Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Me Myself and Them - cover

Me Myself and Them

Dan Mooney

Publisher: Legend Press

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

Winner of the 2016 Luke Bitmead Bursary 
'I've never quite read anything like it... funny, moving and terrifying all at once' Rick O'Shea 
Struggling to cope with a tragic loss, Denis Murphy has learned to live a bit differently. Both his friends are used to it - the only problem is his monstrous housemates. 
When his enigmatic ex-girlfriend comes back into his life, she threatens to shatter the finely crafted world around him. 
As Denis begins to re-emerge from his sheltered existence and rediscover the person he used to be, things turn nasty, and he is forced to confront the demons that share not only his house, but also his head. 
What Reviewers and Readers Say: 
'One part The Rosie Project, one part personal Heart Of Darkness, one part Stephen King - I've never quite read anything like it...There are many novels around in recent years with characters struggling with their mental health but none that I've read as original as this. Me, Myself And Them incredibly manages to be funny, moving and terrifying all at once ...I started thinking it was a story of the absurd but welled up by the time I got to the end. Dan Mooney has something quite unique here in a story of one man's journey through (literally) his own imprisoning demons of mental health. Give it a try. I hope it finds the audience it deserves.' Rick O'Shea 
'As witty as it is unsettling ... I missed my train stop, twice, because of this book ... Dan Mooney has crafted a story of the strongest kind, that is, one that holds the power to prompt thought and dialogue. And this is a story much needed.' The BookBag 
 
'Remarkable, fascinating and unnerving. Dan warmly invites us in and shows us to our comfy seat as he introduces us to a shocking post-trauma world where everything and nothing makes perfect sense.' Annie West

Other books that might interest you

  • The Blackie & Care Feline Mysteries Omnibus - Books 1 and 2 - cover

    The Blackie & Care Feline...

    Clea Simon

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Introducing Blackie, an unusual feline hero, and his companion Care in this dark mystery series.
    The Ninth Life
    The past is an enigma to Blackie, the voice of Clea Simon's dark new mystery. This unusual feline hero and his pink-haired companion, Care, are two small creatures struggling to survive in a nightmarish urban landscape, fighting not only for their own lives but to avenge the memories of those they love.
    As Dark As My Fur
    Blackie does not trust Care's new client, Mr Gravitz, who hired Care to shadow one of his workers, a man he suspects is stealing from him. Blackie knows the client is lying, but how can he protect Care when he is only a cat? The adventure continues for this detective duo as they fight for their lives and for the memories of those they love.
    Show book
  • Sidney Sheldon's The Tides of Memory - cover

    Sidney Sheldon's The Tides of...

    Sidney Sheldon, Tilly Bagshawe

    • 1
    • 28
    • 0
    New York Times bestselling author Tilly Bagshawe, who delivered the late beloved author’s brilliance in Sidney Sheldon’s After the Darkness, is back with a stunning tale of duplicity and vengeance in Sidney Sheldon’s The Tides of Memory. 
    The members of the formidable and captivating De Vere family of London live enviable lives in the world’s most powerful and desirable places, from London’s poshest neighborhoods to influential boardrooms. But when old secrets begin to unravel and threaten everything the De Veres have worked for, the ramifications are deadly. 
    Bagshawe upholds Sheldon’s legacy with a blistering story of revenge, passion, and betrayal in a book that is quintessential Sheldon.
    Show book
  • Hardcastle's Runaway - cover

    Hardcastle's Runaway

    Graham Ison

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Hardcastle’s mission to find a headstrong young woman leads to some disturbing twists and turns.  
     March, 1919. The head of CID at New Scotland Yard has a task for Divisional Detective Inspector Hardcastle of A Division: find Lily Musgrave, the missing daughter of Austen Musgrave MP.  
     Hardcastle, aided by Detective Sergeant Charles Marriott, discovers that the headstrong Lily Musgrave provides risqué entertainment for a number of ex-officers. When she returns home of her own accord, however, Hardcastle assumes the case is closed and turns his attention to arranging the finer details of his daughter Maud’s wedding.  
     But no sooner is the wedding over than Lily Musgrave goes missing again. And this time, finding her might not be so easy . . .
    Show book
  • Murder with Majesty - Auguste Didier Mystery #10 - cover

    Murder with Majesty - Auguste...

    Amy Myers

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Spring of 1905. Getrude Pennyfather, American heiress and folklore enthusiast, is set to enjoy the perfect English village wedding. Even King Edward VII is due to attend. What more could a society bride dream of? For as she arrives in Frimhurst, Gertrude believes that her fiancé, Arthur Montfoy, is the lord of the manor and the joyful celebrations of the local folk seem to confirm this. Indeed, everything about Frimurst seems picture-perfect. Perhaps a bit too perfect… 
    As time goes by and her wedding approaches, Gertrude realises that not everything in Frimhurst is as it seems. Does that include her husband-to-be, and the wonderful future she has planned for them? 
    Meanwhile a renowned French chef, and distant relative of the King by marriage, is working hard to produce the perfect wedding banquet, at the King's command. August Didier is a master of his craft, and his focus is such that little distracts him from his enormous task. Until, that is, he spots a familiar face among the wedding guests. The face of a man who has sworn to murder him. Very shortly afterwards, the body of a murder victim is discovered, but it is not Auguste – for now, at least. 
    The death brings Scotland Yard to the scene, and Auguste is reunited with his friend, Inspector Rose. As the men investigate, the bucolic façade that Frimhurst has produced for the wedding is stripped away to reveal lies, frustrated loves, tales of financial ruin and rampant dishonesty. 
    Auguste Didier and Inspector Rose have just a short time to find out the truth. For death is closing in on Auguste — will the murders be solved in time for him to outwit it? Only time will tell…  
    Murder with Majesty is a delightful mystery, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie. 
    Praise for Amy Myers 
    'Reading like a cross between Hercule Poirot and Mrs Beeton…this feast of entertainment is packed with splendid late-Victorian detail' - Library Journal Amy Myers was born in Kent, where she still lives, although she has now ventured to the far side of the Medway. For many years a director of a London publishing company, she is now a full-time writer. Married to an American, she lived for some years in Paris, where, surrounded by food, she first dreamed up her Victorian chef detective Auguste Didier. Currently she is writing her contemporary crime series starring Jack Colby, car detective, and in between his adventures continuing her Marsh & Daughter series and her Victorian chimney sweep Tom Wasp novels .
    Show book
  • Hardcastle's Traitors - cover

    Hardcastle's Traitors

    Graham Ison

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    It is New Year’s Eve 1915 and the Hardcastle family are welcoming 1916 at their home in Kennington, London. But an hour into the New Year, Hardcastle is called to a murder in a jeweller’s shop in Vauxhall.  In a first for the A Division senior detective, the killers apparently made their escape in a motor car.As Hardcastle’s enquiry progresses, what he believed to be a fairly straightforward investigation turns into one with ramifications extending from Chelsea via Sussex and Surrey to France, close to the fighting on the Western Front. And as is so often the case in wartime, the army becomes involved and so, to Hardcastle’s dismay, does Scotland Yard’s Special Branch . . .
    Show book
  • Summer Rain - An Inspector Banks Short Story - cover

    Summer Rain - An Inspector Banks...

    Peter Robinson

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    A mystery from the past bursts in upon the present in this gripping Inspector Banks short story— featuring an excerpt from Peter Robinson's new novel In the Dark Places ("Thrilling"—Louise Penny).  
    Acclaimed by Michael Connelly as "a man for all seasons," Inspector Alan Banks is among the most beloved characters in contemporary fiction. And now Banks confronts one of the most puzzling cases of his career— when a tourist claims that several decades earlier, in a previous life, he witnessed a murder committed nearby. 
    Banks doesn't believe in the supernatural. Or superstition. But when evidence of a crime comes to light, he begins to wonder: How did this mysterious visitor know about a killing possibly committed before he was born? 
    Ingenious, atmospheric, and poignant, 'Summer Rain' is perfect for both longtime Peter Robinson fans and those who have yet to discover one of the world's most popular mystery writers.
    Show book