Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Sadia - cover

Sadia

Colleen Nelson

Publisher: Dundurn

  • 3
  • 59
  • 0

Summary

Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Children’s Book Award — Winner, Young Adult • High Plains Book Award — Winner, Young Adult • Red Maple Fiction Award — Shortlisted 
 

Sadia wishes life in high school was as straightforward as a game of basketball. 
 

Fifteen-year-old Sadia Ahmadi is passionate about one thing: basketball. Her best friend Mariam, on the other hand, wants to get noticed by the popular crowd and has started de-jabbing, removing her hijab, at school every morning. Sadia’s mom had warned her that navigating high school could be tricky. As much as she hates to admit it, her mom was right. 
 

When tryouts for an elite basketball team are announced, Sadia jumps at the opportunity. Her talent speaks for itself. Her head scarf, on the other hand, is a problem; especially when a discriminatory rule means she has to choose between removing her hijab and not playing. Mariam, Sadia’s parents, and her teammates all have different opinions about what she should do. But it is Sadia who has to find the courage to stand up for herself and fight for what is right — on and off the court.

Other books that might interest you

  • 5-Day French Language Challenge - Learn French In 5 Days - cover

    5-Day French Language Challenge...

    Challenge Self

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Learn French with Your "5-Day French Language Challenge"
     
    Why are you reading this? Because:
     
    - You want to speak one of the dominant languages in North America.
     
    - You want to know the language that has strongly influenced English.
     
    - You want to charm those around you by learning the language of love.
     
    - You want to grasp enough French to travel to French-speaking countries.
     
    - You want to have the easiest and fastest way to study French for beginners.
     
    French is not only a beautiful language but more popular than you may realize here in North American, plus it is spoken in over five continents. There is just a myriad of reasons why learning French is such a great idea.
     
    Here in the United States, many people do already speak Spanish as a second language. However, French is quite another story; it can make you seem more appealing and stand out more in demand, opening up all sorts of opportunities—especially in the work force.
     
    Career Enhancement – An employer is going to be more likely to hire someone who knows more than one language than one who only speaks English. It allows to communicate with important French-speaking only clients in a way that they can understand. You may also get to travel more for the job if you show your boss your initiative.
     
    Education Opportunity – France is one of the most desirable country where you can study abroad. Imagine being able to go to Paris and understand what people are saying. When you have a rudimentary idea of the language, you will find that you can travel to France and expand your knowledge.
     
    Culture and Cuisine – When you know French, you can explore the cultures freely in many French-speaking places, even here within the United States, without having language barrier. Besides that, when you go out to a French restaurant, you’ll be able to read the menu and understand it without having to ask the waiter or waitress to translate, and fully enjoy the authentic French dining experience.
     
    Romance and Attraction – French is the language of love. Imagine wooing that special someone by speaking French to them and making them feel special. No matter what you say to someone, it always sounds more lovely in French.
     
    If you want to start learning French, the "5-Day French Language Challenge" is your easy, no-hassle ticket to journeying into the French language that is going to really get you up to speed in no time.
    Show book
  • The Door at the End of the World - cover

    The Door at the End of the World

    Caroline Carlson

    • 2
    • 7
    • 0
    An otherworldly middle grade story perfect for fans of A Wrinkle in Time and Stranger Things from the author of the Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates series and the Agatha Award nominee The World’s Greatest Detective. 
    What begins as a rather unremarkable Tuesday quickly turns to disaster when Lucy, the Gatekeeper's deputy, discovers that her boss has vanished and the door connecting Lucy's world to the next world over is broken—and it all might be Lucy's fault. 
    To save the Gatekeeper and set things right, Lucy must break the rules for the first time ever and journey with an otherworldly boy, a suspiciously sneaky girl, and a crew of magical bees into the seven worlds beyond her own. 
    But Lucy isn't the only one breaking the rules. As dangers gather around her, she learns she's up against a sinister force that's playing with the delicate fabric of time and space, no matter what the deadly costs or consequences. 
    Lucy's never had to save the world before—and now, somehow, she's got to find a way to save eight of them.
    Show book
  • The Anybodies - cover

    The Anybodies

    N. E. Bode

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Anybodies 
     Fern discovers that she was swapped at birth and leaves her tragically dull parents for an unforgettable adventure with her true father, the Bone. Just who are the Anybodies? You'll have to read to find out! Narrated by the hilariously intrusive N. E. Bode, The Anybodies is a magical adventure for readers of all ages. 
    The Nobodies 
     Fern Drudger's quirky adventures continue in this delightful sequel to The Anybodies. She goes to Camp Happy Sunshine Good Times and is bombarded by desperate messages from people who call themselves the Nobodies. But who are the Nobodies, and what do they want from Fern?
    Show book
  • Warriors: The New Prophecy #1: Midnight - cover

    Warriors: The New Prophecy #1:...

    Erin Hunter

    • 2
    • 15
    • 0
    Erin Hunter’s #1 nationally bestselling Warriors series continues in Warriors: The New Prophecy! 
    The first book in this second series, Warriors: The New Prophecy #1: Midnight, brings more adventure, intrigue, and thrilling battles to the epic world of the warrior Clans. 
    The wild cats of the forest have lived in peace and harmony for many  moons—but now, strange messages from their warrior ancestors speak of terrifying new prophecies and a mysterious danger.  
    Brambleclaw, a warrior of ThunderClan, may be the cat with the fate of the forest in his paws. Now he will need all the courage and strength of the greatest warriors to save the Clans.
    Show book
  • The Menagerie - cover

    The Menagerie

    Tui T. Sutherland, Kari H....

    • 0
    • 15
    • 0
    From the New York Times bestselling author of the Wings of Fire series, Tui T. Sutherland, and her sister, Kari Sutherland, comes the Menagerie series, perfect for fans of Brandon Mull’s Fablehaven series and The Spiderwick Chronicles.  
    In the small town of Xanadu, Wyoming lies the Menagerie, a top secret facility filled with unicorns, dragons, phoenixes, and other fairy tale creatures. At least, it was a secret—until six griffin cubs escaped. 
    If Logan and Zoe don’t get the cubs back fast, the entire Menagerie will be shut down. The race is on and the resulting adventure is only the beginning of a thrilling series that will leave readers wanting a magical menagerie of their very own. 
     
    Show book
  • A Series of Unfortunate Events #10: The Slippery Slope - cover

    A Series of Unfortunate Events...

    Lemony Snicket

    • 6
    • 151
    • 0
    NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES 
    Like bad smells, uninvited weekend guests or very old eggs, there are some things that ought to be avoided. 
    Snicket's saga about the charming, intelligent, and grossly unlucky Baudelaire orphans continues to alarm its distressed and suspicious fans the world over. The tenth book in this outrageous publishing effort features more than the usual dose of distressing details, such as snow gnats, an organised troupe of youngsters, an evil villain with a dastardly plan, a secret headquarters and some dangerous antics you should not try at home. With the weather turning colder, this is one chilling book you would be better off without.
    Show book