Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
12 Faithful Men - Portraits of Courageous Endurance in Pastoral Ministry - cover

12 Faithful Men - Portraits of Courageous Endurance in Pastoral Ministry

Collin Hansen, Jeff Robinson

Publisher: Baker Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Most pastors know when they enter the ministry that they will spend time helping others through times of suffering. What they usually do not realize, though, is that they too will suffer. Caught off guard, many of them end up deeply hurt and quit the ministry, deciding that perhaps they misunderstood God's call on their lives or that they simply do not have what it takes. But church history is filled with compelling stories of men who were profoundly afflicted while they carried out their ministry and yet persevered faithfully until death.Now the editors of The Gospel Coalition have collected inspiring stories of twelve faithful men who endured great suffering for the cause of Christ. The stories of the apostle Paul, John Calvin, Charles Spurgeon, John Bunyan, Wang Mindao, and others show that suffering in the context of ministry is expected--and it's never wasted. Pastors and ministry leaders, as well as those who support them, will find in this collection encouragement to run the race with endurance.

Other books that might interest you

  • Practical Zen for Health Wealth and Mindfulness - cover

    Practical Zen for Health Wealth...

    Julian Daizan Skinner, Sarah Bladen

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Bringing the body-mind insights of Rinzai Zen from the mountains of Japan to the Western world, Zen master Julian Daizan Skinner and Sarah Bladen present simple meditation techniques to help achieve health, wellbeing and success. 
    Taking the reader through the first 100 days of practice, the book then shows how to adapt the new learned techniques to the rest of your life. 
    Including case studies at the end of each chapter to show how people's lives have been transformed through their meditation journeys, this is an accessible and practical guide to adapting Eastern meditation into busy Western lives.
    Show book
  • Runaway Bride (With This Ring? Collection) - A Kincaid Brides and Trouble in Texas Novella - cover

    Runaway Bride (With This Ring?...

    Mary Connealy

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    1870s TexasBig John Conroy is a Texas Ranger asked by a friend to assist Carrie. He catches up to Carrie and her brother Isaac and races away from a dangerous man who will stop at nothing to make the beautiful young woman his wife. Soon Big John's feelings for Carrie turn to more than simply protective, and Carrie finally feels that she's in the presence of a man she can respect--something she's never known. Fans of Mary's The Kincaid Brides and Trouble in Texas series will enjoy catching up with those characters.
    Show book
  • Hidden (Sisters of the Heart Book 1) - cover

    Hidden (Sisters of the Heart...

    Shelley Shepard Gray

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    When Anna decides it's time to leave her abusive boyfriend, she doesn't know where to turn. Rob has completely won over her parents, and the entire community, with his good looks and smooth charm. Only Anna has seen his dark side. 
    Desperate, she runs to the only place she's ever felt completely safe—the Amish Brenneman Bed and Breakfast, where Anna met life-long friend Katie Brenneman. The family welcomes her in, and with few questions asked allows her to stay, dressed in Plain clothing, and help around the inn. 
    Katie's older brother Henry is the only one who doesn't take too kindly to the intrusion. He tries to ignore Anna, knowing no good would ever come from caring for an Englisher like her. But as he gets to know Anna, he discovers her good heart and is surprised with her readiness to accept their lifestyle. 
    The more time Anna spends with the Amish, the more she feels she's found a true home. But how can she deny the life she left behind? And will her chance for happiness be stolen away by the man from her past?
    Show book
  • When Love Returns - Star Lake - cover

    When Love Returns - Star Lake

    Lorana Hoopes

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Presley Hays and Brandon Scott were best friends in high school until Morgan, a rich out-of-towner entered the picture and stole Brandon's heart. Presley, unable to watch him marry another, took a cooking opportunity in Le Cordon Bleu but after a bad relationship, she has returned home to the only place she ever called home - Star Lake. Brandon Scott thought he'd never return to Star Lake after Morgan left him, but when his father has an accident and needs help, he comes home. Once there, he reconnects with Presley and finds a love he had never imagined, but can time heal past hurts or will his stubborn nature keep them apart forever? This is only a sample of When Love Returns. You'll have to purchase the book to find out how it ends!
    Show book
  • Energy Ball: A Beginner's Guide to Creating an Energy Ball - cover

    Energy Ball: A Beginner's Guide...

    Charles Godwyn

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Energy Ball: A Beginner's Guide to Creating an Energy Ball is your one-stop guide that will teach you the ins and outs of creating an energy ball. Creating an energy ball is a basic technique in Magick. It also has many uses. If you are a true practitioner of the magical arts, then it is a must that you learn to create a real energy ball. 
    This book is a magical manual that will teach you:What an energy ball isUses and benefitsHow to create an energy ballHow to program your energy ballBest practicesAnswers to frequently asked questions about creating an energy ball 
    And so much more! 
    This book is divided into four parts: 
    Part I deals with the basics. Before you create an energy ball, you should first have a good understanding of the fundamentals, such as what magical energy is, the uses and benefits of an energy ball, among others. 
    Part II explains the process of creating an energy ball. It is time to turn your knowledge into actual practice. 
    Part III talks about the best practices that you should observe when creating an energy ball. 
    Part IV lays down the answers to frequently asked questions about creating an energy ball.
    Show book
  • Spring Brides - A Year of Weddings Novella Collection - cover

    Spring Brides - A Year of...

    Rachel Hauck, Lenora Worth, Meg...

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Happily ever after begins today. The honor of your presence is requested at three spring weddings . . . 
    A March Bride by Rachel Hauck 
    Susanna Truitt (Once Upon a Prince) is three weeks from royalty. She’ll soon marry King Nathaniel II of Brighton Kingdom. But when the government insists she renounce her American citizenship before the wedding, coupled with the lack of involvement by family and friends, Susanna’s heart begins to doubt whether this marriage is God's plan for her. 
    An April Bride by Lenora Worth 
    Bride-to-be Stella Carson cannot wait another day to marry soldier Marshall Henderson. But when Marshall returns home to Louisiana, it becomes clear to them both that he is not the man he used to be. 
    With only weeks until the wedding, Stella and Marshall must choose between a marriage built on the past and faith in long-ago love or a very different future than the one Stella imagined. 
    A May Bride by Meg Moseley 
    Ellie Martin, a country girl living in Atlanta, has dreamed of a traditional wedding all her life, but she’s missing a key ingredient to her plans for the future: a groom. Then Ellie meets Gray Whitby—at a wedding of all places. But when Ellie jeopardizes her own future for the sake of her sister, Gray feels like he'll always be second to Ellie's family. Can Ellie and Gray find their own way together amidst the demands and perceptions of others, or will their romance end before it has truly begun?
    Show book