Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Mysterious Card and The Card Unveiled - cover

The Mysterious Card and The Card Unveiled

Cleveland Moffett

Publisher: Enrico Conti

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

"The Mysterious Card" is a mysterious story written and published by Cleveland Moffett in 1895. His sequel was titled "The Card Unveiled".Both stories are present in this e-book.This work had the novelty of not revealing the answer to the puzzle posed, thereby gaining widespread attention. In addition to serialized short stories, he also wrote several plays, including "Money Talks" (1905) and "The Battle" (1908). The latter was a dramatization of his 1907 novel, "A king in rags".
Available since: 02/01/2019.

Other books that might interest you

  • The New House - cover

    The New House

    Tess Stimson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    ‘WOW WOW WOW… A heart-pulsing, non-stop, mind-blowing thriller’ NetGalley review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 
    Three couples. Three houses. One home to die for… 
    Stacey and Felix are the glamorous owners of the stylish, modern Glass House, with its pool and floor-to-ceiling windows. Now they’re downsizing, but Stacey can’t sell to just anyone. She needs the right buyer, who will keep her secrets. 
    Millie and Tom have always imagined living in the Glass House. Now it’s for sale. With property prices booming, if they can sell quickly, it could be theirs. But are the house and its charming owners all they seem? 
    Harper and Kyle are moving up in the world. They need a new house, in the right school district, to give their children the start in life they never had. Millie and Tom’s is perfect. It’ll take every penny they have, and more, but it’ll be worth it. Won’t it? 
    When one of the sales falls through, how far will someone go to get everything they’ve always wanted? 
    A totally addictive and absolutely gripping psychological thriller with a killer twist you won’t see coming. Fans of The Family Upstairs, Our House and The Couple Next Door will be hooked from the very first page.Readers are gripped by The New House: 
    ‘OMG!!… I stayed up late to finish it and was then so traumatised I couldn’t sleep! What a book… Just when you think you know what’s going on another revelation appears. Even the last chapters. I was left gasping. I may never be able to sleep again. What a book. It’s a must read’ NetGalley review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 
    ‘Ahhhhh this is a must read!!!… I read this fast-paced book in one sitting. I couldn’t stop… A great read!’ NetGalley review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 
    ‘Awesomely crazy twisty… If you like twisty murder mysteries, enjoy strong female leads and of course dream of a house to die for, then The New House is for you!’ NetGalley review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 
    ‘It hooked me from the first page and kept me hooked the entire time!’ NetGalley review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 
    ‘This was intense! I didn't sleep. This is not your everyday thriller… Takes a psychological thriller and flips the script. I am still floored by the ending, the whole book really. Wow’ NetGalley review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 
    HarperCollins 2022
    Show book
  • What Song the Sirens Sang [Dramatized Adaptation] - Gideon Sable 3 - cover

    What Song the Sirens Sang...

    Simon R. Green

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    "The tables are turned on legendary master thief Gideon Sable when a priceless magical artifact is stolen from him, in this fast-paced supernatural heist thriller.You can find everything you've ever dreamed of in the strange, old magical shop known as Old Harry's Place. The problem is, not all dreams are kind.Gideon Sable – legendary master thief, conman and well-dressed rogue – and his partner in crime, Annie Anybody, don’t want to be shopkeepers. But when the enigmatic Harry decides to retire, he blackmails the pair into taking the store on.Before the grand reopening can happen, however, a menacing stranger arrives - with a rare and deadly item for them to appraise. A small piece of rock, with an unnerving aura, which 'Smith' claims contains the last echoes of the legendary sirens' song. Before they can find out more, however, Smith vanishes... leaving only the stone.Some valuables are more trouble than they're worth. But before Gideon and Annie can work out if they've been set up, the stone is stolen from its impregnable hiding place. How? And why? Gideon only knows one thing for certain: no one steals from him and gets away with it...Performed by Christopher Walker, Jenna Sharpe, Scott McCormick, Khaya Fraites, Shanta Parasuraman, Kay Eluvian, Andrew Spooner, Bradley Foster Smith, Colleen Delany, Ian Russell, Keval Shah, Michael John Casey, Nora Achrati, RJ Bayley, Susan Lynskey, Yasmin Tuazon, and Zeke Alton."
    Show book
  • The Ransom - cover

    The Ransom

    Chris Taylor

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    USA Today bestselling author Chris Taylor’s gripping new suspense thriller doesn’t disappoint… 
    A child is missing and time is running out... 
     Detective Senior Sergeant Lane Black of the Chatswood State Crime Command is leading the kidnapping case. But Lane is stumped. The Attorney General’s youngest daughter was present at the time of the disappearance. With the girls resembling each other, Lane is convinced it’s a crime of mistaken identity. Someone wants control of the Attorney General, and is doing so by terrorizing an innocent child. Lane is determined to uncover the facts and apprehend the person responsible. 
     When he interviews the Attorney General, Lane’s suspicions are ignited. The man is fidgety and nervous. Even his daughter, Zara, seems to be hiding something. Despite being drawn to the woman’s exotic beauty, Lane is determined to ignore the attraction and focus on discovering the truth. As Zara and Lane grow closer, he senses something is awry. 
     Can he find the missing girl in time, or will he pay more than just a ransom for uncovering the identity of the kidnapper? 
    If you love Sandra Brown, Tami Hoag, Karen Rose, Liliana Hart and J.D. Robb, you’ll love this series by USA Today bestselling author Chris Taylor. Start reading it now and get hooked on another thrilling series.
    Show book
  • Trust Fall - A Professor Molly Short - cover

    Trust Fall - A Professor Molly...

    Frankie Bow

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    It's another faculty retreat at Mahina State University, "Where Your Future Begins Tomorrow." Professor Molly struggles to stay awake. Her best friend Dr. Emma Nakamura does her best not to throttle anyone (a particular challenge in the case of newbie know-it-all Kyle Stockhausen). 
    But then the Trust Fall exercise goes horribly wrong. And things get a lot more interesting. Is it murder? Or just the worst meeting of the semester?
    Show book
  • The Cuban - Hostage in Havana Murder in Miami and Payback in Panama - cover

    The Cuban - Hostage in Havana...

    Noel Hynd

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A thrilling compilation of three complete novels from bestselling author Noel Hynd's Cuban Trilogy.Hostage in HavanaWhen Alexandra LaDuca illegally enters Cuba on the trail of an unsolved mystery, she gets more than she imagined. The stakes? Her life . . . plus a decades-old mystery to be solved, a pile of cash, and an unlikely defector. Espionage and unexpected romance smolder together in this exciting thriller set in Cuba’s isolated capital.Murder in MiamaiHostage in Havana. Caught between the Dosi cartel and cocaine profits, and the surreal and the supernatural . . . there’s murder in Miami.Payback in PanamaAlexandra LaDuca is at a crossroads. Her job is beating her up, emotionally and psychologically. And the moral battle between her faith and her responsibilities is taking its toll on her effectiveness. For the first time, she wonders how long she can last.
    Show book
  • Night Train to Lisbon - cover

    Night Train to Lisbon

    Pascal Mercier

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The bestselling novel of love and sacrifice under fascist rule, and “a treat for the mind. One of the best books I have read in a long time” (Isabel Allende).   Raimund Gregorius, a professor of dead languages at a Swiss secondary school, lives a life governed by routine. Then, an enigmatic Portuguese woman stirs his interest in an obscure, and mind-expanding book of philosophy that opens the possibility of changing Raimund’s existence. That same night, he takes the train to Lisbon to research the book’s phantom author, Amadeu de Prado, a renowned physician whose principles led him to confront Salazar’s dictatorship. Raimund, now obsessed with unlocking the mystery behind the man, is determined to meet all those on whom Prado left an indelible mark. Among them: his eighty-year-old sister, who maintains her brother’s house as if it were a museum; an elderly cleric and torture survivor confined to a nursing home; and Prado’s childhood friend and eventual partner in the Resistance. The closer Raimund comes to the truth of Prado’s life, and eventual fate, an extraordinary tale takes shape amid the labyrinthine memories of Prado’s intimate circle of family and friends, working in utmost secrecy to fight dictatorship, and the betrayals that threaten to expose them.   “A meditative, deliberate exploration of loneliness, language and the human condition” (The San Diego Union-Tribune), Night Train to Lisbon “call[s] to mind the magical realism of Jorge Amado or Gabriel Garcia Marquez . . . allusive and thought-provoking, intellectually curious and yet heartbreakingly jaded,” and inexorably propelled by the haunting mystery at its heart (The Providence Journal).  Night Train to Lisbon was adapted into Bille August’s award-winning 2013 film starring Jeremy Irons, Lena Olin, Christopher Lee, and Charlotte Rampling.
    Show book