A world full of adventures is waiting for you!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Essential Clive Barker - Selected Fiction - cover

The Essential Clive Barker - Selected Fiction

Clive Barker

Publisher: HarperCollins e-books

  • 0
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

"I wonder if the reverse is not also in some way true. That the artist is constantly working on an elaborate and fantasticated self-portrait, but at the end has drawn, unbeknownst, a picture of the world." -- Clive Barker, "Private Legends: An Introduction" 
Clive Barker, award-winning and New York Times bestselling author, playwright, artist, producer, director, screenwriter, and one of the world's master storytellers, writing in the haunting and moving traditions of Poe and Dickens, invites us to join him on a dazzling, wondrous journey through the worlds of his imagination and to experience visions, dreams, love, terror, heaven and hell, and revenge. 
As we read, we discover and explore the dream-sea Quiddity and the islands of Ephemeris; the five Dominions of the Imajica, of which the Earth is but an imperfect facet; the rapturous world woven into an ancient, threadbare carpet in a derelict house in Liverpool; Hood's Holiday House where each day contains four seasons and children's wishes may come true; the Sky Room of Galilee, where the creation of the universe may be witnessed; and the clubs and bars of San Francisco and New York, in which all manner of sexual adventures lie in wait. 
In these stories, the real and the miraculous are within a breath of one another, life gives way to death, and death to life; doorways open into other states of existence, and each doorway leads us back to our own dreams and fears. 
The Essential Clive Barker is an irresistible narrative compendium that superbly represents the impressive quality and range of Barker's fiction, spanning more than twenty years of writing. It contains more than seventy excerpts from novels and plays and four full-length short stories, all personally selected by Barker, and offers a privileged insight into a remarkable writer and his art.

Other books that might interest you

  • Bone Rattler - Duncan McCallum #1 - cover

    Bone Rattler - Duncan McCallum #1

    Eliot Pattison

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    "Hauntingly beautiful are the bonds between the cultures of the Scots Highlanders and the Indians" – Historical Novel Society 
     
    Aboard a British convict ship bound for the New World, Duncan McCallum witnesses a series of murders and apparent suicides among his fellow Scottish prisoners. A strange trail of clues leads Duncan into the New World and eventually thrusts him into the bloody maw of the French and Indian War.  
     
    Exploring a frontier world shrouded in danger and defying death in a wilderness populated by European settlers, Indian shamans, and mysterious scalping parties, Duncan, the exiled chief of his near-extinct Scottish clan, finds that sometimes justice cannot be reached unless the cultures and spirits of those involved are appeased. 
     
    Bone Rattler is a powerful historical mystery set against a backdrop of culture clashes, greed, deceit and murder as seen through the eyes of an honest Scot swept up in both the wonder and heartbreak of early colonial America. 
     
     
    "Having already won an Edgar for his Inspector Shan series, Pattison makes a strong bid for another with this outstanding mystery set in colonial America… Pattison's moving characters, intricate plot and masterful evocation of the time, including sensitive depictions of the effects of the European war on Native Americans, set this leagues beyond most historicals." – Publishers Weekly 
     
    ELIOT PATTISON is the author of The Skull Mantra, winner of the Edgar Award and finalist for the Gold Dagger, Water Touching Stone, and Bone Mountain. Pattison resides in rural Pennsylvania with his wife, three children, two horses, and two dogs on a colonial-era farm.
    Show book
  • Almost A Queen - cover

    Almost A Queen

    Laura du Pre

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Who wouldn't want to be Queen?
     
    Cousins to the King of Navarre, the Cleves sisters witness the glamour and danger of the French royal court firsthand. Youngest sister, Marie is trapped in an unhappy arranged marriage with her cousin, Henri, Prince de Conde. Determined to make the best of her situation, she awaits the wedding of the King of Navarre in Paris.
     
    Paris of 1572 boils with religious war, and few will make it out of the wedding celebrations alive. Those that do survive face an impossible choice: convert or die. Will Marie and Conde make the decision to abandon their Protestant faith in order to save their lives? Will it cost them their souls?
     
    Along with the threat of death comes a change for true love with the king's younger son, the Duc d'Anjou. Yet Marie promised to love honor and cherish her husband till death did them part. Will death part them soon? Is it possible to find love in the midst of tragedy?
     
    Based on a true story 
     
    The Cleves sisters' story starts with Marie, the youngest sister introduces you to the world of court politics in France of the 1500s. Like most great noble families of the period, the web of intermarriages and alliances made enemies out of blood relatives. It also meant that the stories of the people who served the Valois monarchs were as intertwined and as complicated as their marriages.
     
    Led by the ever-vigilant Catherine de Medici, Queen Mother of France and a force of nature, the members of the court shaped the political and religious future of France of the Sixteenth Century. In upcoming novels, you'll meet the often- derided Charlotte, Madame de Sauve, and enough royal mistresses to satisfy your need for scandal.
     
    The Three Graces Trilogy continues with eldest sister, Henriette and will conclude with middle sister Catherine's story. Why did I choose that order? You really will have to read to to find out for yourself. I'm available 24/7 at www.lauradupre.com. Stop by there for a free book and make sure you'll be the first to hear about new releases and special discounts.
    Show book
  • Dead Flowers - cover

    Dead Flowers

    Nicola Monaghan

    • 2
    • 28
    • 0
    She doesn’t trust the police. She used to be one of them.
     
    Hardened by ten years on the murder squad, DNA analyst Doctor Sian Love has seen it all. So when she finds human remains in the basement of her new home, she knows the drill.
     
    Except this time it’s different. This time, it’s personal...
     
    A page-turning cold case investigation, Dead Flowers is an intriguing, multi-layered story perfect for fans of Kate Atkinson’s Case Histories and British crime dramas like Line of Duty and Unforgotten.
     
    Shortlisted for the UEA Crime Fiction Award 2019
     
    --------------------
     
    Praise for Nicola Monaghan's previous works
     
    'A gripping, mile-a-minute British debut. Enthralling' - Kirkus Reviews
     
    'Monaghan's convincing characters swing unpredictably between terrifying and tender, and the often violent encounters usually have a bleakly funny edge' - Independent
    Show book
  • The Hawkshead Hostage - cover

    The Hawkshead Hostage

    Rebecca Tope

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    STILL WATERS RUN DEEP AND DARK IN THE LAKE DISTRICT 
    Summer has come to Windermere, where Persimmon ‘Simmy’ Brown owns a florist shop. But business is hardly booming, so Simmy jumps at the chance of a contract to provide floral displays for a hotel in nearby Hawkshead. However, the association with the hotel turns sinister when a body is found in the lake. To make matters worse, her friend Ben is now missing and thought to be kidnapped. Caught up in both a murder and kidnapping investigation, Simmy begins chasing clues, watching suspicious characters and grappling with her own personal challenges, compelled to uncover the truth. 
    A cracking good read’ Mystery People
    Show book
  • Murder in Georgetown - cover

    Murder in Georgetown

    Margaret Truman

    • 1
    • 10
    • 0
    The author of Murdered at the FBI delivers a political thriller that “ends with several bangs. It may be deemed the best of Truman’s bestsellers” (Publishers Weekly).   When the corpse of a young woman is found floating down Washington’s C&O Canal, everyone is shocked to learn the victim is none other than Valerie Frolich—a senator’s daughter, Georgetown graduate, and a rising star in the cutthroat world of investigative journalism.  Washington Post reporter Joe Potamos is good at unearthing the skeletons in the nation’s capital, so when he’s assigned the Frolich story, he immediately senses this case is rife with secrets. As he digs further to uncover the truth about Valerie’s death, it soon becomes apparent someone wanted the young, beautiful reporter dead.   And when Joe’s search reveals an evil labyrinth of intrigue involving murder, bribery, kidnapping, and even international espionage, he’ll have to race to find Valerie’s killer—before his own life is snuffed out. “Truman[’s] . . . murder mysteries . . . evoke brilliantly the Washington she knows so well.” —The Houston Post   “Truman does it again!” —United Press International  
    Show book
  • The Guilt of Innocents - The Owen Archer Series - Book Nine - cover

    The Guilt of Innocents - The...

    Candace Robb

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    “It’s…the Machiavellian intrigue that makes this such an enjoyable read. When the iron curtain came down people said the spy-thriller genre was dead. They were wrong. This is as full of intrigue as a Deighton or a Le Carré.” —THE GUARDIAN
    
    Winter in the year of our Lord 1372. A river pilot falls into the icy waters of the River Ouse during a skirmish between dockworkers and the boys of the minster school, which include Owen Archer’s adopted son Jasper. But what began as a confrontation to return a boy’s stolen scrip becomes a murder investigation as the rescuers find the pilot dying of wounds inflicted before his plunge into the river. When another body is fished from the river upstream and Owen discovers that the boy Jasper sought to help has disappeared, Owen Archer convinces the archbishop that he must go in search of the boy. His lost scrip seems to hold the key to the double tragedy, but his disappearance leaves troubling questions: did he flee in fear? Or was he abducted? 
    
    On the cusp of this new mystery, Owen accepts Jasper’s offer to accompany him to the boy’s home in the countryside, where they learn that a valuable cross has gone missing. A devastating fire and another drowning force Owen to make impossible choices, endangering not only himself, but the two innocents he fights to protect. The bond between fathers and sons proves strong, even between those not linked by blood.
    Show book