Instant satisfaction for your thirst for knowledge!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Fractured: International Hostage Thriller - cover

Fractured: International Hostage Thriller

Clár Ní Chonghaile

Publisher: Legend Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Shortlisted for the Amazon Rising Star Award 
Longlisted for the Guardian Not the Booker prize 2016 
'Clar provides access to the beating hearts on all sides of terror that even our best journalists can't reach…' -- Christopher Bollen, author 
'Compelling and relentless…page-turner of a novel' -- Damien Lewis 
'A turbulent journey to the world's most forgotten corners' -- Celeste Hicks, author and former BBC journalist 
'A stunning debut' -- Nick Brownlee, author and journalist 
'This is a layered, textured, wholehearted novel that will stay with me for a long time' -- Lean Cullinan, author 
Journalist Peter Maguire has been kidnapped in Somalia's capital, Mogadishu. He does not know where he is or what is going to happen to him. The journalist is filled with fear and, as the days go by, this dread of the unknown is shot through with remorse for the mistakes of his past. 
Peter's mother Nina comes to Somalia to wait for her son's release. His plight forces her to relive another trauma the fatal shooting in Liberia of Shaun Ridge, a young photographer she once loved, and Peter's real father. 
Abdi, a Somali teenager working with Peter's captors strikes a tenuous friendship with the prisoner based on a shared feeling of captivity. He decides to help Peter escape. Together and they set off into the barren vastness of a land filled with danger. 
These three people must journey into one of the world's most dangerous places, the human mind, to answer the question: are we ever truly free? 
Perfect for fans of Homeland, Wilbur Smith and Lee Child

Other books that might interest you

  • Dare to Remember: ‘Intriguing and gripping’ a psychological thriller that will bring you to the edge of your seat… - cover

    Dare to Remember: ‘Intriguing...

    Susanna Beard

    • 0
    • 8
    • 0
    'I found myself frantically turning the pages, desperate to uncover what happened' --Tracy Buchanan 
    Reeling from a brutal attack that leaves her best friend dead and her badly injured, Lisa Fulbrook flees to the countryside to recuperate. With only vague memories of the event, she isolates herself from her friends and family, content to spend her days wandering the hills with her dog, Riley. 
    However, Lisa is soon plagued, not only by vivid flashbacks, but questions, too: how did their assailant know them? Why were they attacked? And what really happened that night? 
    As she desperately tries to piece together the memories, Lisa realises that there's another truth still hidden to her, a truth she can't escape from. A truth that may have been right in front of her all along. 
    A clever, sophisticated, psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, S.J. Watson, B A Paris and Sophie Hannah 
    What Reviewers and Readers Say: 
    'Dare to Remember is an intriguing and gripping debut novel. A perceptive exploration of the trauma of losing your best friend' --Rachel Abbott 
    'A tense journey into one woman’s struggle with the aftermath of a vicious attack that killed her best friend. I found myself frantically turning the pages, desperate to uncover what happened on the night of the attack. Susanna Beard is a thought-provoking, skilled debut writer who will no doubt win a new army of thriller fans with this clever novel.' -- Tracy Buchanan 
    'Beautifully taut and controlled writing - gripping all the way through' --Shelley Weiner 
    'Written with care and a deep level of understanding, while simultaneously building up the suspense until you are racing to find out what happened… a great read.' --Sue Fortin, bestselling author of 'The Girl Who Lied' 
    'A taut, compelling read. Full of atmosphere and humanity. Susanna brilliantly portrays through the central character the times in our lives that leave us guilty and emotionless and unable to move forward with purpose. A stunning and confident first novel.' --Sharon Bloom 
    'This is a great exploration into the psychological impact of a traumatic event. I warmed to Lisa immediately and felt every bit of her frustration as she struggled to remember the details of the night she and her best friend were attacked by someone they knew and trusted. It kept me reading into the night as I raced to find out how this twisty, shocking story would end.' --Sam Carrington 
    'A deep and dark look at how we can overcome trauma.' --Keeper of Pages 
    'The narrative is both uplifting and disquieting as Lisa pushes against her past attack, and dares not just to remember, but to hope as well. An impressive debut for Susanna Beard.' --Joy Kluver 
    'Sometimes you pick up a book and after reading only a few pages, you know that this book is going to be a worthy read. This is what happened to me when I picked up Dare to Remember.' --Day Dreamers Thoughts 
    'Susanna Beard unspools the story at just the right pace to keep interest and intrigue.' --Barbara Copperthwaite
    Show book
  • Dead in the Water - A Novel - cover

    Dead in the Water - A Novel

    Stuart Woods

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Stone Barrington only wants a winter getaway from the chill of New York in the beautiful, tropical Caribbean paradise of St. Mark's. But what the lawyer and ex-cop gets instead is the chance to defend Allison Manning. The beautiful young woman stands accused of killing her rich husband on board their luxurious yacht and then burying him at sea. 
    Stone isn't exactly conversant with the island country's law, but this much is clear to him: Allison is being railroaded by the perverse sense of justice of a prosecutor who will do anything to stay in office. Donning the robe and wig of a British barrister, Stone does everything he can to save Allison—from publicizing the case all over the American press to conducting the kind of smart, tough investigation that money can't buy. Just when he has the jury in the palm of his hands, a shocking reversal of fortune changes everything. And what was once a sure thing begins to look a lot like a death sentence.
    Show book
  • Sail Away - cover

    Sail Away

    Celia Imrie

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    The deliciously effervescent new novel from Celia Imrie, beloved character actress and author of Not Quite Nice, follows the exploits of two women on a cruise ship. 
      
    The phone hasn't rung for months. Suzy Marshall is discovering that work can be sluggish for an actress over sixty--even for the star of a wildly popular 1980s TV series. So when her agent offers her the plum role of Lady Bracknell in The Importance of Being Earnest in Zurich, it seems like a godsend. Until, that is, the play is abruptly cancelled under suspicious circumstances and Suzy is forced to take a job on a cruise ship to get home. 
     
    Meanwhile Amanda Herbert finds herself homeless in rainy Clapham. The purchase of her new apartment has fallen through, and her children are absorbed in their own dramas. Then she spots an advertisement for an Atlantic cruise and realizes that a few weeks onboard would tide her over and save her money until her housing situation is resolved. 
     
    As the two women set sail on a new adventure, neither can possibly predict the questionable characters and strange dealings they will encounter, nor the unexpected rewards they will reap. Vividly evoking the old-world glamour of a cruise ship--and the complex politics of its staff quarters--Sail Away is at once a hilarious romp and a thrilling adventure.
    Show book
  • Thirteen Hours - cover

    Thirteen Hours

    Deon Meyer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    South African detective Benny Griessel has one day to solve two murders in the award winning, #1 bestselling thriller—“This book is great!” (Michael Connelly).  Winner of the Barry Award for Best Thriller   As morning dawns in Cape Town, Det. Capt. Benny Griessel finds himself facing a difficult day. A South African music executive has been shot dead. An American teenager’s body has been found on the street, her throat cut. And her friend Rachel Anderson is somewhere in the city, terrified and alone, but hopefully still alive. For both cases, time is short and media attention is high. And while the homicide detective has been sober for 156 days, day 157 is going to be a tough one . . .   A #1 bestseller in South Africa, winner of the 2011 Boeke Prize Fanatics Choice Award, and a finalist for the CWA International Dagger, Thirteen Hours is an atmospheric, intensely gripping novel from “a serious writer who richly deserves the international reputation he has built” (The Washington Post).   “Deon Meyer is one of the unsung masters. Thirteen Hours proves he should be on everyone’s reading list.” —Michael Connelly, New York Times–bestselling author of the Harry Bosch novels   “A deft storyteller.” —Publishers Weekly
    Show book
  • Blue Water - cover

    Blue Water

    Joseph Parcell

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Emily Hunter is a woman suffering. She is finally making strides at living independently after being mandated to residential psychiatric care for most of her adult life. Now, holding down a night shift job, taking her medication regularly, and meeting with her therapist twice a week, she's finally on solid ground — or so she thinks. Amongst Emily’s frequent delusions is a hallucination of a little girl in purple pajamas that she has come to call “Carrot.” In the past, Emily believed that Carrot was real, and that the little girl desperately needed help. Her visions of this child have always been strong and surreal. Now they're becoming too powerful to ignore. Carrot is guiding Emily.  Determined to find the answers, Emily starts down a deadly and terrifying path, following Carrot into madness.
    Show book
  • Dead End - cover

    Dead End

    Sally Spencer

    • 0
    • 9
    • 0
    He was going to have to terminate Monika, he decided. It was a pity, but there it was.
    
    The body has lain buried for years, and has no face and no fingertips. Monika Paniatowski’s team have no real leads, but when they discuss the case at her hospital bedside – where she lies paralysed – Monika begins to see possible links with a case she closed four years earlier.
    
    Are the two cases connected? Did the first murder make the second almost inevitable? She doesn’t know, but she does know that she is being watched by an old enemy who will kill her if he decides there is ever any chance of her sharing her thoughts and information with her team.
    Show book