Don't put off till tomorrow the book you can read today!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
A Gruesome Discovery - A mystery set in 1920s Ireland - cover

A Gruesome Discovery - A mystery set in 1920s Ireland

Cora Harrison

Publisher: Severn House

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

The Reverend Mother receives a decidedly gruesome gift in this compelling Irish historical mystery.Ireland. 1925. Like all who seek charitable contributions, Reverend Mother Aquinas is used to being gifted some fairly dubious items. But nothing like this. On opening the evil-smelling trunk, labelled ‘old books’, the Reverend Mother is horrified to discover it contains the dead body of one of Cork’s richest merchants, wrapped in decomposing animal hides.Many had reason to loathe the hides and skins merchant: his rebellious, republican son; his frustrated, clever daughter; his neighbours; his business rivals; and those whose unbaptised babies were buried on the site of his new tanning yard. But when suspicion falls on a former lay sister from her convent, the Reverend Mother decides she must help find the real killer.

Other books that might interest you

  • Failure to Appear - A JP Beaumont Novel - cover

    Failure to Appear - A JP...

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A shattering tale of tragedy and horror from top ten New York Times bestselling author J.A. Jance. 
     A desperate father′s search for his runaway daughter has led him to the last place he ever expected to find her: backstage at the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. But the murders in this dazzling world of make-believe are no longer mere stagecraft, and the blood is all too real. The hunt for his child has plunged former Seattle Homicide Detective J.P. Beaumont into a bone-chilling drama of revenge, greed, and butchery, where innocents are made to suffer in perverse and terrible ways. And many more young lives are at stake, unless he can uncover the villain of the piece before the final, deadly curtain falls.
    Show book
  • Hardcastle's Quandary - cover

    Hardcastle's Quandary

    Graham Ison

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A letter from a vicar in Norfolk leads DDI Hardcastle and DS Marriott on the road to a shocking and macabre discovery . . .
    
    One rainy morning in March 1927, Divisional Detective Inspector Ernest Hardcastle of the Metropolitan Police is summoned to the office of the Chief Constable CID at New Scotland Yard. Frederick Wensley has received a letter from a Reverend Percy Stoner in Norfolk, convinced that his nephew, Captain Guy Stoner, has been murdered. He recently received a letter, supposedly from Guy, claiming that there had been a fire at his farm in Ditton, Surrey, and asking for money.
    
    Assigned the case, Hardcastle and Detective Sergeant Charles Marriott travel to Ditton, where they make a shocking discovery, and are soon drawn into a shady world of deception, fraud, ex-army officers and West End nightclubs, navigating a labyrinth of twists and turns in their determination to see justice served.
    Show book
  • Tombstone Courage - cover

    Tombstone Courage

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    With grit, courage and dogged determination, Joanne challenged the status quo -- and won. Now, as newly elected Sheriff of Cochise County, Arizona, she must battle the prejudice and hostility of a mistrustful, male-dominated police force -- and solve a grisly double homicide that threatens to tear the sleepy desert community to pieces. For the two bodies baking in the harsh Southwestern sun are connected by sinister threads that reach back generations -- and by devastating family secrets of greed, hatred and shocking abuse that could destroy the innocent along with the guilty.
    Show book
  • Violet Dawn - A Michael Violet Thriller - cover

    Violet Dawn - A Michael Violet...

    Alex Hyland

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Talented young pickpocket, Michael Violet, is now working for a government intelligence agency and on the right side of the law for the first time in his adult life. When the agency set their sights on bringing down Miami drug lord, Lenny Tripps, Michael is deemed the perfect agent for the job. Tripps is a Howard Hughes style recluse who hasn’t left his heavily-guarded penthouse in years – only a man with Michael’s talents could even think about getting inside. However, once inside Lenny Tripp’s world, nothing is what it seems. Michael soon finds himself out of depth as he desperately tries to save the life of an innocent young boy caught in the middle of a vicious drugs war.
    Show book
  • Dare to Remember: ‘Intriguing and gripping’ a psychological thriller that will bring you to the edge of your seat… - cover

    Dare to Remember: ‘Intriguing...

    Susanna Beard

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    'I found myself frantically turning the pages, desperate to uncover what happened' --Tracy Buchanan 
    Reeling from a brutal attack that leaves her best friend dead and her badly injured, Lisa Fulbrook flees to the countryside to recuperate. With only vague memories of the event, she isolates herself from her friends and family, content to spend her days wandering the hills with her dog, Riley. 
    However, Lisa is soon plagued, not only by vivid flashbacks, but questions, too: how did their assailant know them? Why were they attacked? And what really happened that night? 
    As she desperately tries to piece together the memories, Lisa realises that there's another truth still hidden to her, a truth she can't escape from. A truth that may have been right in front of her all along. 
    A clever, sophisticated, psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, S.J. Watson, B A Paris and Sophie Hannah 
    What Reviewers and Readers Say: 
    'Dare to Remember is an intriguing and gripping debut novel. A perceptive exploration of the trauma of losing your best friend' --Rachel Abbott 
    'A tense journey into one woman’s struggle with the aftermath of a vicious attack that killed her best friend. I found myself frantically turning the pages, desperate to uncover what happened on the night of the attack. Susanna Beard is a thought-provoking, skilled debut writer who will no doubt win a new army of thriller fans with this clever novel.' -- Tracy Buchanan 
    'Beautifully taut and controlled writing - gripping all the way through' --Shelley Weiner 
    'Written with care and a deep level of understanding, while simultaneously building up the suspense until you are racing to find out what happened… a great read.' --Sue Fortin, bestselling author of 'The Girl Who Lied' 
    'A taut, compelling read. Full of atmosphere and humanity. Susanna brilliantly portrays through the central character the times in our lives that leave us guilty and emotionless and unable to move forward with purpose. A stunning and confident first novel.' --Sharon Bloom 
    'This is a great exploration into the psychological impact of a traumatic event. I warmed to Lisa immediately and felt every bit of her frustration as she struggled to remember the details of the night she and her best friend were attacked by someone they knew and trusted. It kept me reading into the night as I raced to find out how this twisty, shocking story would end.' --Sam Carrington 
    'A deep and dark look at how we can overcome trauma.' --Keeper of Pages 
    'The narrative is both uplifting and disquieting as Lisa pushes against her past attack, and dares not just to remember, but to hope as well. An impressive debut for Susanna Beard.' --Joy Kluver 
    'Sometimes you pick up a book and after reading only a few pages, you know that this book is going to be a worthy read. This is what happened to me when I picked up Dare to Remember.' --Day Dreamers Thoughts 
    'Susanna Beard unspools the story at just the right pace to keep interest and intrigue.' --Barbara Copperthwaite
    Show book
  • Make Them Pay - cover

    Make Them Pay

    Graham Ison

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Brock and Poole investigate a double murder and find themselves caught up in a crime with international implications . . .|Detective Chief Inspector Brock is called out to a burnt-out camper van in Richmond, Surrey. The van contained two badly burned and very dead bodies. At first thought to be an unfortunate fire, Brock and his assistant, Detective Sergeant Dave Poole, discover the truth: a double murder has been committed. As enquiries progress, it becomes clear that the dead couple were on the wrong side of the law, and Brock finds himself investigating not just a double murder, but a financial crime with international implications.
    Show book