Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Haints of the Hills - North Carolina's Haunted Hundred Mountains - cover

Haints of the Hills - North Carolina's Haunted Hundred Mountains

Daniel W. Barefoot

Publisher: Blair

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Daniel W. Barefoot’s colleagues in the North Carolina General Assembly call him their “resident historian.” Now, he’s their resident folklorist, too. North Carolina’s Haunted Hundred, Barefoot’s three-volume series, is a sampler of the diverse supernatural history of the Tar Heel State. One story is drawn from each of the state’s hundred counties. You’ll find tales of ghosts, witches, demons, spook lights, unidentified flying objects, unexplained phenomena, and more. Many of the stories have never before been widely circulated in print. Haints of the Hills is a collection of twenty-seven tales from the state’s mountainous west. You’ll be chilled to learn of the red-and-white-striped monstrosity that may still inhabit the Valley River at the site the Indians called the “Leech Place,” as told in the Cherokee County story, “The Giant Bloodsucker.” You’ll be warmed by the Christ-like stranger who came to Bat Cave to repair a rift between neighbors, then vanished as mysteriously as he arrived, as revealed in the Henderson County story, “The Carpenter.” You’ll want to travel the lonely stretch of road in Avery County where locals have witnessed the spirit of Captain Robert Sevier, the seven-foot-tall hero of the American Revolution, as laid out in “The Long Trek Home.”
 
Dan Barefoot was born in Charlotte, North Carolina, on March 18, 1951. He is a 1973 Phi Beta Kappa graduate of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, where he also earned his Juris Doctor degree from the University of North Carolina School of Law. Barefoot is the author of four travel guides—Touring the Backroads of North Carolina’s Upper Coast, Touring the Backroads of North Carolina’s Lower Coast, Touring South Carolina’s Revolutionary War Sites, and Touring North Carolina’s Revolutionary War Sites—as well as a biography of esteemed confederate general Robert Hoke and a trilogy of ghost stories representing all of North Carolina’s one hundred counties. Barefoot’s most recent books are Haunted Halls of Ivy: Ghosts of Southern Colleges and Universities, Let Us Die Like Brave Men, Hark the Sound of Tar Heel Voices, and Spirits of ’76. From 1998 until 2002, Barefoot served three terms in the North Carolina House of Representatives, representing the 44th district. He has also served on numerous boards and is active in his church and community. Barefoot currently serves as the city attorney for Lincolnton, North Carolina. He is a frequent speaker to cultural, civic, and church groups throughout the Southeast.

Other books that might interest you

  • Dark Resurrections - The Brenna Strachan Series #3 - cover

    Dark Resurrections - The Brenna...

    Hadena James

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Someone has set about resurrecting the souls of the Four Horsemen. Each Horsemen is known for their hatred of Humanity and willingness to do anything to eradicate the breed. Their plan is to use infants as the vessels for the resurrected. With three pregnant women in her family due any day, Brenna Strachan must find out how they intend to use the infants for the resurrections. As well as discover exactly who is behind this heinous act. Her adversaries are doing what they can to keep her off their scent, even attacking cities using mythics to keep her busy. Can Brenna find out who it is and stop them before her own family becomes their prey?
    Show book
  • Once Upon a Vow - cover

    Once Upon a Vow

    Erin Lee

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    Before you say “I do,” ask yourself: 
    What would I do if the monster was the one I pledged forever to? 
    How bad can ‘for worse’ get? 
    Meet Tendra, Colby, Aurora, Liza, Jackson, Daddy, August, Rich, Gina, Malcolm and Kate in six twisted tales that will send you running as far from love as you can get. 
    Show book
  • Blood Dolls - Blood Vice #4 - cover

    Blood Dolls - Blood Vice #4

    Angela Roquet

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    (Blood Vice Book Four) 
    Jenna thought becoming a Blood Vice agent would solve all her problems, but now she's sworn to solve House Lilith's problems, too. And there's no shortage of trouble when dealing with the most regal vampire family in the United States. 
    The duke's first assignment for Jenna and company is to locate Ursula, the estranged Duchess of House Lilith suspected of murdering her sire. It's a tall order—a wild bat chase, some might say—and the long hours with half-sired agent Roman Knight soon drive Jenna to distraction, and possible destruction. Lusting after another vampire's pending scion is a dangerous game, one with legal ramifications in Jenna's brave new underworld.
    Show book
  • Demonic Dreams - Dreams and Reality #13 - cover

    Demonic Dreams - Dreams and...

    Hadena James

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    Aislinn Cain wakes up on a cold concrete floor having been drugged and kidnapped by serial killer Raphael Henders.  Despite the chaos, she has a few questions; is Gabriel still alive?  If so, for how long? And where exactly is she? 
    As the answers start to reveal themselves, Aislinn comes to the realization that Raphael Henders is unlike any serial killer she has ever faced before.  Not only is he brilliant, cunning, sadistic, and brutal, he is part of the organized ring of serial killers that the SCTU has been trying to eliminate.  More importantly, he is just one step removed from the leader of the organization and he has answers that Aislinn needs to put her past behind her. 
    To survive and get what she needs, Aislinn will have to play Raphael’s game.  Death is not an option, pitting Aislinn’s own desire to survive against her need to figure out who exactly was behind the murder of Aislinn’s father and sister all those years ago.
    Show book
  • Shadow Descendant - Descendants #1 - cover

    Shadow Descendant - Descendants #1

    L.D. Hall

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A powerful witch, a centuries-old vampire, and a passion that can't be denied… 
     
    Naomi Feldman has never understood the strange energy that hums beneath her senses. But when she comes across an ancient artifact that seems to beckon to her, she may finally find the answers she's been seeking. 
     
    Alaric, a centuries-old vampire, lives a solitary life by choice. When he's assigned to protect Naomi, long dormant emotions stir to life. 
     
    Pursued by a dangerous enemy and battling their growing attraction, Naomi and Alaric follow the mystery of the artifact from the museums of Athens, the streets of London, towards a confrontation that will decide the fate of two worlds… 
     
    Fans of Charlaine Harris, Deborah Harkness, and Karen Marie Moning will love Shadow Descendant, the first book of a mesmerizing new paranormal romance series. Scroll up and grab your copy today! 
    Show book
  • Blood Sweat and Tears - Blood Vice - cover

    Blood Sweat and Tears - Blood Vice

    Angela Roquet

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    (Blood Vice Book Six) 
    Jenna Skye, the new Duchess Tempus of House Lilith, is losing her mind. After spending eight months holed up in the duke's manor with her new sire, the slightly nutty and ever moody Ursula, all she wants to do is to get out of the house. She'll take any excuse she can to ditch the princess's etiquette lessons and do something worthwhile with her time—even if it means visiting a fancy blood finishing school where one of Dante's potential scions has gone missing. 
    Jenna's sudden jealousy forces her to take a closer look at the conflicted feelings she has for Dante, and the guilt she still harbors over Roman Knight's fateful farewell. Of course, a house full of new residents, preparations for the upcoming All Hallows' Eve ball, and unsolved murders don't leave much time for introspection.
    Show book