As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Death and the Butterfly - A Novel - cover

Death and the Butterfly - A Novel

Colin Hester

Publisher: Counterpoint

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

For fans of Cristina Garca, Joan Silber, Michael Ondaatje, Amor Towles, Pete Fromm, or Alice McDermott
With the sweeping, personalized historical tone of DOWNTON ABBEY, and the heart and humanity of THIS IS US
A sweeping novel of the 20th and early days of the 21st century, spanning the London Blitz to a Montana university campus struggling to understand 9/11 as it unfolds, 1980s Toronto to a cross-country road trip ending in Chile in homage to Pablo Neruda
Inspired in part by the author's mother’s experiences as a young girl in London during WWII and Hester's experiences as a 31-year old paperboy during the Reagan recession.
A moving exploration of how we are haunted by our loved ones, our grief, and our own past decisions. Death and the Butterfly is a complex and magnificent piece of writing

Other books that might interest you

  • Maverick Gambit - cover

    Maverick Gambit

    Marjorie King

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Knox defends his own.
     
    Space is a deadly business, a truth Knox has experienced first hand. That's why he's so protective of his ship and family. So when pirates plunder an impoverished town--a town that's earned the rare honor of Knox's guarded friendship--he's going to do something about it.
     
    Knox knows the pillagers will be back for more, so his town needs protection from any and all pirates, for years to come. Only one way to do that. His friends need shields to keep their town and children safe, and Knox will get those shields. Even if he has to steal them.
     
    Knox devises a carefully crafted plan and hires the perfect crew. He’ll “borrow” from Caravan Suppliers—the Goliath of space shipping—a company that can afford to lose a shield generator or two. No one will know he was there.
     
    But Caravan Suppliers has a dirty slave habit, and they’ll kill to it keep secret. When Knox stumbles onto it, he endangers his crew and his family. Will this operation cost Knox more than he’s willing to pay?
     
    From debut author Marjorie King, Maverick Gambit is the first book in the Maverick series. With a layered galaxy full of rich characters and thrilling heists, it’s perfect for fans of JN Chaney and Timothy Zahn. Scroll up and get your copy today!
    Show book
  • Protect the Prince - cover

    Protect the Prince

    Jennifer Estep

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    USA TODAY Bestseller!  
    Magic, murder, adventure, and romance combine in this second novel in the exciting Crown of Shards saga from New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jennifer Estep. 
    Everleigh Blair might be the new gladiator queen of Bellona, but her problems are far from over. 
    First, Evie has to deal with a court full of arrogant, demanding nobles, all of whom want to get their greedy hands on her crown. As if that wasn’t bad enough, an assassin tries to kill Evie in her own throne room. 
    Despite the dangers, Evie goes ahead with a scheduled trip to the neighboring kingdom of Andvari in order to secure a desperately needed alliance. But complicating matters is the stubborn Andvarian king, who wants to punish Evie for the deaths of his countrymen during the Seven Spire massacre. 
    Dark forces are also at work inside the Andvarian palace, and Evie soon realizes that no one is safe. Worse, her immunity to magic starts acting in strange, unexpected ways, which makes Evie wonder whether she is truly strong enough to be a Winter Queen. 
    Evie’s magic, life, and crown aren’t the only things in danger—so is her heart, thanks to Lucas Sullivan, the Andvarian king’s bastard son and Evie’s … well, Evie isn’t quite sure what Sullivan is to her. 
    Only one thing is certain—protecting a prince might be even harder than killing a queen…
    Show book
  • Anything For You - A Friessen Family Novella - cover

    Anything For You - A Friessen...

    Lorhainne Eckhart

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Cat & Xander return in a Friessen Family novella about hurdles in this young couple’s relationship
     
    Cat and Xander have been living together for years and for Cat it’s everything she wants until an unexpected complication changes everything in this couple's relationship.
     
    But for Xander having Cat means she comes with her very opinionated and interfering father Neil who is always sticking his nose into their relationship. Only this time it isn’t Xander Neil will be butting heads with when Cat refuses to marry Xander, but his very stubborn daughter whose somehow believes that marriage isn’t for her. How far will Xander have to go to convince Cat that marrying him isn’t the worst idea ever?
    Show book
  • The Diver's Clothes Lie Empty - A Novel - cover

    The Diver's Clothes Lie Empty -...

    Vendela Vida

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From the acclaimed author of Let the Northern Lights Erase Your Name and The Lovers comes a taut, spellbinding literary thriller that probes the essence and malleability of identity. 
    In Vendela Vida’s taut and mesmerizing novel of ideas, a woman travels to Casablanca, Morocco, on mysterious business. While checking into her hotel, the woman is robbed of her wallet and passport—all of her money and identification. Though the police investigate, the woman senses an undercurrent of complicity between the hotel staff and the authorities—she knows she’ll never recover her possessions. Stripped of her identity, she feels burdened by the crime yet strangely liberated by her sudden freedom to be anyone she chooses. 
    A chance encounter with a movie producer leads to a job posing as a stand-in for a well-known film star. The star reels her in deeper, though, and soon she’s inhabiting the actress’s skin off set, too—going deeper into the Casablancan night and further from herself. And so continues a strange and breathtaking journey full of unexpected turns, an adventure in which the woman finds herself moving further and further away from the person she once was. 
    Told with vibrant, lush detail and a wicked sense of humor, The Diver’s Clothes Lie Empty is part literary mystery, part psychological thriller—an unforgettable novel that explores free will, power, and a woman’s right to choose not her past, perhaps not her present, but certainly her future. This is Vendela Vida’s most assured and ambitious novel yet.
    Show book
  • The Eternal Night - cover

    The Eternal Night

    Rachel Morgan

    • 4
    • 32
    • 0
    Cinderella retold: Fae, vampires, shifters, and a Godmother who’ll grant you any wish—if you pay the price.
     
    Finding herself with some unlikely allies, Elle prepares to face the man calling himself the vampire king in an enchanted land of never-ending darkness.
     
    ~ ~ ~
     
    This is episode 4 of 6 of a SERIALIZED Cinderella retelling. It is not novel-length. Expect cliffhangers! Approximately 26,000 words or 115 print pages.
     
    **Prefer to binge-read all the episodes together? Look for City of Wishes: The Complete Cinderella Story**
     
    ~ ~ ~
     
    In a world of fae, vampires and shifters, where wishes can be bought and bargained for, Elle is human, bound to her stepmother by a slave charm. Her only hope at freedom is to wish for it. But the Godmother rules the illegal wish trade, and the price she demands is steep. Is Elle willing to pay it?
    Show book
  • Make Mad the Guilty - cover

    Make Mad the Guilty

    William Norris

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Jason Verne is an All-American Hero. As the first man to set foot on Mars after a solo journey into space, he quickly became a familiar figure in every living room. His good-will and human courage won over the hearts of many, including the daughter of world-famous televangelist, Timothy Grayson. His meteoric rise didn’t end there. While settling into the limelight with his wife and new baby Timmy, he became the perfect candidate to move into the White House. 
     
    But this kind of fame and power comes at a price. The midnight kidnapping of Timmy Verne leaves the world aghast. Who would commit the capital offence of breaking the Lindbergh Law? 
     
    Then veteran reporter Albert Choate notices suspicious parallels between the kidnapping of the president-elect’s only child and another event that occurred almost a hundred years ago—the Lindbergh Kidnapping. History seems to be repeating itself. Is this some sort of twisted coincidence, or could the Trial of the Century be occurring all over again for some other sinister purpose?
    Show book