Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Best of British Aircraft - cover

Best of British Aircraft

Colin Higgs

Publisher: G2 Entertainment

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Since AV Roe started building his first aircraft in 1907 at Brooklands in Surrey there have been great designers, engineers and test pilots whose combined skills have created some of the greatest aircraft the World has ever seen.
In aircraft archivist Colin Higgs's new ebook you will discover the work of RJ Mitchell, Henry Royce, Geoffrey de Havilland, Sir Frederick Handley Page, Harry Hawker, Teddy Petter, Tommy Sopwith, Sydney Camm, the Short Brothers and many more. The aircraft they designed include the Spitfire, Hurricane, Lancaster, Mosquito, Sunderland, Tiger Moth, Halifax, Lightning, Vulcan, Viscount, Harrier and even Concorde.
Whatever happens in the British aviation industry in the future it is these great people and their great aircraft that will be remembered and held up as examples of how to do it right.
Available since: 06/30/2020.
Print length: 144 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Vickers VC10 - cover

    Vickers VC10

    Lance Cole

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “A comprehensive history of the VC10 . . . enhanced by the fabulous artwork and photographs . . . will take you back to the golden age of jet travel.” —Flight Line Book Review 
     
    Designed and manufactured by the men who would make Concorde, the Rolls-Royce powered Vickers VC10, and its larger variant, the Super VC10, represented the ultimate in 1960s subsonic airliners. The VC10 was Britain’s answer to the Boeing 707 and the Douglas DC-8, but it could take off in a very short distance, climb more steeply, and land at slower speed than its rivals. These were vital safety benefits in the early years of the jet age. At one stage, the Super VC10 was the biggest airliner made in Europe and the fastest in the world. 
     
    On entry into service, both the VC10 and the longer Super VC10 carved out a niche with passengers who enjoyed the speed, silence and elegance of the airliner. Pilots, meanwhile, loved its ease of flying and extra power. Yet the VC10 project was embroiled in machinations across many years and more than one government. Questions were asked in parliament and the whole story was enmeshed in a political and corporate affair that signified the end of British big airliner production. Yet the men who made the VC10 also went on to design and build Concorde. Many VC10 pilots became Concorde pilots. 
     
    In service until the 1980s with British Airways, and until 2013 with the RAF, the VC10 became a British icon and a national hero, one only eclipsed by Concorde. It retains a place in the hearts and minds of enthusiasts the world over. 
     
    “A good one-stop reference to the VC10.” —Scale Aviation Modeller International
    Show book
  • The Contemporary Cake Decorating Bible: Flowers - cover

    The Contemporary Cake Decorating...

    Lindy Smith

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Flowers are probably the most popular choice of all cake decorations. The simplest representation of a flower is a cut-out shape. Other more interesting ways of representing flowers are to create fabric-effect flowers out of paste or to try your hand at creating lifelike flowers. There are many books written on the art of sugar flower making; LindySmith touches on this subject here, showing you how to make lifelike poppies and peonies, as well as fabric roses, blossoms and dahlias, and simple cupped flowers.
    Show book
  • The Last Train to Zona Verde - My Ultimate African Safari - cover

    The Last Train to Zona Verde -...

    Paul Theroux

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A final African adventure from the writer whose gimlet eye and effortless prose have brought the world to generations of readers  Journeying alone, in what he feels will be his last African journey, Paul Theroux encounters a world increasingly removed from both the itineraries of tourists and the hopes of post-colonial independence movements. Having travelled down the right-hand side of Africa in Dark Star Safari, he sets out this time from Cape Town, heading northwards up the left-hand side, through South Africa and Namibia, to Botswana, heading for the Congo, in search of the end of the line.
    Show book
  • Édouard Manet and artworks - cover

    Édouard Manet and artworks

    Nathalia Brodskaya

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Manet is one of the most famous artists from the second half of the nineteenth century linked to the impressionists, although he was not really one of them. He had great influence on French painting partly because of the choice he made for his subjects from everyday life, the use of pure colours, and his fast and free technique. He made, in his own work, the transition between Courbet’s Realism and the work of the impressionists.
    Born a high bourgeois, he chose to become a painter after failing the entry to the Marine School. He studied with Thomas Couture, an Academic painter, but it was thanks to the numerous travels he made around Europe from 1852 that he started to find out what would become his own style.
    His first paintings were mostly portraits and genre scenes, inspired by his love for Spanish masters like Velázquez and Goya. In 1863 he presented his masterpiece Luncheon on the Grass at the Salon des Refusés. His work started a fight between the defenders of Academic art and the young “refusés” artists. Manet became the leader of this new generation of artists.
    From 1864, the official Salon accepted his paintings, still provoking loud protests over works such as Olympia in 1865. In 1866, the writer Zolá wrote an article defending Manet’s work. At that time, Manet was friends with all the future great impressionist masters: Edgar Degas, Claude Monet, Auguste Renoir, Alfred Sisley, Camille Pissarro and Paul Cézanne, and he influenced their work, even though he cannot strictly be counted as one of them. In 1874 indeed, he refused to present his paintings in the First Impressionist Exhibition. His last appearance in the official Salon was in 1882 with A Bar at the Folies-Bergère, one of his most famous works. Suffering from gangrene during the year 1883, he painted flower still-lifes until he became too weak to work. He died leaving behind a great number of drawings and paintings.
    Show book
  • Mennonite Community Cookbook - Favorite Family Recipes - cover

    Mennonite Community Cookbook -...

    Mary Emma Showalter

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This “grandmother of all Mennonite cookbooks” brings a touch of Mennonite culture and hospitality to any home that relishes great cooking. Mary Emma Showalter compiled favorite recipes from hundreds of Mennonite women across the United States and Canada noted for their excellent cooking into this book of more than 1,100 recipes. These tantalizing dishes came to this country directly from Dutch, German, Swiss, and Russian kitchens. Old-fashioned cooking and traditional Mennonite values are woven throughout. Original directions like “a dab of cinnamon” or “ten blubs of molasses” have been standardized to help you get the same wonderful individuality and flavor. Showalter introduces each chapter with her own nostalgic recollection of cookery in grandma’s day—the pie shelf in the springhouse, outdoor bake ovens, the summer kitchen.First published in 1950, Mennonite Community Cookbook has become a treasured part of many family kitchens. Parents who received the cookbook when they were first married make sure to purchase it for their own sons and daughters when they wed.This 65th anniversary edition adds all new color photography and a brief history while retaining all of the original recipes and traditional Fraktur drawings.Check out the cookbook blog at mennonitecommunitycookbook.com
    Show book
  • Poison at the Village Show - The start of a page-turning cozy murder mystery series from Catherine Coles - cover

    Poison at the Village Show - The...

    Catherine Cowles

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Westleham Village 1947. 
    It’s the Westleham village show and with the war finally over, everyone is looking forward to a pleasant day.But newcomer, Martha Miller doesn’t share the excitement. Because since her husband Stan left for work one day and never returned, Martha has been treated as somewhat of an outsider in Westleham. The village gossip is that Martha must be to blame….Martha hopes she can win her fellow villagers over with her delicious homemade plum gin. But as glasses of the tangy tipple are quaffed, disaster strikes! Chairwoman of the village show, Alice Warren, slumps to the ground - poisoned!As fingers of suspicion again point Martha’s way, she’s determined to prove her innocence and find the real culprit. And she’s ably helped by the new vicar, Luke Walker. But who would kill Alice and why? And will Luke and Martha discover who is behind the poisoning before it's too late?Find out in a brand new Martha Miller mystery from bestselling author Catherine Coles.Praise for Catherine Coles:'An utterly charming 1940’s mystery. Definitely a new series addiction!' Bestselling author Debbie Young.'Pure mystery buff entertainment' Library BookwatchPerfect for fans of Lee Strauss and Beth Byers!
    Show book