Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Gruesome Discovery A - A mystery set in 1920s Ireland - cover

Gruesome Discovery A - A mystery set in 1920s Ireland

Cora Harrison

Publisher: Severn House

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The Reverend Mother receives a decidedly gruesome gift in this compelling Irish historical mystery.Ireland. 1925. Like all who seek charitable contributions, Reverend Mother Aquinas is used to being gifted some fairly dubious items. But nothing like this. On opening the evil-smelling trunk, labelled ‘old books’, the Reverend Mother is horrified to discover it contains the dead body of one of Cork’s richest merchants, wrapped in decomposing animal hides.Many had reason to loathe the hides and skins merchant: his rebellious, republican son; his frustrated, clever daughter; his neighbours; his business rivals; and those whose unbaptised babies were buried on the site of his new tanning yard. But when suspicion falls on a former lay sister from her convent, the Reverend Mother decides she must help find the real killer.

Other books that might interest you

  • High-Wired - cover

    High-Wired

    Andrea Frazer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
     
    
     
    If you like Rachel Abbott, Mel Sherratt, and Val McDermid, you’ll be gripped by this exciting new crime novel by best-selling author Andrea Frazer. High-Wired is the first volume in The Fine Line series, which sees Frazer show off her dark side as she moves into the world of police procedurals.
    
     
     
     The novel introduces us to DI Olivia Hardy, a firm but fair cop, and her new partner, DS Lauren Groves. Their wildly different backgrounds and styles of policing cause problems at first, but the two women bond over a shared love of music, and over the pressures of juggling complicated family lives with the horrors of the job. Both women try to reconcile their problematic family lives – Olivia’s issues with her teenage children, Lauren’s collapsing marriage – with the demands of a job that requires heart and soul. Their beat is a decaying coastal town in the south of England – a shadow of its Victorian glory – and criminals are lurking even where you’d least expect them. As Olivia and Lauren investigate a harrowing murder, the events of the case spiral – and so do the issues in their personal lives …
    Show book
  • Murder at Morland Manor - A Juliette Abbott Regency Mystery - cover

    Murder at Morland Manor - A...

    Marilyn Clay

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In the tradition of Stephanie Barron and Jane Austen, Marilyn Clay’s Regency mystery novels contain no strong language or violence and are suitable for teen readers. 
    MURDER AT MORLAND MANOR, Book One in Marilyn Clay's new Juliette Abbott Regency Mystery Series features clever, young Miss Juliette Abbott as sleuth. A former companion to a titled London lady, Miss Abbott has now agreed to serve as lady’s maid to one of the young ladies invited to country estate Morland Manor, each hoping to win the heart of the wealthy Morland heir. But nothing at the house party goes as planned and suddenly Juliette finds herself the number one suspect in a shocking murder! The only way to escape the muddle is to solve the mystery herself, otherwise she'll lose this position with a new geegaw tied around her neck, this one made of rope! 
    “A fine Regency mystery brimming with surprising twists and turns, and seasoned with just a hint of romance. Witty and outspoken Juliette Abbott is a first-rate, fast-thinking young sleuth! Very well-done, indeed!” – Regency Mystery Reviews. 
    If you enjoy the Regency mystery novels of Ashley Gardner, Stephanie Barron, Sheri Cobb South, Alyssa Maxwell, Adele Clee, and Heidi Ashworth, you'll enjoy Marilyn Clay’s traditional, clean, and always amusing Regency-set mysteries. 
    Other titles in the Juliette Abbott Regency Mystery Series are MURDER IN MAYFAIR, MURDER AT MARGATE and MURDER AT MEDLEY PARK. 
    Best-selling author MARILYN CLAY has written many Regency romances, all originally published in print and now as ebooks. The Wrong Miss Fairfax, Felicity’s Folly, Bewitching Lord Winterton, Miss Darby's Debut, Hyde Park Spectacle, Miss Eliza’s Gentleman Caller, Brighton Beauty, A Pretty Puzzle, The Uppity Earl, and The Unsuitable Suitor. 
    NEW! THE WRONG MISS FAIRFAX by Marilyn Clay. Emma and her look-alike cousin Jemima are as different as chalk and cheese. Unfortunately, when Lord Townsend comes to call, he loses his heart to the wrong Miss Fairfax! 
    MARILYN CLAY’s historical romantic suspense novels set in the New World in the 1600s include: DECEPTIONS: A Colonial Jamestown Novel, originally released in hardcover. Catherine travels to the New World in search of her betrothed, but what she finds in Jamestown is not at all what she expects! 
    SECRETS AND LIES also published in hardcover and recently re-released in paperback and ebook as A PETTICOAT AND LAMBSKIN GLOVES features some of the same characters who appear in DECEPTIONS. The inspirational story of four young English girls who travel to the New World on a Bride Ship, all in search of love, a new life and the adventure of a lifetime. What they find instead is that someone in Jamestown wants one, or all of them, dead! 
    BETSY ROSS: ACCIDENTAL SPY Set in 1776 Philadelphia, Betsy Ross determines to uncover who killed her beloved husband John Ross, but can she bring down the ruthless double spy before he kills her, or her sisters? 
    STALKING A KILLER, a contemporary murder mystery by Marilyn Clay. Aspiring PI Amanda Mason's first case to solve is a murder charge against her own father! But, can she trust the handsome man who has agreed to help her? 
    All of Marilyn Clay’s non-fiction titles, and many of her Regencies have become online best sellers. 18th and 19th ENGLISH WOMEN AT SEA, HISTORY OF THE WATER CLOSET and three books on REGENCY PERIOD FURNITURE. 
    For additional information about author Marilyn Clay, visit her website at Marilyn Clay Author.
    Show book
  • Long Teeth - Stone Angel #4 - cover

    Long Teeth - Stone Angel #4

    Marvin H. Albert

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Pete Sawyer is a private eye of a different kind. The son of a World War II American pilot and a brave French resistance fighter, he grew up on both sides of the Atlantic -- though he prefers his sun-dappled villa on the Riviera to most other places. He takes pleasure in a fine wine...and a good gun. His French name is Pierre-Ange, and it suits him. In English, it means Stone Angel.When Arlette Alfani, a lawyer as competent as she is beautiful, asks Pete to help her client whose wife has been kidnapped, Pete agrees -- only to find that the man in question is none other than Karl Malo, the inconceivably wealthy patriarch of the Malo Transport family. Completely in love for the first time in his life, Malo is inconsolable over the kidnapping of his third wife, Jacqueline. But no sooner has Pete done all he can to get Jacqueline back than Malo has another problem. Someone very close to him has betrayed him. Is it his brilliant, rebellious son, Alexandre? His one-wild daughter, Claudette? His imeccably tailored son-in-law, Jean-Noel? Pete Sawyer must keep his eyes open -- and his gun at hand -- to solve this family affair.
    Show book
  • Mutilated Dreams - Dreams and Reality #10 - cover

    Mutilated Dreams - Dreams and...

    Hadena James

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    Tourists and natives trolling bars and the scenic places that make up the French Quarter are being hunted.  A mutilator intent on gathering trophies made up of swatches of skin laden with tattoos and scars is the hunter.  The victims, left drugged but alive, are unable to help the police with a description of the perpetrator.  With no clues and a serial criminal at large, the local police have no choice but to turn to the Serial Crimes Tracking Unit.
    
     
    The Serial Crimes Tracking Unit, better known as SCTU, is used to dealing with dead bodies, so they are unsure their hunting skills will be useful.  While the perpetrator might fit a profile, the living are of little help.  After all, they don’t even remember being attacked.  Dealing with the living, especially those who have been victimized has never been a strong point of Aislinn Cain.  As Aislinn and her team go to work at solving this case, they find themselves in a race against the clock. It is only a matter of time before their serial mutilator escalates into a serial killer.
    Show book
  • The Doll's House - cover

    The Doll's House

    Evelyn Anthony

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    A female Intelligence agent is dispatched to spy on a group of retired spooks engaging in international terrorism in this post–Cold War thriller   After three decades serving king and country, fifty-one-year-old Harry Oakham is put out to pasture with a miserly pension. But the former civil servant has his own ideas for his so-called retirement. He settles into a luxury hotel in the English countryside and rounds up a disgruntled crew of the world’s most brilliant ex-spooks, including a German expert in counter-espionage and interrogation, a KGB tactician, a former Mossad terrorist, and a lethal blond killer. Hiring themselves out to the highest bidder, their first job is the assassination of a Saudi prince.   Meanwhile, still smarting from a recent divorce, undercover diplomat-turned-agent Rosa Bennet has been dispatched to the Doll’s House to spy on Oakham and make sure the retired agent is adapting to civilian life. The last thing the Intelligence agent expects is to fall in love with her target. And when Oakham’s recruits get wind of his affair with Rosa—and her true identity—they will devise a plan to eliminate the traitor in their midst.
    Show book
  • Blood Stones - cover

    Blood Stones

    Evelyn Anthony

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    The diamond industry explodes in anarchy when a cache of rare gems is discovered in Russia in this intellectual thriller At London’s Diamond Enterprises, a major crisis is brewing: In the tundra of northern Russia, a newly discovered mine is producing a cache of flawless, five-carat red diamonds. These dazzling “blood stones” are beyond price, and powerful jeweler Ivan Karakov is about to sign an exclusive contract with Moscow to sell the gems. He must be stopped before he destabilizes the market and sends the industry plunging into free fall.   With the future of Diamond Enterprises at risk, its employees start scrambling for power. Young, ambitious James Hastings—whose beautiful wife, Elizabeth, is his most powerful asset as well as his most dangerous weakness—is sent to Russia to negotiate with Karakov. Chairman Julius Heyderman, haunted by his tragic past and troubled daughter, returns from South Africa to deal with longtime adversary Arthur Harris. Reece, trapped in a relationship he can’t control, is universally hated by all at DE, while Ray Andrews seeks redemption for a terrible mistake and Ruth Fraser sleeps her way to the top in hopes of becoming DE’s first female leader.   A riveting tale of greed, betrayal, and industrial espionage, Blood Stones reveals how much people are willing to sacrifice for money.  
    Show book