Today could be the day that you start a whole year of unlimited reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Predictably Irrational Revised and Expanded Edition - The Hidden Forces That Shape Our Decisions - cover

Predictably Irrational Revised and Expanded Edition - The Hidden Forces That Shape Our Decisions

Dan Ariely

Publisher: HarperCollins e-books

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

"A marvelous book… thought provoking and highly entertaining."  
—Jerome Groopman, New York Times bestselling author of How Doctors Think  
"Ariely not only gives us a great read; he also makes us much wiser."  
—George Akerlof, 2001 Nobel Laureate in Economics  
"Revolutionary."  
—New York Times Book Review  
Why do our headaches persist after we take a one-cent aspirin but disappear when we take a fifty-cent aspirin? Why do we splurge on a lavish meal but cut coupons to save twenty-five cents on a can of soup? 
When it comes to making decisions in our lives, we think we're making smart, rational choices. But are we? 
In this newly revised and expanded edition of the groundbreaking New York Times bestseller, Dan Ariely refutes the common assumption that we behave in fundamentally rational ways. From drinking coffee to losing weight, from buying a car to choosing a romantic partner, we consistently overpay, underestimate, and procrastinate. Yet these misguided behaviors are neither random nor senseless. They're systematic and predictable—making us predictably irrational.

Other books that might interest you

  • Knockout Interview Answers - 52 brilliant ideas to make job hunting a piece of cake - cover

    Knockout Interview Answers - 52...

    Ken Langdon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Knockout interview answers is a collaboration between best-selling business author Ken Langdon and human resources specialist Nikki Cartwright. Unlike the majority of interview techniques books this book steers clear of blindingly obvious advice such as not to wear track-suit bottoms or turn up drunk to your interview, and instead provides a way into the mind of the interviewer so that you can spot the likely questions and know how to answer them differently depending on the perspective of the interviewer.
    Show book
  • Ethernet Services Second Edition - cover

    Ethernet Services Second Edition

    Gerardus Blokdyk

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    How do we go about Comparing Ethernet Services approaches/solutions?  How do you use Ethernet Services data and information to support organizational decision making and innovation?  What are the compelling business reasons for embarking on Ethernet Services?  How can you negotiate Ethernet Services successfully with a stubborn boss, an irate client, or a deceitful coworker?  How do we measure improved Ethernet Services service perception, and satisfaction?  
     
    
    This breakthrough Ethernet Services self-assessment will make you the reliable Ethernet Services domain master by revealing just what you need to know to be fluent and ready for any Ethernet Services challenge.
     
    
    How do I reduce the effort in the Ethernet Services work to be done to get problems solved? How can I ensure that plans of action include every Ethernet Services task and that every Ethernet Services outcome is in place? How will I save time investigating strategic and tactical options and ensuring Ethernet Services costs are low? How can I deliver tailored Ethernet Services advice instantly with structured going-forward plans?
     
    
    There’s no better guide through these mind-expanding questions than acclaimed best-selling author Gerard Blokdyk. Blokdyk ensures all Ethernet Services essentials are covered, from every angle: the Ethernet Services self-assessment shows succinctly and clearly that what needs to be clarified to organize the required activities and processes so that Ethernet Services outcomes are achieved.
     
    
    Contains extensive criteria grounded in past and current successful projects and activities by experienced Ethernet Services practitioners. Their mastery, combined with the easy elegance of the self-assessment, provides its superior value to you in knowing how to ensure the outcome of any efforts in Ethernet Services are maximized with professional results.
     
    
    Your purchase includes access details to the Ethernet Services self-assessment dashboard download which gives you your dynamically prioritized projects-ready tool and shows you exactly what to do next. Your exclusive instant access details can be found in your book.
    Show book
  • Escape Velocity - Free Your Company's Future from the Pull of the Past - cover

    Escape Velocity - Free Your...

    Geoffrey A. Moore

    • 0
    • 3
    • 1
    “Readthis book to learn how to create a company as powerful as Apple.”—Guy Kawasaki,former chief evangelist of Apple 
    InEscape Velocity Geoffrey A. Moore, author of the marketing masterwork Crossingthe Chasm, teaches twenty-first century enterprises how to overcome thepull of the past and reorient their organizations to meet a new era ofcompetition. The world’s leading high-tech business strategist, Moore connectsthe dots between bold strategies and effective execution, with an action planthat elucidates the link between senior executives and every other branch of acompany. For readers of Larry Bossidy’s Execution,Clay Christensen’s Innovator’s Solution, and Gary Vaynerchuck’sCrush It!, and for anyone aiming for the pinnacle of business success, EscapeVelocity is an irreplaceable roadmap to the top.
    Show book
  • Cracking the New Job Market - The 7 Rules for Getting Hired in Any Economy - cover

    Cracking the New Job Market -...

    R. Holland

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The rules for finding professional work once seemed clear and unwavering: capture career highlights in a resume, practice answers to standard interview questions, and do lots of face-to-face networking. Cracking the New Job Market shows how these rules have changed and delivers new job-hunting strategies that actually work. The key, rather than to emphasize past accomplishments, is to sell your self on the value you can create for an employer. This new approach to getting hired requires new skills. Author R. William Holland, a human resources insider, shows job seekers how to: * Gather information on what a prospective employer finds important * Emphasize those skills, accomplishments, and qualities in tailored resumes and interview answers * Identify the intersection between personal talents and what the marketplace needs * Unlock the networking power of social media * Negotiate the best possible offer Enlightening and practical, this myth-busting book delivers seven powerful rules for landing a great job-even in a difficult economy.
    Show book
  • Perfect interviews - How to breeze into your perfect job - cover

    Perfect interviews - How to...

    Ken Langdon, Nikki Cartwright

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Perfect interviews contains a selection of some of the best interview ideas from our best-selling title, Knockout Interview Answers. Unlike the majority of interview techniques books this book steers clear of blindingly obvious advice such as not to wear track-suit bottoms or turn up drunk to your interview, and instead provides a way into the mind of the interviewer so that you can spot the likely questions and know how to answer them differently depending on the perspective of the interviewer.
    Show book
  • What I Wish I Knew When I Was 20 - A Crash Course on Making Your Place in the World - cover

    What I Wish I Knew When I Was 20...

    Tina Seelig

    • 4
    • 21
    • 0
    A revised and updated edition of the international bestseller 
    Inspiring readers all over the globe to reimagine their future, this revised and updated edition of What I Wish I Knew When I Was 20 features new material to complement the classic text.  
    Major life transitions such as leaving the protected environment of school or starting a new career can be daunting. It is scary to face a wall of choices, knowing that no one is going to tell us if we make the right decision. There is no clearly delineated path or recipe for success. Even figuring out how and where to start can be a challenge. 
    As head of the Stanford Technology Ventures Program, Tina Seelig’s job is to guide her students as they make the difficult transition from the academic environment to the professional world—providing tangible skills and insights that will last a lifetime. Seelig is a wildly popular and award-winning teacher and in What I Wish I Knew When I Was 20 she shares with us what she offers her students –provocative stories, inspiring advice, and a big dose of humility and humor.  
      
    These pages are filled with captivating examples, from the classroom to the boardroom, of individuals defying expectations, challenging assumptions, and achieving unprecedented success. Seelig throws out the old rules and provides a new model for reaching our potential.  We discover how to have a healthy disregard for the impossible; how to recover from failure; and how most problems are remarkable opportunities in disguise. 
      
    What I Wish I Knew When I Was Twenty is a much-needed book for everyone looking to make their mark in the world.
    Show book