Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Sadia - cover

Sadia

Colleen Nelson

Publisher: Dundurn

  • 3
  • 10
  • 0

Summary

Explores what it's like to make a new life as a teenage refugee
Features three strong, female Muslim characters
Story of empowerment about students helping each other and supporting their teammates
As a teacher, the author is experienced writing issues-based books
Author's previous YA novel, Finding Hope was a VOYA Top Shelf Fiction selection, and The Fall was a Forest of Reading White Pine nominee

Other books that might interest you

  • Acting Out - The Rosewoods #7 - cover

    Acting Out - The Rosewoods #7

    Katrina Abbott

    • 2
    • 14
    • 0
    Seychelles Spencer—Chelly to her friends—is the resident bombshell at The Rosewood Academy for Academic Excellence; Westwood boys want her and Rosewood girls want to be her. But being the popular girl isn’t everything it’s cracked up to be, especially when that girl is all an act. Oh, she’s not exactly lying about who she is, it’s just that the confident, outgoing exterior is quite different from the girl inside. 
    Not that it’s ever been a problem for Chelly. Until now. Because now that she sees her friends settling down with boyfriends, she’s decided she no longer wants to be the carefree girl who gets all the boys’ attention. Now she wants to draw the attention of one guy and get herself a steady boyfriend. 
    But before she can make that happen, a game of truth or dare that was supposed to be stacked in her favor goes terribly wrong and Chelly finds herself at the center of a dare that will make sure she never gets a guy. Still, she’s determined and will do whatever it takes to get herself a guy of her own. 
    But who? And at what cost? And most importantly, is she ready to drop the act? 
    Acting Out is the seventh installment of The Rosewoods, a Young Adult series for readers who love fun, flirty love stories.
    Show book
  • Isle Of Midnight: Hearts Of Glass (Isle Of Midnight Series Book 2) - Isle Of Midnight #2 - cover

    Isle Of Midnight: Hearts Of...

    Lola StVil

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Things take a dark and twisted turn on the Island... 
     
    In addition to the drama the team just experienced, they now face an icy hell filled with ruthless demons and savage creatures. The team starts to crack under the pressure of the quest and soon, relationships fracture and friendships are tested. Do they have what it takes to survive the Island or will this next quest be their last?  
     
    Vicious Delights (Isle Of Midnight, Book 1)  
    Hearts Of Glass (Isle Of Midnight, Book 2)
    Show book
  • Playing The Part - The Rosewoods #3 - cover

    Playing The Part - The Rosewoods #3

    Katrina Abbott

    • 3
    • 20
    • 0
    Kaylee Bennett has never felt like she really fit in at The Rosewood Academy for Academic Excellence, but this year she feels even more like an outsider. Life has done a one-eighty for Kaylee and as she returns to the posh school for girls, she can’t bring herself to tell her secret to her friends and definitely not her long term crush, Phillip Carson. Not that Kaylee could ever imagine he would be attracted to a quiet bookworm like her anyway. But then there’s Declan Ryan, the gorgeous exchange student who seems to be interested, until Kaylee finds out his secret and why he might actually be into her, and it has nothing to do with her charm or love of English literature. 
     
    To complicate matters, Kaylee gets stuck running the school’s production of Romeo and Juliet, directing both Declan and Phillip with the help of Rosewood’s sexy first year teacher, Mr. Stratton—as if the Westwood boys weren’t enough of a distraction! 
     
    Determined to stay away from Declan and make things work with Phillip, Kaylee isolates herself from her friends and hides out in the house of cards she’s built to protect herself, but how long will it stay standing? 
     
    Playing The Part is book 3 in The Rosewoods, an exciting new Young Adult series for readers who love fun, flirty love stories.
    Show book
  • Shade's Children - cover

    Shade's Children

    Garth Nix

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    From renowned fantasy author of the Old Kingdom series, Garth Nix, comes a dystopian fantasy perfect for fans of Hunger Games and Divergent. 
    Imagine a world where your fourteenth birthday is your last and where even your protector may not be trusted…. 
    In a futuristic urban wasteland, evil Overlords have decreed that no human shall live a day past their fourteenth birthday. On that Sad Birthday, the children of the Dorms are taken to the Meat Factory, where they will be made into creatures whose sole purpose is to kill. 
    The mysterious Shade—once a man, but now more like the machines he fights—recruits the few teenagers who escape into a secret resistance force. With luck, cunning, and skill, four of Shade's children come closer than any to discovering the source of the Overlords' power—and the key to their downfall. But the closer they get, the more ruthless Shade seems to become.
    Show book
  • Mortal Coils (Serapis Classics) - cover

    Mortal Coils (Serapis Classics)

    Aldous Huxley

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Mortal Coils is a collection of five short fictional pieces written by Aldous Huxley in 1921. The title uses a phrase from Hamlet, Act 3, Scene 1: ... To die, to sleep, To sleep, perchance to dream; aye, there's the rub, For in that sleep of death, what dreams may come, When we have shuffled off this mortal coil, Must give us pause ... The stories all concern themselves with some sort of trouble, normally of an amorous nature, and often ending with disappointment.
    Show book
  • The Distance Between Us - cover

    The Distance Between Us

    Kasie West

    • 4
    • 59
    • 0
    Money can't buy a good first impression. 
    Seventeen-year-old Caymen Meyers learned early that the rich are not to be trusted. And after years of studying them from behind the cash register of her mom's porcelain-doll shop, she has seen nothing to prove otherwise. Enter Xander Spence—he's tall, handsome, and oozing rich. Despite his charming ways and the fact that he seems to be one of the first people who actually gets her, she's smart enough to know his interest won't last. Because if there's one thing she's learned from her mother's warnings, it's that the rich have a short attention span. But just when Xander's loyalty and attentiveness are about to convince Caymen that being rich isn't a character flaw, she finds out that money is a much bigger part of their relationship than she'd ever realized. With so many obstacles standing in their way, can she close the distance between them?
    Show book