Enjoy 2020 without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Irish Soccer Migrants - a Social and Cultural History - cover

Irish Soccer Migrants - a Social and Cultural History

Conor Curran

Publisher: Cork University Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

This book looks at the experiences and achievement levels of Irish-born football migrants to Britain and further afield. In particular, it draws on interviews with twenty-four Irish-born footballers, each of whom has played league football in England or Scotland in the 1945-2010 period. This is the first book to utilise these migrants as a quantitative source, and to illustrate their experiences within the context of the Irish diaspora. It builds on a comprehensive range of databases to examine players’ career movements and is illustrated throughout with tables and pictures. An examination of the birthplaces of players is offered along with the reasons for their geographical diversity. As well as providing an assessment of the development of schoolboy coaching structures in Ireland and the social challenges which many young players have faced, particularly in rural areas, it discusses key childhood influences and the development of scouting networks. It assesses the recruitment process and identifies the Irish clubs which have produced the most players who have migrated and played first team league football in Britain, and in turn, it establishes the clubs in Britain which have given first team league football to the most Irish-born players. The impact of the Troubles on the migration of Northern Ireland born players is also discussed. An assessment of players’ working conditions and the culture of professional football in Britain is given, particularly in light of the cultural adaption required, while the book also examines the changing nature of the post-playing careers of these footballers. The decline of Irish-born players within top flight English league football is discussed along with a number of difficulties facing future Irish football migrants. In locating the study of Irish football migrants within the study of Irish migration to Britain, Europe and the United States of America, and in comparing the experiences of Irish born footballers with those from other nations, this book is the first of its kind.

Other books that might interest you

  • Widdershins - cover

    Widdershins

    Helen Steadman

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    'Did all women have something of the witch about them?' Jane Chandler is an apprentice healer. From childhood, she and her mother have used herbs to cure the sick. But Jane will soon learn that her sheltered life in a small village is not safe from the troubles of the wider world. From his father's beatings to his uncle's raging sermons, John Sharpe is beset by bad fortune. Fighting through personal tragedy, he finds his purpose: to become a witch-finder and save innocents from the scourge of witchcraft. Inspired by true events, Widdershins tells the story of the women who were persecuted and the men who condemned them.
    Show book
  • Common People - An Anthology of Working-Class Writers - cover

    Common People - An Anthology of...

    Kit de Waal

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Common People is the latest campaigning anthology from the publisher of bestsellers The Good Immigrant (70k copies sold to date) and Repeal the 8th.It features original work from some of our best-known writers: Kit De Waal, Malorie Blackman, Lisa McInerney, Cathy Rentzenbrink, Stuart Maconie, Louise Doughty, Damian Barr and Daljit Nagra among others.Kit de Waal’s debut novel, My Name is Leon, was an international bestseller. It won Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year 2017 and was shortlisted for the Costa First Book Award, the Desmond Elliott Prize and the British Book Awards 2017 Best Debut Book of the Year.Kit is one of the UK’s most prominent voices calling for inclusivity and working-class representation in the arts, and has established a creative writing scholarship at Birkbeck University.Almost half of all authors, writers and
    translators in the UK come from professional, middle-class backgrounds,
    compared with just 10 per cent of those from working-class backgrounds. This
    anthology addresses that pressing imbalance.There will be events across the UK on publication, including all the major literary festivals.For fans of The Good Immigrant, Know Your Place: Essays on the Working Class by the Working Class, Brit(ish) by Afua Hirsch.
    Show book
  • The Complete Julius Caesar Collection - cover

    The Complete Julius Caesar...

    Julius Caesar

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Karpathos publishes the greatest works of history’s greatest authors and collects them all together to make it easy and affordable for readers to have them all at the push of a button. All of our collections include a linked table of contents.
    
    The Complete Julius Caesar Collection includes the following:
    The Gallic Wars 
    The Civil Wars 
    Alexandrian War 
    African War 
    Spanish War
    Show book
  • The Great War - Indian Writings on the First World War - cover

    The Great War - Indian Writings...

    Rakhshanda Jalil

    • 1
    • 21
    • 1
    It is very hard to endure the bombs, Father. It will be difficult for anyone to survive and come back safe and sound from the war. The son who is very lucky will see his father and mother… 
    (Extract from a letter by an Indian soldier serving in France, written on 14 January 1915 to his father) 
     
     
    The Great War, as the First World War was referred to, saw the service of over 1.3 million Indians, of whom 74,000 never made it back home. For their families, the War was something they could not fully fathom. Soldiers from the Indian subcontinent won over 12,908 awards for bravery, including 11 Victoria Crosses. Yet this unprecedented show of valour by Indian soldiers remains largely unsung and unrecognised-particularly in India. 
     
    Commemorating hundred years of the end of the First World War, this volume brings together diverse voices-Rabindranath Tagore, Mulk Raj Anand, Sarojini Naidu, Mohamed Ali, Chandradhar Sharma Guleri and many more-that reflect a variety of attitudes among Indians towards the War. Included too are Rakhshanda Jalil's original translations of the works of Urdu poets of the time capturing their responses to the War. This volume of writings, originally written in Urdu, Hindi, Bengali and English, attempts to recognise and remember the contribution of the unknown soldiers to the Great War.
    Show book
  • How to be a conservative - cover

    How to be a conservative

    Roger Scruton

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    What does it mean to be a conservative in an age so sceptical of conservatism? How can we live in the presence of our 'canonized forefathers' at a time when their cultural, religious and political bequest is so routinely rejected? With soft left-liberalism as the dominant force in Western politics, what can conservatives now contribute to public debate that will not be dismissed as pure nostalgia? In this highly personal and witty book, renowned philosopher Roger Scruton explains how to live as a conservative in spite of the pressures to exist otherwise. Drawing on his own experience as a counter-cultural presence in public life, Scruton argues that while humanity might survive in the absence of the conservative outlook, it certainly won't flourish. How to be a conservative is not only a blueprint for modern conservatism. It is a heartfelt appeal on behalf of old fashioned decencies and values, which are the bedrock of our weakened, but still enduring civilization.
    Show book
  • The Story of the SS - Hitler’s Infamous Legions of Death - cover

    The Story of the SS - Hitler’s...

    Al Cimino

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    'The best political weapon is the weapon of terror. Cruelty commands respect. Men may hate us. But, we don't ask for their love - only for their fear.'
     
    -HEINRICH HIMMLER
     
    The Schutzstaffel, or SS - the brutal elite of the Nazi Party - was founded by Hitler in 1925 to be his personal bodyguard. From 1929 it was headed by Heinrich Himmler, who built its numbers up from under 300 to well over a million by 1945. The SS became the very backbone of Nazi Germany, taking over almost every function of the state.
     
    SS members were chosen not only to be the living embodiment of Hitler's notion of 'Aryan supremacy', but also to cement undying loyalty to the Fu¨hrer at every level of German society.
     
    Merciless fanatics in jackboots, the SS systematically slaughtered, tortured, and enslaved millions. This is the story of the rise and fall of one of the most evil organizations the world has ever seen.
    Show book