Instant satisfaction for your thirst for knowledge!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Sadia - cover

Sadia

Colleen Nelson

Publisher: Dundurn

  • 3
  • 34
  • 0

Summary

Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Children’s Book Award — Winner, Young Adult • Red Maple Fiction Award — Shortlisted 
 


Sadia wishes life in high school was as straightforward as a game of basketball. 
 


Fifteen-year-old Sadia Ahmadi is passionate about one thing: basketball. Her best friend Mariam, on the other hand, wants to get noticed by the popular crowd and has started de-jabbing, removing her hijab, at school every morning. Sadia’s mom had warned her that navigating high school could be tricky. As much as she hates to admit it, her mom was right. 
 


When tryouts for an elite basketball team are announced, Sadia jumps at the opportunity. Her talent speaks for itself. Her head scarf, on the other hand, is a problem; especially when a discriminatory rule means she has to choose between removing her hijab and not playing. Mariam, Sadia’s parents, and her teammates all have different opinions about what she should do. But it is Sadia who has to find the courage to stand up for herself and fight for what is right — on and off the court.

Other books that might interest you

  • Pretty Little Liars - cover

    Pretty Little Liars

    Sara Shepard

    • 4
    • 35
    • 0
    #1 New York Times bestselling series 
    The first book in the #1 New York Times bestselling series that inspired the hit ABC Family TV show Pretty Little Liars. 
    In ultra-trendy Rosewood, Pennsylvania, four beautiful girls are hiding very ugly secrets. High school juniors Spencer, Hanna, Aria, and Emily have grown apart since their best friend Alison DiLaurentis went missing three years ago. But now someone is sending them anonymous notes, threatening to reveal their darkest secrets. There’s only one person who knows that much about them, but Ali’s gone . . . isn’t she? 
    Full of unexpected twists and shocking revelations, this is the first book in New York Times bestselling author Sara Shepard’s compelling Pretty Little Liars series. 
    Show book
  • Bone Gap - cover

    Bone Gap

    Laura Ruby

    • 4
    • 64
    • 0
    National Book Award Finalist * Printz Award Winner for Best Young Adult Book of the Year 
    “Ruby’s novel deserves to be read and reread. It is powerful, beautiful, extraordinary.”—School Library Journal 
    Everyone knows Bone Gap is full of gaps. 
    So when young, beautiful Roza went missing, the people of Bone Gap weren’t surprised. But Finn knows what really happened to Roza. He knows she was kidnapped by a dangerous man whose face he cannot remember. 
    As we follow the stories of Finn, Roza, and the people of Bone Gap, acclaimed author Laura Ruby weaves a tale of the ways in which the face the world sees is never the sum of who we are.
    Show book
  • Are These My Basoomas I See Before Me? - cover

    Are These My Basoomas I See...

    Louise Rennison

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    For Georgia, the more things change, the more they stay the same. Just when she thought she was the official one-and-only girlfriend of Masimo, he's walked off into the night with the full hump, leaving Georgia all aloney on her owney-again. All because Dave the Laugh tried to do fisticuffs at dawn with him! Two boys fighting over Georgia? It's almost as romantic as Romeo and Juliet . . . though perhaps a touch less tragic. It's time for Georgia to get to the bottom (oo-er) of this Dave the Laugh spontaneous puckering business once and for all. It's like they always say: If you snog a mate in the forest of red bottomosity and no one is around to see it, is he still a mate? Or is he something more?</p?
    Show book
  • Firelight - cover

    Firelight

    Sophie Jordan

    • 6
    • 15
    • 0
    The first book in an addictive, romantic trilogy from New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan is perfect for fans of Laini Taylor, Tahereh Mafi, and Claudia Gray. 
    With her rare ability to breathe fire, Jacinda is special even among the draki—the descendants of dragons who can shift between human and dragon forms. 
    But when Jacinda’s rebelliousness forces her family to flee into the human world, she struggles to adapt, even as her draki spirit fades. The one thing that revives it is the gorgeous, elusive Will, whose family hunts her kind. Jacinda can’t resist getting closer to him, even though she knows she’s risking not only her life but the draki’s most closely guarded secret. 
    Mythical powers and breathtaking romance ignite in this story of a girl who defies all expectations and whose love crosses an ancient divide, from New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan.
    Show book
  • Pretty Little Liars #2: Flawless - cover

    Pretty Little Liars #2: Flawless

    Sara Shepard

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    #1 New York Times bestselling series 
    The second book in the #1 New York Times bestselling series that inspired the hit ABC Family TV show Pretty Little Liars. 
    In ultra-exclusive Rosewood, Pennsylvania, four beautiful girls are hiding very ugly secrets. Spencer covets her sister’s boyfriend. Aria is fantasizing about her gorgeous young English teacher. Emily is infatuated with the new girl at school. And Hanna is using some ugly tricks to stay amazingly beautiful. But their most horrible secret is something so scandalous it could destroy their perfect little lives. And someone named “A” is threatening to do just that.  
    Full of unexpected twists and shocking revelations, Flawless is the second book in New York Times bestselling author Sara Shepard’s compelling Pretty Little Liars series.  
    Show book
  • Then He Ate My Boy Entrancers - More Mad Marvy Confessions of Georgia Nicolson - cover

    Then He Ate My Boy Entrancers -...

    Louise Rennison

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    Let the overseas snogfest begin! 
    Georgia and Jas are off to Hamburger-a-gogo land! Georgia plans to track down Masimo, the Italian-American dreamboat, but after a long week in America, she only succeeds in learning importantish things -- like how to ride a bucking bronco. Will Georgia reel in the Italian dreamboat? Or is she destined to live forever all aloney on her owney?
    Show book