The perfect plan for booklovers!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Mightier than the Sword - Helen Shepherd Mysteries #9 - cover

Mightier than the Sword - Helen Shepherd Mysteries #9

Cora Buhlert

Publisher: Pegasus Pulp Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

When cartoonist Charlie Ellis is stabbed to death in his studio, everybody suspects a political motive. For his controversial cartoons had placed Charlie Ellis in the crosshairs two years before. 
  
But Detective Inspector Helen Shepherd is sceptical. For why did Charlie Ellis not even try to defend himself and why did he open to door to his own killer? How did the killer manage to sneak past the police guard at the door in the first place? And what is the connection between Charlie Ellis and the other fourteen men in the Greater London area who happen to share his rather common name? 
  
With the help of Simon Westmoreland, a handsome chief inspector from the Counter Terrorism Command, Helen finally manages to shed some light on the murder of Charlie Ellis. 
  
This is a short mystery of 12200 words or approximately 42 print pages in the Helen Shepherd Mysteries series, but may be read as a standalone.

Other books that might interest you

  • Nine Minutes Xtra - MC Biker Dark Romance - cover

    Nine Minutes Xtra - MC Biker...

    N.J. Adel

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    When love is tested and darker sides appear, who wins in the end?From Bestselling Author N.J. Adel comes this thrilling sequel of The Nine minutes Trilogy, Nine Minutes Xtra.Dusty surprises Cameron at college on Valentine's Day with a shower of gifts and a promise of an unforgettable night.The sweet gesture from this savage rebel warms her heart before her bed, and puts all her fears and concerns about their relationship on a temporary hold.After all, Dusty is now the president of The Night Skulls MC--the motorcycle gang who kidnapped her sister--and the son of her sister's murderer. Being in love with him is crazy, to say the least, and it doesn't come without a long list of what ifs and WTFs.But when their Valentine's Day turns into a bloodbath, all Cameron's fears and nightmares come true.Dusty is his father's son. His dark side and notorious gang not only do threaten his relationship with Cameron but also her own life.In Nine Minutes Xtra, Dusty and Cammie's love is tested in vicious and unexpected ways through twists and turns and tons of heat.How can Dusty and Cammie come back from this, if ever? Hold tight and grab your copy of Nine Minutes Xtra now to find out.Nine Minutes Xtra is a bad boy MC biker romance with dark themes and many triggers. Part psychological thriller, part new adult coming of age dark romance. Not for the faint of hearts.
    Show book
  • The Accident - A heart-stopping thriller with shocking secrets that will keep you hooked - cover

    The Accident - A heart-stopping...

    Dawn Goodwin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A tragic accident, an unbearable loss and a marriage in crisis – but who can she trust or is she all alone? A gripping, debut psychological thriller that will keep you hooked. Perfect for the fans of Paula Hawkins and S.J. Watson. 
     
    Veronica Pullman's comfortable suburban life comes to a shuddering halt when her young daughter, Grace, tragically dies in a car accident. 
     
    Months later, unable to come to terms with her daughter's death, detached from her husband and alienated from her friends and family, a chance encounter on a rainy street pushes her into an unlikely new friendship. 
     
    Scarlet is everything Veronica could've been: feisty, adventurous, unpredictable. But as she approaches what would have been Grace's 10th birthday, it becomes clear to Veronica that the friendship she thought was saving her life could be costing her everything. 
     
    Consumed by grief and left questioning her own sanity, is there anyone she can really trust or is someone out to torment her as part of their twisted game? 
     
    'This novel is a beautifully written, if disturbing, exploration of how grief affects friendships, marriage and the main character's sense of self' Anita Davison.
    Show book
  • Best Friends Forever - an absolutely gripping crime thriller - cover

    Best Friends Forever - an...

    Dawn Goodwin

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Have you ever wanted to kill your best friend? 
     
    Anna was the perfect wife. Perfect mother. Perfect woman. And now she's dead. Leaving behind her husband, David, and two young children their lives will never be the same. But Vicky will make sure life goes on... 
     
    These two women have been best friends forever, a lifetime of secrets lies between them and now Vicky is ready to step up into Anna's perfect shoes. But not everything is as it seems and as David begins to question Vicky's motives for walking into his life things might just get a little murderous. 
     
    The question on everyone's lips is, who killed Anna? And what actually happened on the night she died? 
     
    Perfect for fans of The Rumour, The Silent Patient and The Suspect.
    Show book
  • Dead Air - A Novel of Suspense - cover

    Dead Air - A Novel of Suspense

    Michael Bradley

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Three can keep a secret, but only if two are dead. 
     
    No one knows that better than Kaitlyn Ashe, who has been running from a childhood secret her whole life. Until now. Crowned the top rated radio DJ in Philadelphia, she is finally ready to settle down with her fiancé who knows nothing about her past. When a sudden flood of anonymous letters threatens Kaitlyn's seemingly charmed life, she realizes that someone out there knows her secret. But who?
     
    As the threatening letters escalate, Kaitlyn's life spirals toward a reunion in the one place she’d hoped to never visit again: The Shallows. Isn’t her secret buried with the dead?
     
    PRAISE FOR DEAD AIR
     
    “Want to go behind-the-scenes in the fascinating world of radio? Dead Air is steeped in authenticity thanks to Bradley’s impressive career in the field. Add in flawed, complicated characters, an eerie setting, and a jaw-dropping finale, and you have an unputdownable thriller. Gripping, a brilliantly crafted novel!” —K.J. Howe, international bestselling author of Skyjack
     
    "In his newest page-turner Dead Air, Michael Bradley will cast you to the shallows, yank you to the murkiest depths of the human psyche, and won't let you up for a single breath until the final page." —Sandra Brannan, author of the Liv Bergen Mystery Series
     
    "In Dead Air, author Michael Bradly puts his unique spin on the stalker-victim story, thanks to a rich cast of characters, a serial killer subplot, and the author's inside knowledge of the radio DJ world. Everyone's a suspect in this murderous game of musical chairs, and Bradley deftly keeps you guessing until the final note sounds. Tune in. Dead Air rocks." —J.L. Delozier, author of Con Me Once and the Persephone Smith thriller series
     
    “In Michael Bradley's Dead Air, we meet Kaitlyn Ashe, a successful and well-known radio personality in Philadelphia. Kaitlyn's got the perfect life: a devoted boyfriend, great career, and a beautiful home. The future looks bright until someone begins stalking her, threatening to unearth deadly secrets that from Kaitlyn's past that she's vowed to keep hidden until her death bed. As the stalker becomes bolder, Kaitlyn has no choice but to involve the police, giving them only part of the story about her dark past. In Bradley's thriller, the pages practically turn themselves. Dead Air is an excellent read; well-written, absorbing and filled with shocking twists. Just when you think you know where this story is going, all hell breaks loose, and Bradley expertly veers the reader onto a new and exciting path. With surprises around every corner, this book will keep you up all night until you reach its stunning conclusion. Don't miss this one!” —Lisa Regan, USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling crime fiction author
     
    “Just when you think you get a handle on what’s going on, another layer of the story is peeled away and you realize you have NO IDEA.” —A. S. THORNTON, author of Daughter of the Salt King“In Michael Bradley’s captivating thriller Dead Air, a radio DJ’s spotty past catches up to her . . . an exciting mystery whose flawed leads struggle to make the right decisions.” —Foreword Reviews 
    Show book
  • Deadly Arts - cover

    Deadly Arts

    Ken Brigham

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    "A well-written, thoughtful mystery with humor, sturdy lead characters, and a surprising wrap-up." - Kirkus Reviews
     
    When the aging Nashville artist Bechman Warren Fitzwallington is discovered dead in his own bed, the question for detective Hardy Seltzer is simple: natural causes, or murder?  Clues are scant, and an autopsy finds no signs of homicide, but no one is grieving. The number of strangely-acting suspects seems to be multiplying as rapidly as the artist's florid late canvases.
     
    Galleries in Nashville and New York are quickly fighting for the rights to sell any paintings that Fitzwallington left behind. Hardy has avoided involving his friend, former detective Shane Hadley, in his cases since the Bonz Bagley murder. But now a national spotlight is shining on him, and he needs help.
     
    At the same time, Dr. Katya Karpov, Hadley s brilliant neurologist wife, is directing a 20-year study of the aging brain. To her dismay, the confidential data in her possession turn out to reveal unsuspected relationships that will only complicate the mystery. 
    Show book
  • The Malefic Curse - cover

    The Malefic Curse

    Charlotte E. English

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Konrad Savast is the Malykant: the most secret servant of the God of Death. His job? To track down the foulest of murderers and bring them to The Malykt's Justice. No mercy. No quarter.
     
    Something is gravely amiss in the city of Ekamet.
     
    The body of a homeless man lies under a bridge, torn to pieces. The serpents say it’s not murder — not exactly. A merciless, violent death dealt by something... not human.
     
    The trail leads into the Spiritlands, and Konrad must follow — whatever dangers await. And the dangers will prove severe. For something ancient and evil stalks the city at night; in hunting it, the Malykant may learn more than he ever wanted to know about the past...
    Show book