The perfect plan for booklovers!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Starr Sting Scale - The Candace Starr Series - cover

The Starr Sting Scale - The Candace Starr Series

C.S. O'Cinneide

Publisher: Dundurn

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A hard-drinking former hitwoman agrees to help catch a killer — though the murderer might just be her. 
 

Candace Starr likes to think of herself as retired since she got out of prison — that is, until society maven Kristina Corrigan tries to hire Candace to permanently remove her daughter’s barnacle of a boyfriend, Tyler Brent, from their lives. The only catch? Tyler is seventeen years old. Even Candace draws the line at taking out a target who doesn’t even shave yet. 

 

But when Tyler turns up dead at a river gorge with a broken neck, people start asking questions. Detective Chien-Shiung Malone, the ambitious homicide investigator assigned to the case, has more than a few of her own. Candace isn't about to provide any answers, though — until Malone makes her a proposition she just can’t refuse. Candace finds herself signing on as Malone’s unofficial partner to help catch Tyler’s killer … despite the possibility she may have murdered the boy herself.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Malefic Curse - cover

    The Malefic Curse

    Charlotte E. English

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Konrad Savast is the Malykant: the most secret servant of the God of Death. His job? To track down the foulest of murderers and bring them to The Malykt's Justice. No mercy. No quarter.
     
    Something is gravely amiss in the city of Ekamet.
     
    The body of a homeless man lies under a bridge, torn to pieces. The serpents say it’s not murder — not exactly. A merciless, violent death dealt by something... not human.
     
    The trail leads into the Spiritlands, and Konrad must follow — whatever dangers await. And the dangers will prove severe. For something ancient and evil stalks the city at night; in hunting it, the Malykant may learn more than he ever wanted to know about the past...
    Show book
  • Shandral - cover

    Shandral

    Charlotte E. English

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Reeling in the aftermath of the malefic curse, the city of Ekamet knows no peace, for a new killer strikes — and strikes again.
     
    Two men lie dead, gaping holes where their eyes used to be, with knives of carved bone sprouting from their butchered hearts.
     
    But who is to deliver justice for them now?
     
    For Konrad is adrift in the wake of disaster, severed from all he loves. Will his hard-won friends be enough to save him?
     
    And can he be enough to save them?
    Show book
  • The Long Dark Road - an addictive and page-turning thriller - cover

    The Long Dark Road - an...

    P.R. Black

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    If you go, there's no coming back. 
     
    Dr Georgia Healey can't grieve. Her nineteen-year-old daughter went for a walk two years ago and vanished. The police never found Stephanie's body. The case has gone stale, but Georgia can't let it go. She knows Stephanie's out there, somewhere.
     
    On the anniversary of Stephanie's disappearance, Georgia's ready to re-interrogate university students, lecturers, Steph's past boyfriends, everyone. She treads the exact path where Stephanie vanished. Yet the shocking truth is even more than she can handle.
     
    When you seek the lost, be prepared for what you find... 
     
    Praise for PR Black: 
     
    'I absolutely loved this heart-stopping, spine-tingling novel that had me completely and utterly gripped throughout' Amazon Reviewer.
     
    'Cleverly written with some great shockers and I had no idea how it would end – I wasn't disappointed' Amazon Reviewer.
     
    'This was a fast-paced murder thriller that kept me turning the pages late into the night. It was intelligent and slick' Amazon Reviewer.
     
    'It's always something of a risk trying a new author, but I was really glad I did ... I did not see the plot twist coming, and it was very surprising' Amazon Reviewer.
    Show book
  • Best Friends Forever - an absolutely gripping crime thriller - cover

    Best Friends Forever - an...

    Dawn Goodwin

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Have you ever wanted to kill your best friend? 
     
    Anna was the perfect wife. Perfect mother. Perfect woman. And now she's dead. Leaving behind her husband, David, and two young children their lives will never be the same. But Vicky will make sure life goes on... 
     
    These two women have been best friends forever, a lifetime of secrets lies between them and now Vicky is ready to step up into Anna's perfect shoes. But not everything is as it seems and as David begins to question Vicky's motives for walking into his life things might just get a little murderous. 
     
    The question on everyone's lips is, who killed Anna? And what actually happened on the night she died? 
     
    Perfect for fans of The Rumour, The Silent Patient and The Suspect.
    Show book
  • The Tarasov Despite - cover

    The Tarasov Despite

    Charlotte E. English

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Konrad Savast is the Malykant: the most secret servant of the God of Death. His job? To track down the foulest of murderers and bring them to The Malykt's Justice. No mercy. No quarter.
     
    When Verinka Tarasovna dies alone in the street on a cold, dark morning, her death looks like the tragic result of lingering ill-health. But not in the eyes of The Malykt. She’s been poisoned — and her fraying spirit accuses her own brother of the murder.
     
    Tsevar claims they were close. But were they? Unhappy secrets lie buried beneath the surface, and the truth proves elusive.
     
    What’s more, there is a further complication: Verinka’s ghost is not quite gone...
    Show book
  • The Accident - A heart-stopping thriller with shocking secrets that will keep you hooked - cover

    The Accident - A heart-stopping...

    Dawn Goodwin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A tragic accident, an unbearable loss and a marriage in crisis – but who can she trust or is she all alone? A gripping, debut psychological thriller that will keep you hooked. Perfect for the fans of Paula Hawkins and S.J. Watson. 
     
    Veronica Pullman's comfortable suburban life comes to a shuddering halt when her young daughter, Grace, tragically dies in a car accident. 
     
    Months later, unable to come to terms with her daughter's death, detached from her husband and alienated from her friends and family, a chance encounter on a rainy street pushes her into an unlikely new friendship. 
     
    Scarlet is everything Veronica could've been: feisty, adventurous, unpredictable. But as she approaches what would have been Grace's 10th birthday, it becomes clear to Veronica that the friendship she thought was saving her life could be costing her everything. 
     
    Consumed by grief and left questioning her own sanity, is there anyone she can really trust or is someone out to torment her as part of their twisted game? 
     
    'This novel is a beautifully written, if disturbing, exploration of how grief affects friendships, marriage and the main character's sense of self' Anita Davison.
    Show book