Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Clifford D Simak: Golden Age Space Opera Tales - cover

Clifford D Simak: Golden Age Space Opera Tales

Clifford D. Simak, S. H. Marpel

Publisher: Midwest Journal Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Clifford Donald Simak (August 3, 1904 – April 25, 1988) was an American science fiction writer. He won three Hugo Awards and one Nebula Award. The Science Fiction Writers of America made him its third SFWA Grand Master, and the Horror Writers Association made him one of three inaugural winners of the Bram Stoker Award for Lifetime Achievement.
Simak continued to produce award-nominated novels throughout the 1950s and 1960s. Aided by a friend, he continued writing and publishing science fiction and, later, fantasy, into his 80s. He believed that science fiction not rooted in scientific fact was responsible for the failure of the genre to be taken seriously, and stated his aim was to make the genre a part of what he called "realistic fiction."
Space Opera is a subgenre of science fiction that emphasizes space warfare, melodramatic adventure, interplanetary battles, chivalric romance, and risk-taking. Set mainly or entirely in outer space, it usually involves conflict between opponents possessing advanced abilities, futuristic weapons, and other sophisticated technology.
The term has no relation to music, as in a traditional opera, but is instead a play on the terms "soap opera", a melodramatic television series, and "horse opera", which was coined during the 1930s to indicate a formulaic Western movie. Space operas emerged in the 1930s and continue to be produced in literature, film, comics, television, and video games.
The Golden Age of Pulp Magazine Fiction derives from pulp magazines (often referred to as "the pulps") as they were inexpensive fiction magazines that were published from 1896 to the late 1950s. The term pulp derives from the cheap wood pulp paper on which the magazines were printed. In contrast, magazines printed on higher-quality paper were called "glossies" or "slicks". (Wikipedia)
The pulps gave rise to the term pulp fiction. Pulps were the successors to the penny dreadfuls, dime novels, and short-fiction magazines of the 19th century. Although many writers wrote for pulps, the magazines were proving grounds for those authors like Robert Heinlein, Louis LaMour, "Max Brand", Ray Bradbury, Philip K. Dick, and many others. The best writers moved onto longer fiction required by paperback publishers. Many of these authors have never been out of print, even long after their passing.  
Anthology containing:
Message From Mars
The World That Couldn't Be
Hellhounds of the Cosmos
The Street That Wasn't There (with Carl Jacobi)
Project Mastodon
The Shipshape Miracle
Second Childhood
Empire
Scroll Up and Get Your Copy Now.

Other books that might interest you

  • Piranesi - cover

    Piranesi

    Susanna Clarke

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    New York Times Bestseller 
    Winner of the Women's Prize for Fiction 
    World Fantasy Awards Finalist 
     
    From the New York Times bestselling author of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, an intoxicating, hypnotic new novel set in a dreamlike alternative reality. 
      
     Piranesi's house is no ordinary building: its rooms are infinite, its corridors endless, its walls are lined with thousands upon thousands of statues, each one different from all the others. Within the labyrinth of halls an ocean is imprisoned; waves thunder up staircases, rooms are flooded in an instant. But Piranesi is not afraid; he understands the tides as he understands the pattern of the labyrinth itself. He lives to explore the house. 
     
    There is one other person in the house-a man called The Other, who visits Piranesi twice a week and asks for help with research into A Great and Secret Knowledge. But as Piranesi explores, evidence emerges of another person, and a terrible truth begins to unravel, revealing a world beyond the one Piranesi has always known. 
     
     For readers of Neil Gaiman's The Ocean at the End of the Lane and fans of Madeline Miller's Circe, Piranesi introduces an astonishing new world, an infinite labyrinth, full of startling images and surreal beauty, haunted by the tides and the clouds.
    Show book
  • Barrow Witch - cover

    Barrow Witch

    Craig Comer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “Comer concludes his trilogy with flourishing aplomb . . . we reach the ultimate high of fey steampunk fantasy that the series has always delivered.” —Ahimsa Kerp, author of Beneath the MantleWith a treaty to bring peace to the Scottish fey hanging in the balance, Effie of Glen Coe must claim her place as the heart of the Seily Court if she is to defeat the dark madness of the Barrow Witch. The treaty that will bring peace to the fey of Scotland is within Effie of Glen Coe’s grasp. Yet the lords of London will not consent to such an accord until the madness spreading across the empire is halted and its source destroyed. As Effie and her allies hunt for the ancient being known as the Barrow Witch, they uncover her sinister plot. The Barrow Witch has found an alchemic means to transform fey into devilish creatures bent on her will. Using these marauding bands, she seeks to enslave not only the empire, but all of fey kind. Effie’s fight takes her from haunted cities to ruined castles, but it is not until Caledon, Steward of the Seily Court, is captured that she must finally confront her own self-doubts and the legacy of her family’s treacherous past. For only by accepting she has become the very heart of the Scottish fey can she learn to unravel the schemes of their enemy and rally the empires of man and fey toward an ultimate confrontation with the Barrow Witch.“Brings human and magical beings together brilliantly! . . . This intricate tale is woven with much lore, mysticism, clever banter, and incredible characters that readers will instantly love!” —InD’tale
    Show book
  • The House of Untold Stories - 50 Unexpected Tales - cover

    The House of Untold Stories - 50...

    Peter Chiykowski

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    An orphanage for wayward stories. A labyrinth of secrets. A home on the border of reality…Open each door to find a world of magic and menace waiting for you, if you dare. In The House of Untold Stories, every page is a door, and every door leads to a new tale of heartbreak, triumph, horror, or imagination. Wander into an enchanted mansion of pocket universes and miniature tales, where each door leads to a micro-fiction story. With tales about anger thieves, a deadly pizza delivery service, haunted music boxes, and more, each room will take you on an unexpected journey.
    Show book
  • Seirei Gensouki: Spirit Chronicles Volume 16 - cover

    Seirei Gensouki: Spirit...

    Yuri Kitayama

    • 2
    • 79
    • 0
    After successfully escaping an ambush in the Rubia Kingdom, Rio escorts Beltrum's royal sisters to the Galarc Castle, where he is given a place of residence for his repeated achievements. However, an investigation over a series of unsettling, cross-kingdom incidents continues to complicate matters.
     
    But in a stunning turn of events, with Princess Charlotte's affections now directed at Rio, will our fateful knight be able to weather the storm of love that is brewing?
    Show book
  • Lil Checmate Betrayal Round One - Round I - cover

    Lil Checmate Betrayal Round One...

    Jamaul Manifest Carter

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Kuma was an only child that grew up in West Africa with his mother and father. A terrible incident happened and changed his life forever.
     
    Kuma was sent to Los Angeles, California to live with grandmother. California was known for Hollywood superstars, sunshine, and palm trees. But Los Angeles was known for gang bangin’. Of course, his grandmother didn't want that for him. Life in Cali was different for Kuma.Kids his age made fun of the way he talked, the way he looked, and eventhe way he dressed because he was from West Africa.
     
    Dee and his older brother Checmate treated Kuma like family and Kuma wanted everything they had. From money and cars to jewelry and women. Checkmate took a liking to how Kuma conducted himself and took him under his wings and soon after his arrival in America, Kuma joined the most notorious gang in Los Angeles. He accomplished what he wanted to and had everything he set out to have. But he wanted more, he wanted to keep it, and NOTHING was going to get in his way. That was until he found himself incarcerated and the betrayal begins.
    Show book