrillers - cover

    Burning - An Anthology of Short...

    Peter Oxley, Simon Finnie, Craig...

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    If you woke up with a gun in your face, what would you do?Plagued by mysterious dreams which are quickly becoming a real-life nightmare, where would you turn?What was the real truth behind the Iraqi invasion and the search for WMDs?What if the one person you relied on to keep you safe, instead became your jailer?Forced to confront the mistakes of your past, where would you hide?14 original stories with one red-hot connection… Burning.Thrillers to shock. Thrillers to excite. Thrillers to challenge and make you think.An anthology of 14 original short stories by a collection of outstanding thriller writers.Craig Hart’s "Loose Ends" thrusts a wise-cracking PI into the center of a deadly—and highly personal—case.In Fiona Campbell’s "From a Flicker to a Flame", a woman finds herself trapped, a prisoner in a loveless marriage.In "The Five Votive Candles of Joe Wray" by Simon Bewick, Joe Wray is a husband, a father, a brother and a business owner. They all need his protection. He doesn’t have a prayer.A mysterious man sparks unexplainable fires in Carla Day’s "Scintillation", where a woman’s dreams may be the clue to saving the world.The dark and seedy underbelly of the City of London is exposed in Will Patching’s "Old Flame": a tale of lust, greed and a decidedly nasty twist.The repercussions of the Iraq war and memories of WMDs plague the characters of Dana Lyons’ "Fire and Brimstone", with a weapon which could truly be the end of all things.In "Ava Edison and the Burning Man", by Marcus Cook, a thief with an unlikely accomplice faces a race against time to get a priceless jewel for a ruthless client.Tom Goymour’s "Circle of Friends" finds a man and his long-forgotten friends being forced to finally confront the mistakes of their youth.In Peter Ellis’ "Reprogrammed", a woman wakes in a strange warehouse with terrifying new abilities, but with no knowledge of how she got there.The hero of Michael Peirce’s "Accidental Operator" unwittingly becomes the key member of a new, highly deadly team of mercenaries."Valley of the Shadow" by Pat Moore is a moving exploration of love and loss, where those left behind suffer more than the ones they mourn.Lori Lacefield’s "The Fire Keeper" follows Frankie Johnson, an FBI Profiler, as she tries to decode a terrifyingly macabre fire ritual, before the killers strike again.Free will, morality and redemption lie at the heart of Simon Finnie’s "Burning", as a Professor is forced to confront the mistakes of his youth.And finally, in Peter Oxley’s "Burning Greed", a thief simply has to battle through a burning island to steal the score of his life: what could possibly go wrong?Burning - bringing destruction or a new beginning? To find out, get Burning: An Anthology of Short Thrillers - now!
    Show book