Turn 2021 into a year of reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Blood Brothers - cover

Blood Brothers

Colleen Nelson

Publisher: Dundurn

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A Winnipeg Free Press Bestseller! • In the Margins Book Award, Top Ten Selection • CCBC’s Best Books for Kids & Teens (Fall 2017) Selection 

Close as brothers, Jakub’s and Lincoln’s lives diverge when Jakub gets a private school scholarship and Lincoln is lured into a gang. 
 


Fifteen-year-old Jakub Kaminsky is the son of Polish immigrants, a good Catholic boy, and a graffiti artist. While his father sleeps, Jakub and his best friend, Lincoln, sneak out with spray paint to make their mark as Morf and Skar.
When Jakub gets a scholarship to an elite private school, he knows it’s his chance for a better life. But it means leaving Lincoln and the neighbourhood he calls home. 
 
 

While Jakub’s future is looking bright, Lincoln’s gets shady as he is lured into his brother’s gang. Jakub watches helplessly as Lincoln gets pulled deeper into the violent world of the Red Bloodz. The Red Bloodz find out Jakub knows more than he should about a murder and want him silenced — for good. Lincoln has to either save his friend, or embrace life as one of the Red Bloodz.

Other books that might interest you

  • Trapper's Grounding - cover

    Trapper's Grounding

    Dawn Chevoya

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Brennon Trapper isn’t sure who he really is since there are two Brennons ticking inside his head. At school, he does whatever he must do to be liked, but at home inside his trailer, he crawls back inside himself, wishing he could disappear. His father likely wouldn’t even notice if he did. 
    
    
    Then, something too incredible to believe happens on his family’s wooded property, and Brennon and his younger brother vow to keep it from their parents rather than risk ridicule again. Seriously, who would believe that a beaver gave them a tesserapod that could develop into a “lodge of sorts” in 200 days if grounded correctly? But when an epic blizzard destroys the roof of their trailer, Brennon finally comes clean about the woods and what he thinks may be a place of shelter. His father’s anger and disbelief jolts Brennon to overcome his fear. In the morning, Brennon is gone—he believes he can make it to the “lodge of sorts.” As Brennon strives to make it to the “lodge of sorts,” reality and fantasy mingle in this fantastical tale of a boy just searching for connection… and finding it in unexpected places.
    Show book
  • The Season of You & Me - cover

    The Season of You & Me

    Robin Constantine

    • 4
    • 49
    • 0
    From Robin Constantine, author of The Promise of Amazing and The Secrets of Attraction, comes a funny and heartfelt summer romance set in New Jersey. Perfect for fans of Sarah Mlynowski, Jenny Han, and Morgan Matson. 
    Cassidy Emmerich is reeling from a sudden, humiliating breakup. The last thing she wants to do is stick around and be reminded of her ex everywhere she goes. On impulse, she decides to spend the summer with her father and his family at their Jersey Shore bed-and-breakfast. A different scene and a new job working as a camp counselor seem like the perfect recipe for forgetting Gavin as quickly as possible—not to mention for avoiding him until he leaves for college.  
    Bryan Lakewood is sick of nevers. You’ll never walk. You’ll never surf. You’ll never slow dance with a girl and have her put her head on your shoulder. Last year he made one false move—now he’s paralyzed and needs to use a wheelchair. But this summer, he’s back at his camp job and is determined to reclaim his independence—and his confidence. 
    Cass is expecting two months of healing her broken heart. 
    Bryan is expecting a summer of tough adjustments. 
    Neither is expecting to fall in love.
    Show book
  • On the Rocks - cover

    On the Rocks

    Eric Walters

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Fourteen-year-old Dylan is sent to live with his estranged grandfather, Angus. Basically strangers, the two avoid each other as best they can. One day Dylan discovers a young orca stranded high up on the rocky beach. Dylan runs to tell his grandfather. There’s nothing that can be done, says Angus. The sun is coming up, and soon the orca will die of exposure.
    
    But Dylan knows he has to try to save the whale. He collects towels to cover the delicate skin of the orca and begins transporting buckets of water from the ocean below to keep it hydrated. It’s grueling work, and it will be hours before the tide comes back in and the water is high enough for the orca to swim free. Angus is moved by his grandson’s determination and helps as best he can. They both desperately hope that soon the orca will be able to join its family, who have been calling out to it just offshore.
    
    On the Rocks is an inspiring story about the ups and downs of family.
    Show book
  • The Good Girls - cover

    The Good Girls

    Sara Shepard

    • 7
    • 67
    • 0
    Don’t miss the Freeform TV series, Pretty Little Liars: The Perfectionists!  
    From Sara Shepard, author of the #1 New York Times bestselling Pretty Little Liars, comes the shocking finish to The Perfectionists, a series perfect for fans of One of Us Is Lying and We Were Liars—with an ending you’ll have to read to believe! 
    Mackenzie, Ava, Caitlin, Julie, and Parker have done some not-so-perfect things. But even though they all talked about killing rich bully Nolan Hotchkiss, they didn’t actually go through with it. It’s just a coincidence that Nolan died in exactly the way they planned . . . right? 
    Except Nolan wasn’t the only one they fantasized about killing. When someone else they named dies, the girls wonder if they’re being framed. Or are they about to become the killer’s next targets? 
     
    Show book
  • aka genius - cover

    aka genius

    Marilee Haynes

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Thirteen-year-old Gabe Carpenter is just like any other middle-school boy at St. Jude Academy… well, except for the fact that he is a genius who can’t even open his own locker or talk to his crush. 
    Themes include: self-acceptance, giftedness and humor.
    Show book
  • My Life in Smiley (Book 3 in Smiley series) - Save Me! - cover

    My Life in Smiley (Book 3 in...

    Anne Kalicky

    • 2
    • 2
    • 0
    Max is in trouble, SOS trouble, he's a prisoner in the middle of nowhere. His journal is the conclusive evidence that the next two weeks at summer camp are going to be absolutely miserable . . . or not! His parents signed him up to give him some “independence,” but all it’s given him so far is bug bites! It's super hot, he's got no video games, no salt and vinegar chips, and—worst of all—no friends. He even has to pretend to have fun and participate in activities! But despite all that, his roomies are cool, this girl Clara is kinda pretty, and he found a mysterious diary. . . . 
    Show book