Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Our Lady of the Burning Heart - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books you can enjoy!

Our Lady of the Burning Heart

Cora Buhlert

Publisher: Pegasus Pulp Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Two stories of crime, chance and coincidence  
Liam is a small time criminal in a world of trouble. Cause he owes twenty thousand dollars to local gangster Dan "the Man" O'Brien and if Liam doesn't pay back him within twenty-four hours, he's in for a whole world of pain. 
Liam does not have twenty thousand dollars. All he has are four dollars and forty-seven cents and a plan. For there is a horse running tonight, a horse sure to win him the missing twenty thousand dollars and more. If Liam only had enough money to bet on it. 
So when Liam passes the church of Our Lady of the Burning Heart and finds the door open late at night, he does what a good Catholic boy like him should never even consider. He ventures into the church, intending to rob the collection box. 
But a statue of the Virgin Mary with an eerily glowing heart, a forgetful priest and a lost bus ticket conspire to rescue Liam from Dan "the Man" and return him to the path of righteousness…  
Bonus story: Lucky Harry 
In former East Germany, Dennis has robbed a bank and has found the perfect hiding place for the loot, an old soap factory deserted since the unification. But his plan is thwarted by homeless Harry, a bottle of Soviet era vodka and Lenin's birthday…  
These are two crime shorts of 4900 words or approximately 18 print pages altogether. 
 

Other books that might interest you

  • No Room at the Little Cornish Inn - a sweet and uplifting Christmas romance - cover

    No Room at the Little Cornish...

    Nancy Barone

    • 2
    • 5
    • 0
    There's magic in the Cornish air this Christmas... 
     
    Rosie Anderson was hoping to whisk her young son Danny away for a lovely Christmas with family, far from the hustle and bustle of her life in London. But then her boss at the head office – aka Susan the Sacker – suddenly assigns her to go in incognito and save a tiny inn in Cornwall from being closed permanently. Rosie doesn't know why The Old Bell Inn is performing so badly but it's on her to sort it out!
     
    Hours in the car later, Rosie arrives at the inn to find she's been double booked – there are no rooms left. And she isn't there for more than a minute before she's butting heads with the manager, Irishman Mitchell Fitzpatrick. He seems to dislike her on sight, so it's confusing that he seems to get on so well with Danny... But if he's as terrible as his reputation, Rosie will have to be the one to fire him.
     
    This really isn't the Christmas Rosie was dreaming of. But maybe, just maybe, it could be a whole lot more...
     
    A sweet and uplifting Christmas romance, No Room at the Little Cornish Inn is perfect for fans of Philippa Ashley, Holly Martin and Jenny Hale. 
     
    Praise for Nancy Barone: 
     
    'I thoroughly enjoyed this utterly lovely story. Touching, heartwarming and a joy to read' Holly Martin on New Hope for the Little Cornish Farmhouse
     
    'Nothing like the magic of Cornwall!' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  NetGalley reviewer
     
    'A sweet and delightful Christmas tale' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  NetGalley reviewer
     
    'All the makings of a classic hallmark Christmas movie!' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  NetGalley reviewer
    Show book
  • All the Right Mistakes - A Novel - cover

    All the Right Mistakes - A Novel

    Laura Jamison

    • 0
    • 11
    • 2
    Five college friends have arrived at forty in very different circumstances, but with at least one thing in common: they are among the more privileged in society. Elizabeth and Sara are lawyers, Martha is a doctor, Carmen is a wealthy and well-educated homemaker, and Heather, the most successful, is a famous tech executive—and after more than two decades of friendship, they know one another better than anyone.
    
    
    
    Then Heather writes a women’s advice book detailing the key life “mistakes” of her four friends—opting out, ramping off, giving half effort, and forgetting your fertility—that becomes wildly popular, and Elizabeth, Sara, Martha, and Carmen all feel the sting of Heather’s cruel words. Despite their status, these women face everyday obstacles, including work problems, parenting challenges, secondary infertility, racism, sexism, financial stress, and marital woes—and as they weather their fortieth year, each one can’t help but wonder if their life might have been different if they had followed Heather’s advice.
    
    
    
    But as these friends are continually reminded, life is complex, messy, disappointing, and joyful, often all at once—and no one can plan her way out of that reality. In the end, all five women must embrace the idea that their lives are shaped not just by their choices but also by how they handle the obstacles life inevitably throws at us all.
    Show book