Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Listen online to the first chapters of this audiobook!
All characters reduced
The Georgian Poets - cover

The Georgian Poets

Rupert Brooke, G. K. Chesterton, William Henry Davies, James Elroy Flecker, Julian Grenfell, Ivor Gurney, A. E. Housman, D. H. Lawrence, Harold Munro, Wilfred Owen, John Oxenham, Isaac Rosenberg, Charles Sorley, Edward Thomas, Arthur Graeme West

Narrator Eleanor Bron, Tim Graham, Richard Mitchley, Ghizela Rowe, David Shaw-Parker, Glyn Houston, Eve Karpf

Publisher: The Copyright Group

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0


As a poetical movement Georgian Poetry is easy to classify.  It began naturally enough in 1910 when George V ascended to the throne of England.  Edward Marsh, a civil servant, polymath and arts patron decided that the verse of that time needed to be seen in its own right and from 1912 – 1922 set out to publish anthologies. Marsh agreed a deal with the poet and bookseller Harold Munro, who had recently opened The Poetry Bookshop in London’s Devonshire Street to publish the books in return for a share of the profits.   Five volumes spanning some forty poets ranging from Rupert Brooke to GK Chesterton and DH Lawrence were published over the years and remain today the encyclopaedia of this poetical period.  In this volume you will find the best work of the Georgian Poets.
Duration: about 1 hour (01:12:00)
Publishing date: 2014-01-01; Unabridged; Copyright Year: 2014. Copyright Statment: —