Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Seaforth World Naval Review 2011 - cover

Seaforth World Naval Review 2011

Conrad Waters

Publisher: Seaforth Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Launched in 2009, this annual is rapidly establishing a reputation as an authoritative but affordable summary of all that has happened in the naval world in the previous twelve months. It combines the standing features of regional surveys with one-off major articles on noteworthy new ships and other important developments. Besides the latest warship projects, it also looks at wider issues of importance to navies, such as aviation and electronics, and calls on expertise from around the globe to give a balanced picture of what is going on and to interpret its significance. This year special features include in-depth studies of the growing naval power of Turkey and South Korea, plus analyses of four significant new warship classes: the RN's Astute class nuclear attack submarines; India's Project 15 destroyers; the Norwegian Fridtjof Nansen, the smallest warship to carry the Aegis weapon system; and USS Independence, an innovative littoral combat ship designs.Intended to make interesting reading as well as providing authoritative reference, there is a strong visual emphasis, including specially commissioned drawings and the most recently released photographs and artists' impressions.For anyone with an interest in contemporary naval affairs, whether an enthusiast or a defence professional, this annual is set to become required reading.
Available since: 12/13/2010.
Print length: 192 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Fighting Nazi Occupation - British Resistance 1939–1945 - cover

    Fighting Nazi Occupation -...

    Malcolm Atkin

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “Everyone knows about the Home Guard but what about the other Secret Intelligence Services (SIS and M16)? You can read about them in [this book].” —This England   When Winston Churchill made his “we shall never surrender” speech in 1940, he was speaking in the knowledge that Britain’s Secret Intelligence Service was planning a civilian British resistance movement to mobilize after the country had been occupied. Britain’s planning for clandestine warfare developed out of a fierce battle between the Secret Intelligence Service and the War Office for the control of guerrilla warfare and conflicting ideas over the legitimacy of armed civilians.   A multi-layered system of secret organizations was the result. The Auxiliary Units are the best known of these “ungentlemanly” forces, but in this perceptive new study based on painstaking original research, Malcolm Atkin clearly demonstrates that they were never intended as a resistance organization. Instead, they were designed as a short-term guerrilla force, whilst their Special Duties Branch was designed to spy on the British public as much as any Nazi invader. Meanwhile, deep in the shadows, was the real resistance organization—Section VII of SIS.   Malcolm Atkin’s conclusions will cause controversy among military historians and will change our understanding of the preparations made in Britain to resist Nazi occupation in the Second World War.   “[A] detailed yet accessible historical study.” —ProtoView
    Show book
  • Suppose a Sentence - cover

    Suppose a Sentence

    Brian Dillon

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A captivating meditation on the power of the sentence by the author of Essayism, a 2018 New Yorker book of the year.In Suppose a Sentence, Brian Dillon, whom John Banville has called "a literary flâneur in the tradition of Baudelaire and Walter Benjamin," has written a sequel of sorts to Essayism, turning his attention to the oblique and complex pleasures of the sentence. A series of essays prompted by a single sentence—from Shakespeare to James Baldwin, John Ruskin to Joan Didion—this new book explores style, voice, and language, along with the subjectivity of reading. Both an exercise in practical criticism and a set of experiments or challenges, Suppose a Sentence is a polemical and personal reflection on the art of the sentence in literature.
    Show book
  • This Brave New World - India China and the United States - cover

    This Brave New World - India...

    Anja Manuel

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In the next decade and a half, China and India will become two of the world's indispensable powers-whether they rise peacefully or not. During that time, Asia will surpass the combined strength of North America and Europe in economic might, population size, and military spending. Both India and China will have vetoes over many international decisions, from climate change to global trade, human rights, and business standards.From her front row view of this shift, first at the State Department and now as an advisor to American business leaders, Anja Manuel escorts us on an intimate tour of the corridors of power in Delhi and Beijing. Her encounters with political and business leaders reveal how each country's history and politics influences their conduct today. Through vibrant stories, she reveals how each country is working to surmount enormous challenges.We wring our hands about China, Manuel writes, while we underestimate India, which will be the most important country outside the West to shape China's rise. Manuel shows us that a different path is possible-we can bring China and India along as partners rather than alienating one or both, and extend our own leadership in the world.
    Show book
  • The Mutual Cultivation of Self and Things - A Contemporary Chinese Philosophy of the Meaning of Being - cover

    The Mutual Cultivation of Self...

    Yang Guorong

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Yang Guorong is one of the most prominent Chinese philosophers working today and is best known for using the full range of Chinese philosophical resources in connection with the thought of Kant, Hegel, Marx, and Heidegger. In The Mutual Cultivation of Self and Things, Yang grapples with the philosophical problem of how the complexly interwoven nature of things and being relates to human nature, values, affairs, and facts, and ultimately creates a world of meaning. Yang outlines how humans might live more fully integrated lives on philosophical, religious, cultural, aesthetic, and material planes. This first English translation introduces current, influential work from China to readers worldwide.
    Show book
  • Livia - First Lady of Imperial Rome - cover

    Livia - First Lady of Imperial Rome

    Anthony A. Barrett

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The author of Rome Is Burning separates fact from fiction as he examines the life of an ancient Roman figure made famous in the TV miniseries I Claudius.Livia—wife of the first Roman emperor, Caesar Augustus, and mother of the second, Tiberius—wielded extraordinary power at the center of Roman politics. In this biography of Livia, the first in English, Anthony Barrett sets aside the portrait of a cunning and sinister schemer to reveal Livia as a complex figure whose enduring political influence helped shape Roman government long after her death.“An excellent biography of Livia—as appealing to the general reader as it is satisfying to the scholar.” —Colin M. Wells, Trinity University, San Antonio“In reading Anthony Barrett’s biography of Livia, I not only learned about this remarkable woman, but also gained a meaningful appreciation of life and society in her time.” —Howard Alper, President, The Royal Society of Canada “First-rate.” —Mary Beard, Times Literary Supplement
    Show book
  • Simple STEAM - 50+ Science Technology Engineering Art and Math Activities for Ages 3 to 6 - cover

    Simple STEAM - 50+ Science...

    Marnie Forestieri, Debby Mitchell

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Parents are eager to help their children learn, but teaching young children complicated scientific and mathematical concepts can be intimidating. Simple STEAM helps parents realize they don’t need to be engineers or scientists to support STEAM learning.
    Show book