Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Haunted Fields - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have 800,000 other books to choose from, so you can read without limits!

Haunted Fields

Dan Moore

Publisher: Rowanvale Books

  • 1
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Haunted Fields follows teenager Freddie Forster as he navigates the unexpected events in a very different summer break. Having planned to spend the holidays partying, Freddie is disappointed when his step-mum refuses to fund his lifestyle and he finds himself banished from the family home. He travels north, and comes across a farm on the outskirts of a secret rural community. Freddie soon learns that fear and rumours surround the village, and that there have been sightings of a ghost. 
 
Freddie’s involvement in helping to save the struggling farm, as well as uncovering the truth about the haunted fields, gains him both friends and enemies. As he discovers more secrets about his own family as well as the village, Freddie has to fight to rise above the paranoia and lies. 
 
Dan Moore has crafted a brilliant tale of a seventeen-year-old boy forced from his comfort zone into a community haunted by the secrets of its past. Haunted Fields is an examination of its characters’ fears: of teenage angst, family secrets, hysteria. It also explores what happens when someone is confronted with the terrifying reality of seeing something, which they know can't possibly be real, with their own eyes.
 
Dan is a young writer from Lincolnshire who, having decided he should do something with his vivid imagination, began writing whilst studying at the University of Lincoln, aged nineteen. Dan would love to pursue a career in writing, and is in the process of planning his next project.

Other books that might interest you

  • Unidentified Funny Objects 6 - Unidentified Funny Objects #6 - cover

    Unidentified Funny Objects 6 -...

    Jack Campbell, Alan Dean Foster,...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    SCIENCE FICTION, FANTASY, HUMOR 
     
    * Cranky Goblin Cooks 
    * Unscrupulous Chemists 
    * Lecherous Space Pirates 
    * Disagreeable Alien Symbiotes 
    * Soul-Searching Snot Elementals 
     
    The Unidentified Funny Objects series serves an annual dose of funny. zany, and unusual science fiction and fantasy stories. All-new fiction from the genre's top voices! Our sixth volume features a Mad Amos story by Alan Dean Foster, a Harry the Book tale by Mike Resnick, and an Alexander Outland short by Gini Koch. Jim Hines reimagines a Game of Thrones with goblins in it, Ken Liu begs a sentient AI to spare him, and Esther Friesner takes us on a tour of Chelm, complete with dragons and gratuitous footnotes. There are also tales of an interdimensional secret agent, a warrior-writer on a quest from an evil god, a necromancer intent on rehabilitating the image of his profession, and many more. 
     
     
    Show book
  • The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde - cover

    The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll...

    Robert Louis Stevenson

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    The most infamous of horror stories—a disturbing examination of man’s capacity for evilOne pitch-black London morning, a ghoulish little man tramples a young girl and continues heedlessly on his way. Caught by a passerby and returned to the scene of the crime, the man is forced to pay £100 in restitution. He produces ten pounds in gold and a check for the remainder. Curiously, the check bears the signature of the well-regarded Dr. Henry Jekyll. Even stranger, Dr. Jekyll’s will names this same awful and mysterious little man, Mr. Hyde, as the sole beneficiary. Troubled by the coincidence, Dr. Jekyll’s attorney visits his client. What he uncovers is a tale so strange and terrifying it has seeped into the very fabric of our consciousness.An immediate success upon its publication in 1886 and a cultural touchstone to this day, The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde is one of the most disturbing stories ever told.  This ebook has been professionally proofread to ensure accuracy and readability on all devices.
    Show book
  • Ratha's Creature - cover

    Ratha's Creature

    Clare Bell

    • 1
    • 26
    • 0
    One brave feline, exiled from her clan, must fight to survive in this PEN Award–winning author’s epic fantasy adventure about a tribe of prehistoric cats. Twenty-five million years in the past, a clan of sentient, prehistoric big cats called “the Named” have their own language, traditions, and law. Led by Meoran, the Named herd horses and deer for food. They keep order and peace, fending off predatory raiders—the UnNamed—from all sides. But, the battle has taken its toll, and the Named are skirting the edge of survival. Much to the displeasure of Meoran, a young female named Ratha discovers a powerful defense against the UnNamed. She calls it “the Red Tongue,” and it is a creature of incredible power. Red Tongue is fire, a force of both life and destruction that must be at once nurtured and tamed. Sensing that Ratha’s mastery of fire threatens his power, Meoran banishes her from the clan. As she travels out amongst the savage UnNamed, Ratha learns about both them and herself. But, her tribe needs her. Can she return? Will the Named survive constant attacks without the Red Tongue? Will the power of the Red Tongue change the clan forever? Acclaimed author Clare Bell crafts a serious coming-of-age story filled with adventure, triumph, and heartbreak. Perfect for readers of Jean M. Auel’s The Clan of the Cave Bear, Ratha’s Creature will have readers hooked and clamoring for more stories of these big, noble cats.  
    Show book
  • Suns Eclipsed - The Indigo Reports #2 - cover

    Suns Eclipsed - The Indigo...

    Tracy Cooper-Posey

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    It’s not an impossible mission.  It’s an insane one. 
     
    Ten people.  Eriumans, Karassians, Free-Staters.  None of them armed with anything more lethal than a single repaired and unreliable one-handed ghostmaker and a handful of bladed weapons, all of them with mental instabilities from years of brain wipes and memory manipulations.   Worse, Bellona Cardenas is uncertain of their loyalties.  Ten fragile people to infiltrate the most secure facility in the Republic. 
     
    So begins Suns Eclipsed, the second book in the Indigo Reports space opera science fiction series by award-winning SF author Tracy Cooper-Posey. 
     
    The Indigo Reports series: 
    0.5 Flying Blind 
    1.0 New Star Rising 
    1.1 But Now I See 
    2.0 Suns Eclipsed 
    3.0 Worlds Beyond 
    __ 
     
    Praise for the Indigo Reports series: 
     
    Tracy makes the world come alive and by the time you get to the end of the story you’re sitting on the edge 
     
    An exciting glimpse of what's to come by this author in the SciFi genre. 
     
    True SciFi is a magnificent world to enter and this is just the beginning of what I know will be a great series. 
     
    Hits all the things that I love about Sci-fi. 
     
    So much story!! So much promise!! This will keep my inner nerd happy. 
     
    Keeping close tabs on this new Sci-fi series. 
     
    I am a big fan of Tracy Cooper-Posey’s because I thoroughly enjoy the intrigue she generates with her fictional-but-believable worlds and unpredictable plots 
     
    This little window into the world of SciFi did not disappoint me, in fact, I think I'm addicted!! 
    __ 
     
    Tracy Cooper-Posey is an Amazon #1 Best Selling Author.  She writes science fiction and romance.  She has published over 85 books since 1999, been nominated for five CAPAs including Favorite Author, and won the Emma Darcy Award. 
     
    She turned to indie publishing in 2011. Her indie titles have been nominated four times for Book Of The Year and Byzantine Heartbreak was a 2012 winner.  Faring Soul won a SFR Galaxy Award in 2016 for “Most Intriguing Philosophical/Social Science Questions in Galaxybuilding”  She has been a national magazine editor and for a decade she taught writing at MacEwan University. 
     
    She is addicted to Irish Breakfast tea and chocolate, sometimes taken together. In her spare time she enjoys history, Sherlock Holmes, reading science fiction and ignoring her treadmill. An Australian Canadian, she lives in Edmonton, Canada with her husband, a former professional wrestler, where she moved in 1996 after meeting him on-line.
    Show book
  • The General Zapped an Angel - New Stories of Fantasy and Science Fiction - cover

    The General Zapped an Angel -...

    Howard Fast

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “The General Zapped an Angel was written for fun, and offers me a chance to smile at the absurdity of human existence. Therefore, these stories of fantasy and science fiction are among the most serious writing I have done.” —Howard FastNearly forty years after the publication of his first story, “The Wrath of Purple,” in the science fiction magazine Amazing Stories, Howard Fast returned to the genre with a set of nine supremely entertaining tales. In this collection, a Vietnam general shoots down what appears to be an angel, a man sells his soul to the devil for a copy of the next day’s Wall Street Journal, and a group of alien beings bestow a mouse with human thought and emotion. Fast, one of the bestselling authors of the twentieth century, skewers war hawks, oil speculators, and profit-at-all-costs capitalism, issues that are still relevant today. This ebook features an illustrated biography of Howard Fast including rare photos from the author’s estate.
    Show book
  • The Dark Zone - cover

    The Dark Zone

    Rita Schulz

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Welcome to The Dark Zone where our future is doubtful.A place outside reality where the human race faces the end of the world. A place where rebellion against injustice threatens to destroy all we have built.Our hopes and dreams may be gone forever.But just when we think the human race may collapse and disappear a glimmer of hope appears. Rita Schulz takes readers on a journey to show us what might be.  So come along and enjoy the danger and the adventure as we travel across time and space.
    Show book